google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog - penelope ward
Showing posts with label penelope ward. Show all posts
Showing posts with label penelope ward. Show all posts
Sunday, September 15, 2019

EARLY REVIEW: Park Avenue Player by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland

Check out my spoiler-free review of Park Avenue Player by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland.  This standalone contemporary romance will be released on September 23rd. Amazon's Kindle Unlimited users can read it for free!    Also, check out Park Avenue Player on Buzzfeed's Best Romance Book List.
Read for Free Romance

Park Avenue Player
Release date September 23, 2019
A Standalone Contemporary Romance 
New York Times Bestselling Authors Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

PURCHASE LINKS:
Goodreads  https://fave.co/30h7VNf
Amazon print  https://amzn.to/2ZXpu89

Sign up for Penelope & Vi’s mailing list now and be the first one notified when it goes live!  https://www.subscribepage.com/2FreeBooks


BLURB

It started out like any normal day.  

Then the fender bender happened.  

The guy I collided with drove an expensive car and was drop-dead gorgeous.  Too bad he was also a total jerk.  We argued over whose fault it was and any other thing that came out of his condescending mouth.

Eventually, the police came and we went our separate ways.  The insurance companies would have to figure things out.  I had a job interview to get to anyway—one I was excited about.  

Though that excitement changed to disappointment the moment the person interviewing me walked in.  The guy from the accident. 

Whoops!

Yeah, so I didn’t get the position.

The problem was, I really wanted it. No, I needed it. Anything to get me out of my current career and back into working with kids.

So, even though Hollis LaCroix was as intimidating as he was devastatingly handsome, I went back to see him and begged for a chance. 

To my surprise, he gave me a shot taking care of his troubled niece.

At least my attraction to him wouldn’t be able to go anywhere. I wasn’t about to jeopardize my job or the strong bond Hailey and I formed.  

But resisting the magnetic pull between us wasn’t that simple. (Then there was our little underwear game—don’t ask.)

We continued to flirt without crossing the line—until it finally happened.  

This is the part of the story where we fall in love and live happily ever after, right?

Well, life has a way of throwing some major curveballs.

Ours was one I didn’t see coming.

Review of Park Avenue Player
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
How do Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland create magic every time they write together? ViPen’s (Vi and Penelope) co-authored books are my favorite type of Kindle Crack. Park Avenue Player managed to channel the same vibes as Cocky Bastard, one of my all-time favorite books by the duo. Park Avenue Player was not only funny, sexy, and sweet but it also had a heartbreaking emotional plot twist that I didn’t see coming. Park Avenue Player is sure to become another ViPen unputdownable fan favorite. Best of 2019 and baaaaaa-yound… LOL. One-click worthy and completely addictive.

Park Avenue Player will release on 9.23 and will be available on Amazon and in the Kindle Unlimited program. Standalone/no cliffhanger.

#kindlecrack #parkavenueplayer


description




Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Read Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward's Books for Free!



NEW IN Kindle Unlimited! Did you know that Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward’s co-written books are now available in Kindle Unlimited?!  This series of contemporary romance standalones are all NYT and USA Today Bestsellers! Every single one of these books made Kindle Crack Book Reviews Best of the years lists!  #AllTimeBestKindleCrack


New Kindle Unlimited FREE reads


Cocky Bastard (A Series of Standalone Novels Book 1) https://amzn.to/2ZLagiD

Stuck-Up Suit (A Series of Standalone Novels Book 2) https://amzn.to/2PAnu1O

Playboy Pilot (A Series of Standalone Novels Book 3) https://amzn.to/2LfSjo7

Mister Moneybags (A Series of Standalone Novels Book 4) https://amzn.to/2ZC63l7

British Bedmate (A Series of Standalone Novels Book 5) https://amzn.to/2LeNBHp

Park Ave Player (9.23 release)

Rebel Heir: Book One (The Rush Series) https://amzn.to/2ZF8VOa

Rebel Heart: Book Two (The Rush Series) https://amzn.to/2MRWed1

Thursday, August 22, 2019

NEW BOOK ALERT: Park Avenue Player by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland



I can't wait to read Park Avenue Player by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland.  I LOVE their co-authored books.  Check out the synopsis, cover and add this contemporary romance to your Goodreads reading list.  

