google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html KCBR Blog - New book Alert
Showing posts with label New book Alert. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New book Alert. Show all posts
Friday, August 26, 2022

Make You Mine by Laura Pavlov is LIVE!

Make You Mine by Laura Pavlov is LIVE!  You can read this book for free in Kindle UnlimitedCheck out my spoiler-free review of this heartfelt contemporary romance below.

Make You Mine by Laura Pavlov Kindle Crack

Synopsis:

A sexy firefighter. A much younger Nanny. The heat between them could burn down a small country. He doesn't believe in forever. And she won't settle for anything less.

Jace King is a smoking hot firefighter, a single dad and my new boss.


He's also the most beautiful man I've ever laid eyes on.


It's totally fine to secretly crush on the guy you Nanny for, right? 


Did I mention that he's also a decade older than me, works with my dad


and he's a close family friend?


If you looked up OFF LIMITS in the dictionary, you'd find an eight by ten photo of my sexy boss.


But something happens every time we're in a room together.


The attraction is almost overpowering.


Jace is insistent that we can't act on it.


And I've always been a rule follower...


but maybe sometimes rules are meant to be broken. 



Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited


Amazon: https://amzn.to/3ARdF4Y


Try Kindle Unlimited FREE for one month: https://amzn.to/3Kq59gt


Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3I1jpLy



Make You Mine (Honey Mountain, #3)Make You Mine by Laura Pavlov
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Make You Mine (Honey Moutain #3) by Laura Pavlov is small-town romance lovers gold! I can't tell you which book is my favorite out of the three since I love them all so much. If you are craving a light and sweet read, look no further. I adore this series and never want it to end.

Make You Mine is an interconnected standalone in the Honey Mountain series. MYM can be read as a standalone without reading the first two books in the Honey Mountain series. I would recommend reading them all since they're all equally unputdownable. One-click this book for FREE using Kindle Unlimited.

Meet Laura:
Laura Pavlov author photo Kindle


Laura Pavlov writes sweet and sexy contemporary romance that will make you both laugh and cry. She is happily married to her college sweetheart, mom to two awesome almost-grown kids, and dog-whisperer to one temperamental yorkie and one wild bernedoodle. Laura resides in Las Vegas where she is living her own happily ever after. Be sure to sign up for updates on new releases. Laura loves to hear from readers!

 

Connect with Laura


Website: https://www.laurapavlov.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6569734.Laura_Pavlov

Amazon: http://amzn.to/3c1xKZX

Facebook: http://bit.ly/3eSvEdp

Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/2OKU6T5

Instagram: https://bit.ly/2TKf5Zs

Twitter: https://twitter.com/laurapavlov2

Bookbub: http://bit.ly/3ii8Vdp

Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Cover Reveal: Devil of Dublin by BB Easton

Check out the cover and synopsis for Devil of Dublin by BB Easton! This book will release on September 27th! From the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of 44 Chapters About 4 Men (inspiration for the Netflix Original series Sex/Life) comes a dark mafia romance steeped in Irish folklore. 

Devil of Dublin by BB Easton cover Kindle Crack
Releasing: September 27, 2022

Cover designer: Damonza

Photographer: Regina Wamba


Cover Model: Jered Sternaman



Synopsis:
I can't remember anymore if my grandfather's eyes were blue or green, but I'll never forget the way they wrinkled at the corners when he laughed at one of his own jokes. Or the way they sparkled with mischief when he told me tales about the magical creatures that dwelled in the forest behind his humble Irish sheep farm—shy fairies who liked to eat tea biscuits, cruel witches who liked to eat children, a moody lake spirit with a taste for expensive gifts. 

As a child, I believed every fantastical word. But when he warned me about the mute boy who also lurked in those woods, the one the priest had declared to be the spawn of Satan himself, I refused to listen. Kellen wasn't evil. He was kind, and beautiful, and special, and hurting. He was my friend. And with every summer I spent stolen away with him in those enchanted woods, he grew to become so much more.

But when I return to Glenshire as an adult, grieving and engaged to someone else, all those legends quickly morph into nightmares.

My grandfather had been right about everything, especially the boy.

