google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html KCBR Blog - dark romance
Showing posts with label dark romance. Show all posts
Showing posts with label dark romance. Show all posts
Monday, August 14, 2023

Something Like Normal by Monica James is LIVE

 Something Like Normal by Monica James is LIVE! Check out my spoiler-free review. **Something Like Normal was first published in 2014. It's been revamped, re-edited, and re-covered!**

Buy Links:

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3KDyi9s

Nook: https://fave.co/3DhQGk4

Kobo: https://fave.co/3pIoO5K

Apple:  https://apple.co/44wl2LK

Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/3fr992dv

BookBub: https://tinyurl.com/muum763f

New cover: Something Like Normal by Monica James

Something like Normal: Book One

Genre: Dark New Adult Romance

Cover Model: Lochie Carey @lochie_carey

Photographer: Michelle Lancaster @lanefotograf

Cover Designer: Lori Jackson Design @lorilovesbookjackson

Release date: August 14, 2023


Synopsis:


I have a secret…

And I’ve kept this secret hidden since I was eight years old. But I’ll no longer allow my past to define me.

A fateful decision has left me a fugitive on the run. I should be afraid, yet I’ve never felt more alive.

My name is Mia Lee, but that person died the night I spilled blood and didn’t feel a thing.

I’m on a Greyhound bus, ready to start a new life. A life that includes finding my mother, who left without a word when I was three.

But I end up meeting four people who change my life forever. And one person, in particular, shakes things up beyond repair.

Quinn Berkeley.

He’s just as damaged as I am. And harbors secrets just as dark as mine. But he gives me hope that living a normal life is within reach.

However, the blood on my hands has forever stained my soul.

No one can outrun their past.

Especially one filled with bitter memories that refuse to remain…dead.

Spoiler-free Review:

Something like Normal (Something like Normal, #1)Something Like Normal by Monica James
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 STARS/UPDATED 2023 REVIEW
Something Like Normal by Monica James was first published in 2014. This updated version has been re-edited and has a gorgeous new cover. I remember reading this book in 2014 and equally enjoyed the latest version. Something Like Normal is a new adult romantic suspense. Mia is a young girl who escaped from her drug addict-turned-pimp father. She settles in a new place far away from her tumultuous past. After building a new life, her dark and deadly past comes back to haunt her. This book ends with a doozy of a cliffhanger. The second book in this series will release in October.
--------------------------------------------

Title: Something Like Normal (Book #1)
Author: Monica James
Release Date: May 13, 2014
Rating: 4.5 – 5.00 stars
Cliffhanger: Yes
Spoiler-free review

A review copy was generously provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Mia’s life sucks. She has been a drug trafficker for her father and his dealer since she was eight years old. Her father’s drug addiction and money issues have spiraled out of control. He tells Mia that he is going to pimp her to his dealer to cover his debts. After making a split second decision to kill her drug addict dad, she goes on the run. Mia goes MIA (Missing In Action). She boards a bus to a random place and hopes to land on her feet and locate her mom. Mia assumes a new identity and calls herself Paige.

She lands two legitimate jobs and the hearts of two brothers. Quinn has his own share of issues and isn’t quick to share them with Paige. She starts to fall for Quinn and everything seems to be normal…but life has a way of being anything by normal for these two misfits. Can they hide in plain site from their pasts and their feelings for each other?

I am a huge fan of Monica James and LOVE her first two books in the Surrender series. This book is different from her other books but equally as good. I have to say that I did not fully get into this story until about 35% of the way in. I thought I had these characters and the plot figured out, and I was so wrong. Especially Paige…she is a badass with a heart of gold. SLN is not your typical romance story and has a nice mix of suspense, drama, and tension. I love the way Monica crafted these characters. They are banged up from life, and their story is raw and full of emotional obstacles. There is nothing about Quinn and Paige that is predictable in any way. Paige and Quinn are both two lost souls, who are broken and flawed in many ways from their pasts…but maybe they will one day have a normal life…or Something Like Normal. There is a clifffreakinhanger of an ending. Arghhhh….what an ending!!!! I would be a little perturbed if it weren't for the fact that Monica’s books are worth the wait, and she has not disappointed me yet! One-click this one.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/Kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, and Twitter.

Bio:

Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.

When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life.

She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.

Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.