New romance book


Park Avenue Player
Release date September 23, 2019
A Standalone Contemporary Romance 
New York Times Bestselling Authors Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

BLURB

It started out like any normal day.  

Then the fender bender happened.  

The guy I collided with drove an expensive car and was drop-dead gorgeous.  Too bad he was also a total jerk.  We argued over whose fault it was and any other thing that came out of his condescending mouth.

Eventually, the police came and we went our separate ways.  The insurance companies would have to figure things out.  I had a job interview to get to anyway—one I was excited about.  

Though that excitement changed to disappointment the moment the person interviewing me walked in.  The guy from the accident. 

Whoops!

Yeah, so I didn’t get the position.

The problem was, I really wanted it. No, I needed it. Anything to get me out of my current career and back into working with kids.

So, even though Hollis LaCroix was as intimidating as he was devastatingly handsome, I went back to see him and begged for a chance. 

To my surprise, he gave me a shot taking care of his troubled niece.

At least my attraction to him wouldn’t be able to go anywhere. I wasn’t about to jeopardize my job or the strong bond Hailey and I formed.  

But resisting the magnetic pull between us wasn’t that simple. (Then there was our little underwear game—don’t ask.)

We continued to flirt without crossing the line—until it finally happened.  

This is the part of the story where we fall in love and live happily ever after, right?

Well, life has a way of throwing some major curveballs.

Ours was one I didn’t see coming.

PURCHASE LINKS:
Amazon print https://amzn.to/2ZgNCOR

Sign up for Penelope & Vi’s mailing list now and be the first one notified when it goes live!  https://www.subscribepage.com/2FreeBooks

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Excerpt Reveal: The Day He Came Back by Penelope Ward


Penelope managed to make me fall in love, break my heart and then, piece it back together in this unputdownable second chance romance. The Day He Came Back is going to steal your heart, but I promise you will get it back. This book is going on my best of 2019 list.  Look for my full review on  8/19.  Read an excerpt below. 

New Romance Book
THE DAY HE CAME BACK 
(A standalone)
Release date: 8/19/2019

A Contemporary Romance Novel

New York Times, USA Today, and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author 
Penelope Ward 


Excerpt Reveal:
Copyright © 2019
By Penelope Ward


I looked down at her fitted white pants, covered in dirt marks. Even though she looked sexy as hell, I had to ask. "Why the hell does my mother insist on the staff wearing all white?"
"You'll have to ask her, although I like to think of it as practice for my future nursing career." 
“I guess that’s one way to look at it. It kind of freaks me out. It’s like you’re all part of some cult.” I chuckled. 
“I wonder what she’d do if I showed up in black. She’d shun me.” She snapped her fingers jokingly. “Oh wait…” 
Except I wasn’t laughing now. I felt horrible that she knew exactly how my mother felt about her.
“I’m sorry she’s such a bitch, Raven.”
“It’s not your fault.” She looked out at the ocean, then promptly changed the subject. "You must be excited to go to Connecticut in the fall.”
“At this very moment, thanks to you, I'm in absolutely no rush to leave this spot, let alone Palm Beach.”
She blushed. "You're funny.”
“You're f*cking beautiful.” That just came out. “I'm sorry if that was too forward. But it’s true,” I said.
“No.” Her cheeks turned pink. "Thank you."
"Do you have a boyfriend?"
She pushed some hair behind her ear. "No."
"I want to take you out." 
She looked down at her empty cup. "I don't think so.”
Ouch. “Can I ask why?”
“It's not that I'm not interested, but…you're leaving in the fall, so I’m not sure it makes sense to start anything up. Then there’s the bigger issue of your mother. I just don't think it's a good idea.”
"I get it." I nodded. "I understand."
Holy sh*t. I wasn't used to rejection. I couldn't remember the last time a girl had said no to me. I swear to God, my dick just stiffened. What was it about the chase that was so damn arousing? I had to find another way…
"Can we hang out as friends, then?"
She grinned skeptically. “Friends?”
"There's this improv club near where you live. I wanted to go check it out this weekend. Would you want to go with me?"
“Venturing to the other side of the bridge, eh?” she teased. “What would Mother think?”
“Will you come with me, wiseass?”
"Seriously, what if your mom finds out?"
"She won't. She doesn't really question where I go. I'll just tell her I'm going to meet a friend. And thanks to your rejection, that won’t be a lie, right?”
Raven blinked for a while before she finally answered, "Okay. Yeah."
My heart sped up. "Yeah?"