If only I had listened.

WARNING: If you are a sensitive reader or find certain subject matter triggering, please exercise self-care and select a different book. Devil of Dublin is a dark romance, intended for mature audiences who enjoy high emotional intensity, explicit adult content, graphic violence, heart-pounding suspense, fairy-tale worthy love, and gorgeous Irish scenery. If that sounds like you, then ... welcome to Glenshire! 


Pre-order today on all platforms! 

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3SGc60F

Nook: https://fave.co/3QwwAar

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3Qj1wvg

Kobo: https://fave.co/3dhU7xu


Meet BB Easton

BB Easton photo Kindle Crack


Wall Street Journal bestselling author BB Easton lives in the suburbs of Atlanta with her long-suffering husband, Ken, and two adorable children. A few years ago, she quit her job as a school psychologist to write books about her punk rock past and deviant sexual history full-time. Ken wasn’t super excited about that, but now that he’s appeared in three of her books and inspired a TV show character, he’s incredibly supportive.


BB’s debut memoir, 44 Chapters About 4 Men, went on to inspire the Netflix original series, Sex/Life, which was viewed by 67 million households worldwide within the first month making it the 3rd most-watched Netflix original series of all time. Because she had so much fun writing 44 Chapters, BB went on to publish four more wickedly funny, shockingly steamy, and heartwarmingly autobiographical books, one for each man in her memoir—Skin, Speed, Star, and Suit.

The Rain Trilogy—a dark, immersive, end-of-the-world romance—was BB’s first work of fiction. Or at least, that’s what she thought when she wrote it in 2019. Then, 2020 hit, and all of her dystopian plot points started coming true. Hoping to fix everything, BB returned with a fun, feel-good romantic comedy called Group Therapy, but alas, the world is still on fire … and so is BB’s desire to write intense, us-against-the-world romances. Her next release, Devil of Dublin, is a dark Irish mafia romance steeped in folklore and family secrets.  


You can find BB procrastinating in all of the following places:

Website: www.authorbbeaston.com

Instagram: www.instagram.com/author.bb.easton

TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEKRLyS/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/bbeaston

#TeamBB Facebook Group: www.facebook.com/groups/BBEaston

Twitter: www.twitter.com/bb_easton

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/artbyeaston

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/user/bbeaston

Goodreads: https://goo.gl/4hiwiR

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/bb-easton

Monday, January 18, 2021

New Book Review: The Invitation by Vi Keeland is LIVE!

The Invitation by Vi Keeland is LIVE and already the #4 bestselling Kindle book on Amazon!   Check out my spoiler-free review below. The Invitation is a perfect example of why I love reading romance books and getting caught up in all of the heartfelt feels and sexy fun.

The Invitation by Vi Keeland Book Cover

Title: The Invitation

Author: Vi Keeland

Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance

Release Date: January 18, 2021

Cover Model: Nick Bateman



𝐎𝐑𝐃𝐄𝐑 𝐋𝐈𝐍𝐊𝐒

Kindle  https://amzn.to/2XUup77

Apple Books  https://apple.co/390y226

Paperback  https://amzn.to/38u71U7

Audio  https://amzn.to/3p9vPq2 Narrated by Sebastian York and Andi Arndt!

Kobo  https://fave.co/3smt47o

B&N  https://fave.co/3s1hfmT

Google Play  https://fave.co/2MzcikO

Add to Goodreads  https://fave.co/3pKYoLx


Spoiler-free Review: 

The InvitationThe Invitation by Vi Keeland
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


The Invitation book teaser edit Kindle Crack 

Every time I start a new book by Vi Keeland, it feels like I’m unwrapping a holiday gift from my favorite person. Reading this book was one of those occasions.  I would have finished The Invitation in one sitting if I didn’t have a bout of vertigo kick-in while I was reading it. My husband asked me how I was still reading while feeling dizzy. I went on to explain that my head was spinning from not being able to finish this book. Vertigo be dammed! The Invitation was unputdownable and total Kindle Crack. 