Stalk Me:


Follow Monica:

Website: authormonicajames.com 

Facebook: facebook.com/authormonicajames 

Twitter: twitter.com/monicajames81 

Goodreads: goodreads.com/MonicaJames

Instagram: @authormonicajames

TikTok: @authormonicajames

BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS

Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi



Wednesday, June 21, 2023

Kindle Book Review: Love Sick by Monica James is LIVE!

Love Sick (Heart Memory Transfer #2) by Monica James is LIVE! Check out my spoiler-free review below. This book is twisted! *𝙆𝘾𝘽𝙍 𝙇𝙇𝘾 𝙝𝙖𝙨 𝙣𝙤𝙩 𝙗𝙚𝙚𝙣 𝙛𝙞𝙣𝙖𝙣𝙘𝙞𝙖𝙡𝙡𝙮 𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙥𝙚𝙣𝙨𝙖𝙩𝙚𝙙 𝙛𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙧𝙚𝙫𝙞𝙚𝙬. 𝙏𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙞𝙨 𝙣𝙤𝙩 𝙖 𝙨𝙥𝙤𝙣𝙨𝙤𝙧𝙚𝙙 𝙥𝙤𝙨𝙩/𝙖𝙙.

Love Sick by Monica James ebook Kindle Crack
Synopsis:

All I want is revenge.

But I’m afraid it will destroy me because I’m not a monster.

Or maybe I am.

And that’s thanks to Doctor Alanna Norton.

She’s tortured me.

She’s made me forget who I am.

And she’s done all this in the name of love.

But the love I feel for my son, who was stolen from me, will triumph. I won’t accept any other outcome.

There is another love which I will fight for—Dutch Atwood.

But what I find…the sting of betrayal lingers. I look at Dutch through new eyes; he doesn’t trust me, and I don’t trust him.

I’m faced with so many scenarios—I wish I knew how this story ends so I can make the right choice.

But there is no right in the hand I was dealt.

Alanna wants love so badly, so I intend to show her what true love looks like, because the only thing that matters is getting out of here…but not before I take from Alanna what she took from me.

Her heart.


NOW LIVE:

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3CBZDEr

Nook: https://fave.co/3PqMeHe

Kobo: https://fave.co/46iU1wO

Apple: https://apple.co/43PmCYU

Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/5879t9x2

BookBub: https://tinyurl.com/mryy87bs


Spoiler-free Review:

Love SickLove Sick by Monica James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


description 

Hold on tight because Love Sick (Heart Memory Transfer #2) by Monica James will take you on a dark, twisted rollercoaster ride you will never forget! Just when I thought Monica's books couldn't go darker. SHE WENT DARKER. Love Sick was SICK! I binge-read this unputdownable book in a day! Love Sick is not for the faint of heart. Prepare yourself for a whirlwind of gore and dysfunctional love that will leave you reeling. Please read Monica's author's note, which provides trigger-related information. If you're a fan of the dark romance trope, then this book is for you. Love Sick is an absolute gem that shines in its dark brilliance.

Series order:
Heart Sick (Heart Memory Transfer Duet #1) https://amzn.to/3lUUEKf
Love Sick (Heart Memory Transfer #2) by Monica James  https://amzn.to/3CBZDEr


Bio

Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.

When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life.

She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.

Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.

Stalk Me:


Monica

Website: authormonicajames.com 

Facebook: facebook.com/authormonicajames 

Twitter: twitter.com/monicajames81 

Goodreads: goodreads.com/MonicaJames

Instagram: @authormonicajames

TikTok: @authormonicajames 

BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS 

Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi



Tuesday, February 21, 2023

Book Review: Heart Sick by Monica James

Heart Sick, an all-new edge-of-your-seat dark romance from International Bestselling author Monica James is available now! Check out my spoiler-free book review below. 

Heart Sick by Monica James ebook cover
Each beat hides a secret, and his voice now replaces the music, demanding I uncover the truth.

Piano has always been my one true love.


So when the music stops, I do whatever I can to hear it again.


But when I wake, all I hear is his heart and the memories that come with it.


This is my body.


My mind.


But not my heart.


Each beat hides a secret, and his voice now replaces the music, demanding I uncover the truth.


I’m sent to a place to get better, and that’s when I meet her.


Every artist needs a muse, and Luna allows me to hear the music again. But when her secrets soon become mine, I realize it’s because I’ve lived this life before.


Or rather, he has.


The man whose heart beats within my chest knows Luna…and everything she’s done.