Paperback  https://fave.co/2Z1FbLi
Apple Books  https://fave.co/2ScFey5
Google Play https://fave.co/2YIIs2G

Sign up to be alerted when it goes live on Amazon here: https://fave.co/2KoLPUN 
**No Amazon e-book preorder. Will go live on/around release day.  
Synopsis:

Synopsis:
From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Ward, comes a new standalone novel.

It was the summer of my life.
I’d met the guy of my dreams.
Unfortunately, he was the son of my uppity employer—and very much off-limits.
But Gavin was a rebel. He knew his mother would disown him if she found out about us; in his eyes, we just had to be careful.
He never treated me as his mother did—like hired help.
Instead, Gavin put me on a pedestal and loved me harder than I’d ever been loved in my life.


What a summer it was. 
Until it all ended—badly. 

I was never supposed to see Gavin again.
That didn’t stop me from thinking about him every day for ten years.
I knew little about his life now, just that he was an entrepreneur living an ocean away.


When a twist of fate had me working again in the very place our love affair started a decade earlier, I knew it was only a matter of time before I might see him again. 
But I wasn’t prepared.
What if he hated me?
What if he loved someone else now?
I wasn’t prepared for all the unknowns.

And most of all, I wasn’t prepared for today to be the day he came back.

 
  
BIO:

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance.

She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism. 

With over two million books sold, she is a 21-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels. Her books have been translated into over a dozen languages and can be found in bookstores around the world.


SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS: 

Facebook

Facebook Private Fan Group:

Instagram
@penelopewardauthor 

Twitter


BOOKS BY PENELOPE WARD: 

When August Ends:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2WOsEWr 
Amazon Print: https://fave.co/2x37hWQ
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2KpxcAO 
Nook: https://fave.co/2x0gqiL  
Kobo: https://fave.co/2Rq3PyP 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2xbd8tn
Audio: https://fave.co/2WO5DTi 

Love Online:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2x2Hi1A 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2Kq72Oo 
B&N: https://fave.co/2RsbAo4 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2Rj0JMU 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2KpYVBs 
Audio: https://fave.co/2WLLw8t 

Gentleman Nine:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2KlJREE 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2RlJ5bl 
Nook: https://fave.co/2RmoaVI 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2WOnAkL 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Rm84LS 
Audio: https://fave.co/2x0Nwiz 

Drunk Dial:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2Rq4vnR 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2Kop8jK 
Nook: https://fave.co/2WK3s3a 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2RkOgZf 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2KoX3Zs  
Audio: https://fave.co/2Rvfexz 

Mack Daddy:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2wZadUi 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2KsSAFc 
B&N: https://fave.co/2Rm8LEY 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2x3Fc1r 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2WO6ovC 
Audio: https://fave.co/2WSn2KR 

RoomHate:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2x3n6wM 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2x3FdCJ 
B&N: https://fave.co/2WKZrLP  
kobo: https://fave.co/2x0Wtsf 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2WO8rQn 

Stepbrother Dearest:
Amazon:  https://amzn.to/31ymnkf
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2x2Iimm 
B&N: https://fave.co/2Rmtbxv  
kobo: https://fave.co/2WOuUNp 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2WO6Zxm 

Neighbor Dearest:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2WP3C9p 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2RqgBxs 
B&N: https://fave.co/2wZbbQq 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2WPNVyG 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Rq5jJl 

Jaded and Tyed (A novelette):
Amazon Print only: https://fave.co/2wZo9h7 
Audio: https://fave.co/2WPO0lY 

Sins of Sevin:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2KqUczk 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2RjW2Tg    
B&N: https://fave.co/2Rq5sMX 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2x2UaVA 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Rn1fJY 

Jake Undone (Jake #1):
Amazon: https://fave.co/2KqA1RU 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2KmcmSV 
B&N: https://fave.co/2x2DU6U 
kobo: https://fave.co/2RlliIR 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Kq8Rec 

