google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html KCBR Blog - Best new romance books
Showing posts with label Best new romance books. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Best new romance books. Show all posts
Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Review: Pieces of a Life by Jewel E. Ann

Pieces of a Life, part one in an all-new duet in the Life series by Jewel E. Ann is now live!  Check out my spoiler-free review of this one-of-a-kind romance book below.

Pieces of a Life by Jewel E. Ann on Kindle Crack

Synopsis:

The summer before fourth grade, Colten Mosley moved into the house across the street from mine, and we became inseparable. 

 

He played the piano and baseball. 

I had a penchant for dead things while at the same time imagining what it would be like to kiss Colten. 

We were filled with curiosity and overly active imaginations. 

 

We were also forbidden to be more than friends. 

But that didn't stop us.

 

Weeks before graduation, he annihilated my heart, and it's been seventeen years since the day I knew I'd hate him forever. 

 

Now he's back in my life—a single dad and a homicide detective looking over my shoulder while I perform autopsies as one of Chicago's most gifted forensic pathologists. Then fate throws us a curveball.

 

Colten saves my life, but he can't erase the images that now keep me awake at night. And I can't explain them. 

 

Am I still the girl he's always loved? Or nothing more than pieces of that life? 

BUY LINKS:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3tDNXNm


Apple Books: https://apple.co/3NY3pfG


Nook: https://bit.ly/3HsRjsg


Kobo: https://bit.ly/3LcDFLP


Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3tdytQ1


SPOILER-FREE REVIEW:

Pieces of a Life (Colten & Josie #1; Life #3)Pieces of a Life by Jewel E. Ann
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Pieces of a Life ( The Life Duet, Book 1) by Jewel E. Ann stole a piece of my heart. I had to force myself put this book down at 4 am to get some much-needed sleep. PoaL is the first book in The Life Duet. This enemies-to-lovers duet was literally unputdownable. I’m not going to regurgitate the synopsis nor say much about this book, as I want to keep my thoughts spoiler-free. I hope readers go in blind as I did and experience this story.

Childhood friends Colton and Josephine have a complicated and tumultuous relationship that Jewel weaves from the past to the present day without skipping a beat. This book ends with a well-placed cliffhanger that has a little supernatural vibe. I’m counting down the days until I can read Memories of a Life (The Life Duet, Book 2), which releases on September 27th. This book is absolute Kindle Crack! 

MEET JEWEL:
Author Jewel E. Ann Photo Kindle Crack
Jewel is a Wall Street Journal & USA Today bestselling author with a quirky sense of humor. When she's not saving the planet one tree at a time, you can find her role modeling questionable behavior to her three boys, binge-watching Netflix with her husband, and writing mind-bending romance. 
Sunday, August 21, 2022

New Romance Book Review: Moody by Penelope Ward is LIVE!

Check out my spoiler-free review of Moody by Penelope Ward.  This new standalone romance book is on my Best of 2022 book list! You are going to love Dax and Wren.

Moody by Penelope Ward Book Cover Kindle Crack

Title: Moody

Author: Penelope Ward

Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance

Release Date: August 22, 2022

Cover Design: Letitia Hasser, RBA Designs

Photographer: Leda & St. Jacques

Model: Philippe Leblond

Release Date: August 22, 2022

Excerpt: https://bit.ly/MoodyExcerpt



 

BLURB

 

From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Ward, comes a new standalone novel.

 

The day I showed up to Dax Moody’s sprawling home, I had no idea what was coming.

As a traveling massage therapist, I was used to entering the houses of strangers.

But this assignment was different from any before it.

From the outside, I’d correctly assumed the owner was rich. What I didn’t realize was that he would be younger than I’d imagined, single, stunningly gorgeous, and mysterious.

Despite the fact that Dax had booked a massage, it never actually happened, since our first appointment was unexpectedly cut short by a comedy of errors.

Certain I’d never see him again after that day, I’d done nothing but think about the captivating man.

To my surprise, he called a second time. That appointment, we talked a lot, developing a stronger connection. But once again, there was no actual massage.

The man I now affectionately called “Moody” kept calling me to come back.

It took three times before I finally gave him the massage he’d ordered. Let’s just say it was challenging to keep things professional. I was extremely attracted to Dax, and by that time, I was falling hard.

Eventually, I’d find out why he’d been so aloof, the reason why he and I could never be together.

Our story was supposed to end there, but it didn’t.