Start reading today! 

Amazon:  https://amzn.to/3lUUEKf

Amazon Worldwide: https://mybook.to/heartsick 

Nook: https://fave.co/3xFhyYu

Kobo: https://fave.co/3KKA7Cz

Apple: https://apple.co/3lVBG6a


Heart Sick (Heart Memory Transfer Duet: Book One)Heart Sick by Monica James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I just finished Heart Sick (Heart Memory Transfer Duet #1) by Monica James, and my head is still spinning from this wicked rollercoaster ride! What the hell did I just read? THAT ENDING!! What a wild and crazy journey full of brilliant twists and turns. This dark psychological romance thriller was equally unique and unputdownable. You can find me rocking in a corner, waiting for the next book. Go into this one blind and experience this story for yourself.

Heart Sick by Monica James video edit Kindle Crack

Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Cover Reveal: Devil of Dublin by BB Easton

Check out the cover and synopsis for Devil of Dublin by BB Easton! This book will release on September 27th! From the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of 44 Chapters About 4 Men (inspiration for the Netflix Original series Sex/Life) comes a dark mafia romance steeped in Irish folklore. 

Devil of Dublin by BB Easton cover Kindle Crack
Releasing: September 27, 2022

Cover designer: Damonza

Photographer: Regina Wamba


Cover Model: Jered Sternaman



Synopsis:
I can't remember anymore if my grandfather's eyes were blue or green, but I'll never forget the way they wrinkled at the corners when he laughed at one of his own jokes. Or the way they sparkled with mischief when he told me tales about the magical creatures that dwelled in the forest behind his humble Irish sheep farm—shy fairies who liked to eat tea biscuits, cruel witches who liked to eat children, a moody lake spirit with a taste for expensive gifts. 

As a child, I believed every fantastical word. But when he warned me about the mute boy who also lurked in those woods, the one the priest had declared to be the spawn of Satan himself, I refused to listen. Kellen wasn't evil. He was kind, and beautiful, and special, and hurting. He was my friend. And with every summer I spent stolen away with him in those enchanted woods, he grew to become so much more.

But when I return to Glenshire as an adult, grieving and engaged to someone else, all those legends quickly morph into nightmares.

My grandfather had been right about everything, especially the boy.

If only I had listened.

WARNING: If you are a sensitive reader or find certain subject matter triggering, please exercise self-care and select a different book. Devil of Dublin is a dark romance, intended for mature audiences who enjoy high emotional intensity, explicit adult content, graphic violence, heart-pounding suspense, fairy-tale worthy love, and gorgeous Irish scenery. If that sounds like you, then ... welcome to Glenshire! 


Pre-order today on all platforms! 

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3SGc60F

Nook: https://fave.co/3QwwAar

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3Qj1wvg

Kobo: https://fave.co/3dhU7xu


Meet BB Easton

BB Easton photo Kindle Crack


Wall Street Journal bestselling author BB Easton lives in the suburbs of Atlanta with her long-suffering husband, Ken, and two adorable children. A few years ago, she quit her job as a school psychologist to write books about her punk rock past and deviant sexual history full-time. Ken wasn’t super excited about that, but now that he’s appeared in three of her books and inspired a TV show character, he’s incredibly supportive.


BB’s debut memoir, 44 Chapters About 4 Men, went on to inspire the Netflix original series, Sex/Life, which was viewed by 67 million households worldwide within the first month making it the 3rd most-watched Netflix original series of all time. Because she had so much fun writing 44 Chapters, BB went on to publish four more wickedly funny, shockingly steamy, and heartwarmingly autobiographical books, one for each man in her memoir—Skin, Speed, Star, and Suit.

The Rain Trilogy—a dark, immersive, end-of-the-world romance—was BB’s first work of fiction. Or at least, that’s what she thought when she wrote it in 2019. Then, 2020 hit, and all of her dystopian plot points started coming true. Hoping to fix everything, BB returned with a fun, feel-good romantic comedy called Group Therapy, but alas, the world is still on fire … and so is BB’s desire to write intense, us-against-the-world romances. Her next release, Devil of Dublin, is a dark Irish mafia romance steeped in folklore and family secrets.  