I want to scream from the rooftops about this book. The Invitation is a perfect example of why I love reading romance books and getting caught up in all of the heartfelt feels and sexy fun.  I couldn’t get enough of Hudson and Stella. Their combustible chemistry and fun banter made this book a page-turner. Hudson is swoon-worthy. I rarely say any character is since I’m not a swooner. But Hudson is definitely worthy!  If The Invitation wasn't releasing on January 18, 2021, this book would be on my Best of 2020 Romance Book List. Well, at least I got a head start on my 2021 list.  Bravo Vi, you knocked it out of the park! 

AUTHOR BIO


Vi Keeland Image

Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author. With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over a hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty-five languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.



AUTHOR LINKS


Facebook Profile: https://www.facebook.com/vi.keeland 

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Vi-Keeland/435952616513958 

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ViKeelandFanGroup 

Website: http://www.vikeeland.com 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ViKeeland 

Instagram: http://instagram.com/Vi_Keeland 

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6887119.Vi_Keeland 



Sunday, December 6, 2020

Book Review: Not What I Expected by Jewel E. Ann

Not What I Expected by Jewel E. Ann is now live!  Check out my spoiler-free review below and download and read for free using Amazon's Kindle Unlimited! I adored this new contemporary romance.  It should be at the top of your romance reading list!


Try Kindle Unlimited for FREE!  https://amzn.to/3idx3hh


Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited

Amazon:  https://amzn.to/3qxEcxg

Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/33QPfb1

Amazon Worldwide: mybook.to/NWIE     

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2Izf9IG

Not What I Expected by Jewel E. Ann Cover
Synopsis: 

Are humans meant to mate for life? 


After four kids and an unfortunate but fateful end to her twenty-two-year marriage, Elsie Smith meets the new guy in town.


Kael Hendricks is ... a little younger, a lot sexy, and too confident for his own good. He also doesn't believe in marriage and all that goes with it. 


And ... 


He's just opened a new business that threatens the livelihood of Elsie's family's store--just in time for the holidays. 


The problem? 


There's an undeniable attraction that leads to out of control situations, a loss of inhibitions, and a lot of small town gossip. 


As Elsie tries to redefine herself and convince her family she isn't having a midlife crisis, she's forced to answer the biggest question of all ... 


Can she love an enemy who will never surrender? 


Review of Not What I Expected

Not What I ExpectedNot What I Expected by Jewel E. Ann
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Not What I Expected Kindle Crack Book Reviews

Not What I Expected by Jewel E. Ann lived up to its title! This book is not what I expected.  It was so much more!

Not What I Expected is filled with so many sweet, sexy, and laugh out loud, awkward, yet relatable moments. If you've ever been in a relationship, married, widowed, or divorced, you will relate to this book. So pretty much every woman will find a little bit of herself in Elsie and her friends' relationships. Not What I Expected is about finding and giving yourself a second chance, embracing life and self-discovery. I felt like Elsie had a second chance romance with herself and she found romance within herself. She also managed to fill the empty space in her stubborn heart with Kael, the almost way too perfect new man in town.

As always, I actually did get what I expected from reading one of Jewel's books:  a heartfelt reading adventure with perfectly imperfect characters. I'm pretty sure I will never get the vision of a beakless turkey out of my head. You'll understand once you read this book.


Meet  Jewel E. Ann


Jewel is a Wall Street Journal & USA Today best selling author a with a quirky sense of humor. When she's not saving the planet one tree at a time, you can find her role modeling questionable behavior to her three boys, binge-watching Netflix with her husband, and writing mind-bending romance. 

 

Connect with Jewel

Jewel E. Ann author photo


Website: https://www.jeweleann.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7505427.Jewel_E_Ann

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Jewel-E-Ann/e/B00IJYHDIG/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjeweleann

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/485996228236493

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorjeweleann/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JewelE_Ann

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jewel-e-ann

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/jeweleannauthor/

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Review: Out of Love by Jewel E. Ann is LIVE

Check out my spoiler-free review of Out of Love by Jewel E. Ann.  This standalone contemporary romance is on my Best of 2020 Romance Book List.

Out of Love by Jewel E. Ann Cover Image
Synopsis:

I could love the monster or leave the man. 


Out of Love by Jewel E. Ann is now live! 