Jake Understood (Jake #2):
Amazon: https://fave.co/2RopKXd 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2Korlvy 
B&N: https://fave.co/2WORPrU 
kobo: https://fave.co/2Rn2ngu 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Rn2F74 

My Skylar:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2Rn2WH8    
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2x7t3Zj
B&N: https://fave.co/2KrBaZF 
kobo: https://fave.co/2WSoooV 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2WR0wSu 

Gemini:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2Rqh82q
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2x3ouQ0 
B&N: https://fave.co/2KoOBJH 
kobo: https://fave.co/2wYndcQ 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2KpA8gO 

BOOKS BY PENELOPE WARD AND VI KEELAND: 

Hate Notes:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2WO8WtG 
Amazon UK: https://fave.co/2RocfGN 
Audio : https://fave.co/2RocykV 


THE RUSH DUET:

Rebel Heir (Rush, Book 1):
Amazon: https://fave.co/2KrzwHd 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2KpkOR3 
B&N: https://fave.co/2WO9sb6 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2WR23bc 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2x3GCJv 

Rebel Heart (Rush, Book 2):
Amazon: https://fave.co/2WPOCbg 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2WSoGfv 
B&N: https://fave.co/2WP4Xgr 
Kobo:  https://fave.co/2WOSedU 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2RvgO2t 

Cocky Bastard:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2RmKjmE 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2WLOkCx 
B&N: https://fave.co/2RjX4yC 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2WPnMju 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Koctxa 

Stuck-Up Suit:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2Kpo5jq 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2RorBv9 
B&N: https://fave.co/2Kme32J 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2x17MRl 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2WOwNtt 

Playboy Pilot:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2KoirhF 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2WL1bol 
Nook: https://fave.co/2RonOxL 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2Kw0kGH 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Kpp3fy 

Mister Moneybags:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2RjeCuy 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2x7u0AR 
B&N: https://fave.co/2Rn5k0y 
Kobo https://fave.co/2x0k9wL 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2WOjAkd 

British Bedmate:
Amazon: https://fave.co/2x4yrwk 
Apple Books: https://fave.co/2x0ZSai 
B&N:  https://fave.co/2RjL4Nu 
Kobo: https://fave.co/2x3oTlw 
Google Play: https://fave.co/2Rq6XL1

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Best Romance Books of 2019: When August Ends by Penelope Ward

Check out my spoiler-free review of When August Ends by New York Times, USA Today, and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author Penelope Ward.  This new heartfelt contemporary romance is on my 
Best of 2019 Romance book list. Get this amazing book on Amazon or your favorite online book retailer. Read it now. 

Model Joseph Cannata Book Cover

WHEN AUGUST ENDS by Penelope Ward

A Standalone Contemporary Romance Novel
Release date: February 25, 2019

Cover Information:
Cover Designer: Letitia Hasser, RBA Designs
Cover Model: Joseph Cannata
Cover Photography: Adam Zivo


Synopsis:

What do you do when a sexy, older man moves into your family’s summer rental?

Well, apparently, you make a fool of yourself—over and over. Things didn’t exactly get off on the right foot with Noah Cavallari. Our first encounter was embarrassing, to say the least.

But despite that, I found myself waking up every day with a newfound energy. Nothing exciting ever happened on the lake—not until Noah moved into the small boathouse on our property. He’d booked it for the entire summer…and I was still trying to figure out why.

When my mother became ill, I inherited the responsibility of making sure our guests were well taken care of. I should have been in college. Instead, I was living my best life…as a maid.

Dark, handsome, and mysterious, everything about Noah screamed forbidden. 

I knew he was just passing through town for the summer.

I knew he was probably too old for me.

Yet, I was drawn to him.

Not to mention, he tried to save my life when he mistakenly thought I was drowning.

I wanted him and made no secret of it.

His own attempts to warn me away soon gave way to late-night moonlight chats by the lake. We were slowly easing into a friendship that was gearing up to explode into something I might not recover from. 

Because he’s leaving at the end of the summer.

And I have no idea what I’ll do when August ends.