You can find BB procrastinating in all of the following places:

Website: www.authorbbeaston.com

Instagram: www.instagram.com/author.bb.easton

TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMeEKRLyS/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/bbeaston

#TeamBB Facebook Group: www.facebook.com/groups/BBEaston

Twitter: www.twitter.com/bb_easton

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/artbyeaston

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/user/bbeaston

Goodreads: https://goo.gl/4hiwiR

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/bb-easton

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

Review: Antichrist by Amo Jones is LIVE!

Antichrist by Amo Jones is LIVE and FREE to download using Kindle Unlimited.  I'm blown away by this standalone dark romance.  Check out my spoiler-free review below.  

Buy Link: https://amzn.to/3JeSafu 

Try Kindle Unlimited FREE for a month https://amzn.to/3sSh2Vr

Antichrist by Amo Jones on Kindle Crack
Blurb:

Meraki Mallory lived two lives. The one that everyone thought she did, and the one she worked hard to hide. She burned with her demons instead of running from them, but when Niko Davis rode back into town with a bag full of secrets, she knew she would

need to start hiding them instead. Niko knew her inside and out, and if he saw even a smidge of her soul, he would see that she was no longer the girl he left behind…


When the president of the New York chapter of the Seven Knights MC dies, he passes the gavel down to Niko… but unknown to anyone else, that’s not the only thing he left him.

Niko fights for what’s his, and he’s only ever claimed one person in his life—Meraki. So when he rips away the walls she built around herself with his bare teeth, the secrets that she has so fiercely hidden away all of these years suddenly bleed onto the four unmarked graves laid out in front of his steel-cap boots…


It started with a bond that destroyed everyone around them…

…it ends with blood.


*this is a DARK ROMANCE. Please check triggers if you think you may need to.

**Antichrist is not a retelling of Hunchback of Notre Dame, there are slight nods here and there toward the original tale.

Review of Antichrist

AntichristAntichrist by Amo Jones
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy hell this book is 110% dark and twisted Kindle Crack!

I cannot believe I didn’t read Amo Jones until NOW. I’ve heard about her books for years, and I finally decided to pop my Amo cherry and read Antichrist. How could I have waited this long to read Amo? I love her razor-sharp writing style and super gritty characters. This MC mafia romance pushed me out of my comfort zone in a big way. There are toxic romances, and then there is Niko and Meraki. This dark and depraved story is going to melt your soul. If you have any triggers, please check out Amo’s reader notes.



Amo Jones Author Photo Kindle Crack

About the Author:

Amo Jones is a USA Today & Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, totally winging this author thing (she's probably doing it all wrong). She likes cake, loves wine, and her religion is magic (Slytherin). She's a profound work-a-holic, but when she's not writing, you can find her chilling with her kids & Husband at the nearest beach, with a cocktail in her hand.


New Zealand is not a state of Australia and rugby is the best sport ever played.


Connect w/Amo: 

Website: https://www.amojonesbooks.com 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/amojonesauthor 

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/10114 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authorAmojones 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thatcrazykiwiauthor 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14047384.Amo_Jones 

Amazon: https://amzn.to/36soMis 

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/amo-jones 

TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZTdHY5Arw/

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Fable of Happiness Book Three by Pepper Winters is now live!

Fable of Happiness Book Three by Pepper Winters is now live!  


From New York Times Bestseller, Pepper Winters, comes the third and final book in Kas and Gem's fated romance.    This dark romance series must be read in order.  The first book is FREE right now. Check out my spoiler-free review below. 


Fable of Happiness 1 https://amzn.to/3mt4Yp5

Fable of Happiness 2 https://amzn.to/2Yj3R3z

Fable of Happiness 3 https://amzn.to/3ldVej6



Fables of Happiness by Pepper Winters Kindle Crack

A stranger full of rage.

A battle that has no victors.

A decision that has to be made.

And a future that has to be fought for.


Scarred and learning how to live again, Kas might never be free of his darkness.

A life full of triggers is no life at all. But a love full of pain can only grant heartache.


Gem made the decision to stay, but at what cost?


Kas made the choice to claim her, but will he ever be worthy?


To love is the simplest choice of all.


But healing is the hardest struggle. 


Download today on Amazon, Apple Books, Audible, Google Play, Kobo, Barnes & Noble!