Conspiracies. Corruption. Serial killers.

You name it--I'm fascinated by it. My mom always blamed my overly curious and highly suspicious mind on my dad.

My incredibly overbearing dad.

Mr. No One Is Good Enough For My Daughter has been terrifying my dates since I turned fifteen.

College is my chance to be free from his control and date any guy I want.

I'm absolutely certain he would hate Slade Wylder--almost as certain as I am that I do too.

Since when have I shied away from trouble?

Slade fascinates me. He lives in a house I'm certain is haunted. His dog is trained as well as any guard I've ever seen. Rumor on campus is that he deals drugs. It would explain a lot.

But it doesn't explain why he saves me from my darkest moment.

It doesn't explain why I can't stop thinking about him.

And the explanation I finally discover is far more dangerous than any rumor.

Download today or read for FREE with Amazon Kindle Unlimited


Kindle:  https://amzn.to/340MRxP

Paperback: https://amzn.to/2EvNmXM

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2E0ltHb

  

Try Kindle Unlimited:  https://amzn.to/3idx3hh

Spoiler-free Review of Out fo Love

Out of Love by Jewel E. Ann
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Out of Love by Jewel E. Ann Teaser

I’m in love with Out of Love, by Jewel E. Ann. I couldn’t put this book down. Out of Love is a complete standalone. If you read her Jack and Jill series, you are in for a huge treat. This romantic suspense is a page-turner and full of the feels. Reading Out of Love was like tiptoeing through a minefield with well-placed plot twists and emotions ready to explode on every page. Go in blind and experience this one! 

Meet  Jewel E. Ann

Jewel is a Wall Street Journal & USA Today best selling author a with a quirky sense of humor. When she's not saving the planet one tree at a time, you can find her role modeling questionable behavior to her three boys, binge-watching Netflix with her husband, and writing mind-bending romance. 

 

Connect with Jewel

Website: https://www.jeweleann.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7505427.Jewel_E_Ann

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Jewel-E-Ann/e/B00IJYHDIG/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjeweleann

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/485996228236493

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorjeweleann/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JewelE_Ann

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jewel-e-ann

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/jeweleannauthor/


Wednesday, December 12, 2018

NEW BOOK NEWS: Right Where I Want You by Jessica Hawkins

Right Where I Want You by Jessica Hawkins is releasing December 28!  PLEASE NOTE - This was previously titled The Bad Boy Issue and now has a new title, cover, and blurb!  
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

Pre-order info:
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2EpCdGp
Amazon Alert: http://bit.ly/2Eflip4
Audiobook Alert: http://bit.ly/2QLjoTS

Add to your Goodreads TBR  http://bit.ly/2zUIx4N
Bloggers, sign up to review  http://bit.ly/2QMd6Dj

There’s a thin line between love and hate . . . and it cuts right through the middle of their office.

Bad boys? They run right over good girls like Georgina Keller.

But after a confidence-shattering breakup, she’s determined not to let anyone at her new workplace push her around—least of all the brooding creative director, a “bad boy of publishing” who’s made it clear she’s enemy #1.

Sebastian Quinn's taste for fast cars, late nights, and beautiful women may have gotten him to the top of a leading New York magazine, but the reputation that made him is suddenly threatening to end his career.

Georgina can help Modern Man shed its bad reputation, but in order to do that, she’ll have to start at the top—and no amount of rakish charm or inconvenient attraction will distract her.

Because if Sebastian gets her right where he wants her, it means she’s going down. 


Wednesday, February 21, 2018

COVER REVEAL: Rebel Heir by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


(Book One in the Rush Series duet)
Release date 4/9/2018

A Contemporary Romance Duet

New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Authors 
Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

BLURB

How to kick off a great summer in the Hamptons:

Snag a gorgeous rental on the beach. Check. 

Get a job at a trendy summer haunt. Check. 

How to screw up a great summer in the Hamptons:

Fall for the one guy with a dark leather jacket, scruff on his face, and intense eyes that doesn’t fit in with the rest of the tony looking crowd.  A guy you can’t have when you’ll be leaving at the end of the season.

Check. Check. Check.