Buy Links:
Amazon Print  https://amzn.to/2EjFUw1 
Apple Books  https://apple.co/2GWRgcK
Google Play  http://bit.ly/2BCw3Qc  

Goodreads  http://bit.ly/2SL1z9e 

REVIEW OF AUGUST ENDS:
When August EndsWhen August Ends by Penelope Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
description

I spent the day binge reading When August Ends by Penelope Ward. I didn’t want this book to end!!! I seriously can’t wait for you guys to meet Heather and Noah. I loved everything about this book. When August Ends had the perfect amount of sweet and heat that made my heart skip an emotional beat. Mark your calendar 2/25/19. You better clear your schedule to read this one! WAE is on my Best of 2019 list! Full review to follow! #whenaugustends




EXCERPT: 
Noah stood up and walked off the porch to put his cigar out on the cement. When he returned, he remained standing across from me. I was reminded of just how tall he was as he towered over me. A breeze blew his scent—a mix of cigar and cologne—in my direction. The same smell saturated the shirt I was wearing. I could’ve breathed it in all night. His nearness was doing things to my body I hadn’t ever felt.
Noah looked around. “You mentioned some stuff around here needs to be repaired. What specifically?”
I blew out a breath. Even thinking about it was exhausting. “So much. I’d have to make a list.”
“Why don’t you do that? Make a list. I’m pretty good with my hands. I’ll see if there’s anything I can help with while I’m here.”
He’d lost me at pretty good with my hands. My imagination was running wild. Shit. I imagined those hands doing a lot of things—mostly to me. 
“I can’t let you do that.”
“You’d be stupid not to take me up on it. I came for a change of pace, but the truth is, too much quiet isn’t good. I like to keep busy.”
Biting my bottom lip, I shook my head. “I don’t know…”
“Make the list,” he insisted.
Noah was right. It would be dumb not to take him up on his offer. It wasn’t like there was anyone else knocking down our door to help. 
I tilted my head. “What would be in it for you?”
His expression turned dark. “People don’t always have to have ulterior motives.”
Suddenly feeling bold, I said, “I thought maybe you would want me to go out with you in exchange.” 
Did you hear that? It was a record screeching.
I admit, that was ballsy, but being around him brought out my flirtatious side. Maybe his cologne and cigar smoke were going to my head. 
“You’re joking, right?”
Okay. I shouldn’t have asked.
“Actually, I—”
“I’m practically old enough to be your father.”
Really? That’s how he saw me? I knew he was older than me…but he didn’t seem that old. No way. I’d pegged him as early thirties, though I truly had no idea how old he was.
I shook my head. “No, you’re not. That’s a lie. An older brother, maybe. How old are you?”
Instead of answering, he took two steps forward. “Let me make something clear.”
“Okay…”
“I was not insinuating anything by offering to help. And I will not be asking you out, propositioning you, or going anywhere near you, for that matter. We clear on that?”
Okay, then.
I swallowed. Disappointment washed over me as I cleared my throat. “Yes.”
“Good.” He made his way toward the door, turning around one last time. “You’d better go. It was nice chatting. Get me the list tomorrow.”
He disappeared into the house, leaving me on the porch to wallow in his lingering smell and feeling like a complete and utter idiot.
LINKS TO When August Ends:


AUTHOR BIO:
Penelope Ward

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance.
She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism. 

With over one-point-five million books sold, she is a twenty-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels. 

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS: 

Facebook

Facebook Private Fan Group:

Instagram
@penelopewardauthor 

Twitter
Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Read online. When August Ends by Penelope Ward

Read the first two chapters of When August Ends by Penelope Ward.  Look for my book review over the next few days.  When August Ends had the perfect amount of sweet and heat that made my heart skip an emotional beat.