Instead, I was left perpetually longing for a forbidden man.


BUY LINKS: Live early on Amazon! 

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3whrEPa

Paperback: https://amzn.to/3T5Gou8

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3aKgUBk

Audible: https://amzn.to/3wl1ydR

B&N: https://bit.ly/3A1i6IT

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3pwa1qJ

Google Play: https://bit.ly/3C7pMMm

 

 

GOODREADS LINK: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/61440501

 

BOOKBUB LINK: https://www.bookbub.com/books/moody-by-penelope-ward


READ AN EXCERPT: https://bit.ly/MoodyExcerpt

 

Spoiler-free Review of Moody

MoodyMoody by Penelope Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Moody by Penelope Ward video review edit Kindle Crack
I was in such a bad place before I picked up Moody by Penelope Ward. My poor dog isn't well, and I didn't think I could concentrate on a book (even a new book from one of my all-time favorite authors). I decided to try and take my mind off things and dive into this angsty forbidden romance. Well, I'm happy to say that Moody was the best mood booster ever. There is nothing like the power of an addictive and unputdownable book.   Penelope Ward cranked up the heat factor, making Moody one of her spiciest books to date. You guys are going to fall in love with Dax and Wren. I think my Kindle is still smoldering from Dax and Wren's nuclear connection. My heart is full of the feels after devouring this book. Moody had the perfect balance of heat and heart, making this one of Penelope's most captivating books. Please go into this one blind and avoid reviews that might spoil the smart plot twists and turns. Moody is not only on my Best of 2022 list; it's one of this summer's hottest reads! 


AUTHOR BIO

 

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance.

 

She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism.

 

With over two million books sold, she is a 21-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over thirty books. Her novels have been translated into over a dozen languages and can be found in bookstores around the world.

 

 

AUTHOR LINKS

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/penelopewardauthor

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/PenelopesPeeps

Instagram: http://instagram.com/PenelopeWardAuthor

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@penelopewardofficial

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PenelopeAuthor

 



Thursday, August 18, 2022

Excerpt Reveal: Moody by Penelope Ward

Read an excerpt from Moody by Penelope Ward.   Moody is not only on my Best of 2022 list; it's one of this summer's hottest reads! Moody is a standalone forbidden romance.

Moody by Penelope Ward Kindle Crack

Title: Moody

Author: Penelope Ward

Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance

Release Date: August 22, 2022

 

BLURB

 

From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Ward, comes a new standalone novel.

 

The day I showed up to Dax Moody’s sprawling home, I had no idea what was coming.

As a traveling massage therapist, I was used to entering the houses of strangers.

But this assignment was different from any before it.

From the outside, I’d correctly assumed the owner was rich. What I didn’t realize was that he would be younger than I’d imagined, single, stunningly gorgeous, and mysterious.

Despite the fact that Dax had booked a massage, it never actually happened, since our first appointment was unexpectedly cut short by a comedy of errors.

Certain I’d never see him again after that day, I’d done nothing but think about the captivating man.

To my surprise, he called a second time. That appointment, we talked a lot, developing a stronger connection. But once again, there was no actual massage.

The man I now affectionately called “Moody” kept calling me to come back.

It took three times before I finally gave him the massage he’d ordered. Let’s just say it was challenging to keep things professional. I was extremely attracted to Dax, and by that time, I was falling hard.

Eventually, I’d find out why he’d been so aloof, the reason why he and I could never be together.

Our story was supposed to end there, but it didn’t.

Instead, I was left perpetually longing for a forbidden man.

 

 

GOODREADS LINK: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/61440501

 

BOOKBUB LINK: https://www.bookbub.com/books/moody-by-penelope-ward

 

 

PRE-ORDER LINKS


Apple Books: https://apple.co/3aKgUBk

Paperback: https://amzn.to/3uSD8Yn

B&N: https://bit.ly/3A1i6IT

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3pwa1qJ

Google Play: https://bit.ly/3C7pMMm

Audible: https://adbl.co/3waGuqo

Amazon Audio: https://amzn.to/3c4KB0A

Paperback: https://amzn.to/3uNMnsY

 

Sign up to be alerted when it goes live on Amazon here: https://fave.co/2KoLPUN

**No Amazon e-book preorder. Will go live on/around release day.

 

 

EXCERPT

 

Copyright © 2022 Penelope Ward

 

“What do you do exactly?”