I should add—especially when the guy is your sexy, tattooed God of a boss.

Especially when he not only owns your place of employment but inherited half of the town. 

Especially when he’s mean to you.

Or so I thought.

Until one night when he demanded I get in his car so he could drive me home because he didn’t want me walking in the dark. 

That was sort of how it all started with Rush.

And then little by little, some of the walls of this hardass man started to come down. 

I never expected that the two of us, seemingly opposites from the outside, would grow so close. 

I wasn't supposed to fall for the rebel heir, especially when he made it clear he didn’t want to cross the line with me. 

As the temperature turned cooler, the nights became hotter.  My summer became a lot more interesting—and complicated.

All good things must come to an end, right?

Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

Rebel Heir is the first book in the Rush Series Duet.  Book Two, Rebel Heart, will release six weeks later on May, 22, 2018.


COVER CREDITS:
Model:  Micah Truitt
Photographer:  Leonardo Corredor
Cover designer:  Sommer Stein, Perfect Pear Creative



PURCHASE LINKS:

iBooks exclusive pre-order  Rebel Heir (Book One) https://apple.co/2EWR770

iBooks exclusive pre-order   Rebel Heart (Book Two) https://apple.co/2oleXyJ

Amazon paperback   Rebel Heir (Book One) http://amzn.to/2Ca4mjv

Amazon paperback   Rebel Heart (Book Two) http://amzn.to/2EXrRxc

Add to Goodreads  Rebel Heir (Book One) http://smarturl.it/q8fqvv

Add to Goodreads   Rebel Heart (Book Two) http://smarturl.it/vjb2wq
About the Authors:

Vi Keeland
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author.   With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over ninety Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.

Facebook Fan Group:

Facebook

Website

Twitter
@vikeeland 

Instagram
@Vi_Keeland

Goodreads


Penelope Ward
Kindle Crack Book Reviews

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author.

She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son and beautiful daughter with autism. 

With over a million books sold, she is a seventeen-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over fifteen novels, including RoomHate which hit #2 on the New York Times bestseller list and #1 on the Wall Street Journal bestseller list. Other New York Times bestsellers include Stepbrother Dearest, Neighbor Dearest, Drunk Dial, Cocky Bastard, Stuck-Up Suit, Playboy Pilot and Mister Moneybags (the latter four co-written with Vi Keeland).



Facebook

Facebook Fan Group:

Website

Twitter

Instagram
@penelopewardauthor

Goodreads


Thursday, December 28, 2017

EXCERPT REVEAL: The Thing About Love by Kim Karr

An emotional and unforgettable new romance from New York Times bestselling author Kim Karr. The Thing About Love releases on JANUARY 3rd!

Keep reading for an excerpt!

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


ADD to your TBR → http://bit.ly/2hb3Ll8
BLOGGERS sign up here → https://goo.gl/forms/fAUx4UHUaT2ZDmv32



Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

Synopsis:
The whole stethoscope-and-white coat thing isn’t my cup of tea. 
I prefer a man with an artistic vein in his body. 9 - 5 hours. And I can definitely do without the half-lidded, sleepy bedroom eyes. (Okay, so those are kind of sexy.)

Tall, dark, and handsome doesn’t change the fact that he’s arrogant, cocky, and rude.
Not that I care, but he’s made it clear he wants nothing to do with a quirky girl like me, which is why he said no.
Turns out no isn’t an option.
I have a quickie wedding to plan, and Dr. Jake Kissinger doesn’t have a choice. He looks at our situation like he’s stuck with me, but in reality I’m stuck with him. Stuck with his pouty mouth. His long, lean body. And stuck with those loose, low riding scrub pants. (Okay, so the doctor thing is growing on me.)
When spending time together turns into more than it should, I know I’m in trouble.
He isn’t supposed to make my heart pound.
I’m not supposed to make him look twice.
And we aren’t supposed to spend the night together. (Okay, so he has more than one artistic vein in his body, and other places.)

Falling for him is definitely a mistake.
Here’s the thing…
Jake is unavailable, and I know it.
Just not in the way you might think.
I guess you can’t have your cake and eat it too.