Model Joseph Cannata Book Cover

WHEN AUGUST ENDS by Penelope Ward

A Standalone Contemporary Romance Novel
Release date: February 25, 2019

Cover Information:
Cover Designer: Letitia Hasser, RBA Designs
Cover Model: Joseph Cannata
Cover Photography: Adam Zivo

New York Times, USA Today, and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author Penelope Ward 
EXCERPT: 
Noah stood up and walked off the porch to put his cigar out on the cement. When he returned, he remained standing across from me. I was reminded of just how tall he was as he towered over me. A breeze blew his scent—a mix of cigar and cologne—in my direction. The same smell saturated the shirt I was wearing. I could’ve breathed it in all night. His nearness was doing things to my body I hadn’t ever felt.
Noah looked around. “You mentioned some stuff around here needs to be repaired. What specifically?”
I blew out a breath. Even thinking about it was exhausting. “So much. I’d have to make a list.”
“Why don’t you do that? Make a list. I’m pretty good with my hands. I’ll see if there’s anything I can help with while I’m here.”
He’d lost me at pretty good with my hands. My imagination was running wild. Shit. I imagined those hands doing a lot of things—mostly to me. 
“I can’t let you do that.”
“You’d be stupid not to take me up on it. I came for a change of pace, but the truth is, too much quiet isn’t good. I like to keep busy.”
Biting my bottom lip, I shook my head. “I don’t know…”
“Make the list,” he insisted.
Noah was right. It would be dumb not to take him up on his offer. It wasn’t like there was anyone else knocking down our door to help. 
I tilted my head. “What would be in it for you?”
His expression turned dark. “People don’t always have to have ulterior motives.”
Suddenly feeling bold, I said, “I thought maybe you would want me to go out with you in exchange.” 
Did you hear that? It was a record screeching.
I admit, that was ballsy, but being around him brought out my flirtatious side. Maybe his cologne and cigar smoke were going to my head. 
“You’re joking, right?”
Okay. I shouldn’t have asked.
“Actually, I—”
“I’m practically old enough to be your father.”
Really? That’s how he saw me? I knew he was older than me…but he didn’t seem that old. No way. I’d pegged him as early thirties, though I truly had no idea how old he was.
I shook my head. “No, you’re not. That’s a lie. An older brother, maybe. How old are you?”
Instead of answering, he took two steps forward. “Let me make something clear.”
“Okay…”
“I was not insinuating anything by offering to help. And I will not be asking you out, propositioning you, or going anywhere near you, for that matter. We clear on that?”
Okay, then.
I swallowed. Disappointment washed over me as I cleared my throat. “Yes.”
“Good.” He made his way toward the door, turning around one last time. “You’d better go. It was nice chatting. Get me the list tomorrow.”
He disappeared into the house, leaving me on the porch to wallow in his lingering smell and feeling like a complete and utter idiot.
LINKS TO When August Ends:

Download the FIRST TWO Chapters Here  https://dl.bookfunnel.com/7atulhxa6j

Amazon Print  https://amzn.to/2EjFUw1 
Google Play  http://bit.ly/2BCw3Qc  
Goodreads  http://bit.ly/2SL1z9e 

Sign up to be alerted when it goes live on Amazon here: http://bit.ly/2Eg5DFw 
**No Amazon e-book preorder. Will go live on/around release day.

Synopsis:

What do you do when a sexy, older man moves into your family’s summer rental?

Well, apparently, you make a fool of yourself—over and over. Things didn’t exactly get off on the right foot with Noah Cavallari. Our first encounter was embarrassing, to say the least.

But despite that, I found myself waking up every day with a newfound energy. Nothing exciting ever happened on the lake—not until Noah moved into the small boathouse on our property. He’d booked it for the entire summer…and I was still trying to figure out why.

When my mother became ill, I inherited the responsibility of making sure our guests were well taken care of. I should have been in college. Instead, I was living my best life…as a maid.

Dark, handsome, and mysterious, everything about Noah screamed forbidden. 

I knew he was just passing through town for the summer.

I knew he was probably too old for me.

Yet, I was drawn to him.

Not to mention, he tried to save my life when he mistakenly thought I was drowning.

I wanted him and made no secret of it.

His own attempts to warn me away soon gave way to late-night moonlight chats by the lake. We were slowly easing into a friendship that was gearing up to explode into something I might not recover from. 

Because he’s leaving at the end of the summer.

And I have no idea what I’ll do when August ends.


AUTHOR BIO:
Penelope Ward

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance.
She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism. 

With over one-point-five million books sold, she is a twenty-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels. 

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS: 

Facebook

Facebook Private Fan Group:

Instagram
@penelopewardauthor 

Twitter
Skimlinks Test