Spoiler-free review:

Fable of Happiness (Fable, #3)Fable of Happiness by Pepper Winters
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fables of Happiness (Book 3) is the final book in the Fables Trilogy by Pepper Winters. I don’t want to spoil it for you, so I’ll be brief. The ending was absolutely EPIC! Gem and Kas are forced to give up life in the secluded house of horrors and join the real world. As you could imagine, this wasn’t an easy transition for Kas. The once wild beast of a man, triggered by memories of his past, gets help to work through his violent outbursts to become healthy and the man Gem deserves. This series must be read in order.

Fable of Happiness 1 https://amzn.to/3mt4Yp5
Fable of Happiness 2 https://amzn.to/2Yj3R3z
Fable of Happiness 3 https://amzn.to/3ldVej6


Meet Pepper


Author Pepper Winters Kindle Crack Book Reviews



Pepper Winters is a multiple New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestseller.


After chasing her dreams to become a full-time writer, Pepper has earned recognition with awards for best Dark Romance, best BDSM Series, and best Hero. She's an multiple #1 Apple Books bestseller, along with #1 in Erotic Romance, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, and Romance Thriller.


Pepper currently has close to 40 books released in nine languages. She's hit best-seller lists almost 40 times, is a self-confessed hermit, yoga convert, has a house rabbit, six horses, and a long suffering husband.


To learn more about Pepper please visit: www.pepperwinters.com where she regularly posts videos of behind the scenes writing, horses, books, and more.

 

Connect with Pepper


Website: www.pepperwinters.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7151973.Pepper_Winters

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Pepper-Winters/e/B00EWT0DJ8

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pepperwintersbooks

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1511645192400372

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pepperwinters/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PepperWinters

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@pepperwintersbooks

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/pepper-winters

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pepperwinters/_saved/

Other: https://pepperwinters.com/category/peppers-blog/

Verve Romance (formerly Book + Main): https://bit.ly/3kVEptp


Thursday, September 16, 2021

Are you Forbidden to Love?

I’m excited to read Forbidden to Love!  Forbidden To Love, an all-new dark, forbidden romance set in the same world as Condemned to Love by USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Siobhan Davis, is coming on September 30th.  Check out the cover and synopsis.

Forbidden To Love by Siobhan Davis Cover Kindle Crack
Synopsis: 

Natalia Mazzone has grown up knowing she is promised to a made man. As the only daughter of one of New York’s most powerful mafia dons, she knows she can’t refuse. It’s her duty, and she would never dishonor her beloved father.


But the man she’s promised to is a monster. And there is nothing but torture, pain, and heartache lying in wait.


So, she grabs happiness when she finds it—in the somewhat reluctant arms of Leonardo Messina.


Leo is her brother’s best friend. A soldato for the Mazzone famiglia. A man with strong ambition and an even stronger resolve. He won’t allow them to give in to temptation, so Natalia is forced to love him from afar.


Until one forbidden night changes everything, and she readily hands Leo the key to her heart.


Leo risked everything for the one woman he can never have. He doesn’t regret it. It saved Natalia from a life of hell, but his actions set her on a different course.


One that doesn’t involve him.


Years have passed, and his feelings remain the same. Yet he keeps his distance, dedicating himself to his new role as underboss to Bennett Mazzone, while the love of his life is married to another man.


Until a twist of fate puts Natalia in his path again, and this time, he is powerless to resist.


Pre-order coming soon! 


Add to Goodreads→ https://bit.ly/3lo6acX


Be notified FIRST when Forbidden to Love is live→ http://smarturl.it/KennedyBoysList



About Siobhan

Siobhan Davis Kindle Crack Book Reviews


Siobhan Davis is a USA Today, Wall Street Journal and Amazon Top 10 bestselling romance author. Siobhan writes emotionally intense stories with swoon-worthy romance, complex characters, and tons of unexpected plot twists and turns that will have you flipping the pages beyond bedtime! She has sold over 1.5 million books and her titles are translated into several languages. 


Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Siobhan forged a successful corporate career in human resource management. 


She lives in the Garden County of Ireland with her husband and two sons. 


 

Connect with Siobhan


Subscribe to romance newsletter:http://smarturl.it/KennedyBoysList

Amazon Author Page:http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisAmazon 

Website: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisWebsite 

Goodreads:http://smarturl.it/SiobhanGoodreads

Facebook page:http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisFacebook 

Facebook group: https://smarturl.it/SiobhanSquad

Instagram: https://smarturl.it/SiobhanInstagram

TikTok:https://www.tiktok.com/@siobhandavisauthor

BookBub:http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisBookbub 

Skimlinks Test