By Kim Karr
Copyright 2017
If a barn could be magical, this one was definitely enchanting.
I was in a daze as I looked around. The rafters. The tables. The river. They all seemed to sparkle with a light I wanted to capture.
“Isn’t that right, sweetie?” The voice was deep and husky, but I was in my own world imaging what I could do with a place like this and not paying any attention.
An elbow nudged me, and it wasn’t until then that I realized I was sweetie.
Sweetie?
Seriously, the man with the DR before his name couldn’t find something a little sexier in his vocabulary to call me? Sugarcakes. Honeypie. Cookie, even.
“What’s that Chocolate Cake?” I smiled big and wide when I said it. Obviously, he was giving this little show all he had, so I figured I might as well, too.
Ignoring my taunt, Jake draped an arm around my chair just as Shania Twain’s “Any Man of Mine” came bellowing through the speakers.
When his fingertips brushed my shoulder, I wasn’t listening to the beat of the music though because butterflies took flight in my belly, and lower. I had to remind myself that this was part of the show, but still, I found myself having to squeeze my thighs together to sooth the ache his touch had ignited.
“I was just telling George how much you love to dance. Especially square dance,” he said.
I had been reaching for my water, and I practically spilled it when he said that. Was he out of his ever-loving mind? I didn’t know a thing about country dancing other than the fact that the word do-si-do had something to do with it.
I tucked a piece of hair behind my ear. “Yes, big boy, I do like to dance, but you know I prefer to watch you line dance because you’re so great at it. Besides, don’t forget, I did hurt my ankle not that long ago.”
His grin was beyond wicked. “You can be a klutz sometimes, but I seem to recall you assuring me your ankle was absolutely fine, and after I checked it out, I did concur with your self-diagnosis.”
Ethel tapped George on the shoulder, and when he looked at her, she whispered something in his ear.
“Did you say you wanted to dance, Jules?” George asked me over the music.
Before I could say no, George was on his feet and standing beside me with his hand extended. “Would you do me the honor of having this dance with me?”
Like I could say no now.
He really was so sweet. Dr. Kiss, on the other hand, well he was the devil reincarnated. “I’d be delighted,” I said and glared at Jake as I stood.
“Have fun, Sweetie,” Jake grinned.
I bent to whisper in his ear. “While I’m gone, do you think you could come up with something to call me that doesn’t make you sound like you might be George’s age.”
He narrowed that blue-eyed stare at me.
Satisfied with that, I pivoted around and didn’t look back.
The bridesmaids, in their short, peach dresses and cowboy boots, were having a blast stomping their feet and clapping their hands all while shaking their behinds and pressing their thumbs into their sides.
How on earth were George and I going to dance to this?
Thank God just when we reached the center of the dance floor, the music changed, and Tim McGraw’s voice came overhead. As Tim sang about how no one ever made him feel the way she did, George and I stepped into position.
He took my hands and started to move, ballroom style. This type of dancing I knew how to do. “So,” he said, “When are you and Jake planning on getting hitched?”
Up until now, I had been able to twist what I said so it didn’t sound like a blatant lie, but this question was pretty straightforward. “We haven’t decided yet.”
Which was true. In fact, we hadn’t decided a lot. Like as a starting point, if we were friends or enemies.
“I noticed you ain’t wearing a ring. He not gotten you one yet?”
“That’s complicated,” I answered.
And it was. He hadn’t gotten me one and he never would because he didn’t even like me, and after tonight, I was fairly certain he wouldn’t be able to stand me.
“Well, he’s a good man. Give him some time. He’ll come around.”
Yes, he’d come around all right. Come around to telling me I was fired, which reminded me of Finn.
Where had he gotten his information?
I leaned back. “Is Labor Day weekend available for a wedding?”
George started to laugh. “You’ll give the man a heart attack if you make him move that fast.”
“Oh, I know, but just in case, is it?”
“As a matter of fact, it might be. A lad called here today inquiring about it though, and I told him to come up and see the place before I reserved it for him. Since he ain’t shown, I reckon it could be yours.”
“Good to know.” I winked.
He raised a curious brow.
I shrugged. “Just in case.”
Skimlinks Test