“I…stand beside you and rub my hands into your skin and work to get some of the knots out of your muscles.”

He shook his head. “No. I meant, what do you do? Is this your full-time gig?”

Is that an insult? “Yes. I went to school for massage after college, and I make a good living. Being a massage therapist is not something you do on the side. It’s a great, fulfilling career in and of itself,” I said defensively.

“I didn’t mean to imply it wasn’t.” He fidgeted with his watch, which looked like it cost more than my car.

I blew out a breath. “I do have other aspirations, but this pays the bills and allows me to put some money away, too. I’m currently saving for a trip to Europe.”

“I see.” He stared out the window, almost looking as though he wanted to escape.

What’s with this guy? “Look...I can leave if you’re not comfortable.”

“No.” He walked over to a cabinet and took out a bottle of some kind of liquor. “I just need something to take the edge off.” He poured himself a glass of amber-colored liquid.

I stared at his big, masculine hands. “Well, this is a first.”

“A first what?” he asked.

“The first time a client has ever had to relax before a relaxing massage.” When I laughed, I accidentally snorted.

His eyes narrowed. “What the hell was that?”

“Sorry. I didn’t mean to snort. That happens sometimes when I’m nervous. It just comes out.”

“Why are you nervous?”

“Maybe your attitude is rubbing off on me.”

He chugged the alcohol and slammed the glass down. “I’m sorry. I don’t know how to relax. It’s my nature. Even when I’m supposed to be freaking relaxing...the thought of relaxing stresses me out.”

I nodded. “That’s actually a real thing. It’s called relaxation-induced anxiety.”

He chuckled. “Thanks for the diagnosis.”

“I used to be like you. I’d get panic attacks from the quiet when I tried to meditate.”

He licked the side of his mouth. “I suppose that defeats the purpose.”

“Exactly. And sitting still, like in the hair salon or dentist’s chair, used to make me panicky when I was younger.”

“Younger? You’re pretty young. How long have you been doing this massage thing?” he asked.

“A couple of years.”

“What made you get into it?”

“I wanted to make people feel good. And it doesn’t bore me. I never have to be in one place.”

“Does it pay well? How much of the fee do you get to keep?”

My eyes narrowed. “You ask a lot of questions.”

“Well, maybe I need to get comfortable with you before I let you put your hands all over me.”

For some reason that comment rubbed me the wrong way. Let me put my hands on him? As if it was a privilege? (As if he could read my mind and sense my attraction? Ugh.)

I raised my voice. “I thought you told the company someone recommended me. Why are you so apprehensive?”

“Okay.” He sighed, scrubbing his hand over his face. “Let’s get this over with. What do I do?”

Jesus. He’s wound tight. “Take off your shirt and lie down on the table. You can leave your pants on or take them off.”

He let out a guttural laugh. “Take my pants off?”

“Yes. That’s actually customary. But it’s always the client’s choice. I can leave the room, if you wish, while you undress. There’s a towel to cover yourself. But you can totally leave your pants on, too.”

“I will be leaving my pants on, thanks.”

“Okay. Just make sure you take the stick out of your ass one way or the other.”

He glared at me but finally cracked a slight smile. I’d take it.

I laughed. “In all seriousness, just breathe. That’s all you need to worry about.” I took a deep breath in, willing myself to take my own advice.

Dax slowly pulled his shirt over his head, once again granting me a view of his rippled muscles. There wasn’t an inch of anything soft on his body. I turned away suddenly when I caught my eyes lingering a little too long.

He then lay down stomach-first on the table and within seconds, I heard the pitter-patter of paws and the clanking of a metal collar coming from down the hall.

A large English sheepdog pushed through the door and entered the room, barking profusely at the sight of me. Then he jumped up on the table and landed on Dax’s back.

“Damn it, Winston!” Dax yelled.

I didn’t even know a dog that big could jump so high. The dog shot me the evil eye. This house is just full of welcoming people.

“Hello,” I said awkwardly.

He growled. It seemed Doggy was just as extra as his owner.

“Get off me, you fluffernutter!” Dax groaned.

The dog kept growling at me while I covered my mouth to keep from laughing. “Why is he so angry?” I asked, trying to stifle my amusement.

“He’s protective to a fault. He was napping upstairs when you arrived. I hoped he’d stay sleeping. I hadn’t planned on him coming down, although I should’ve.”

Dax sat up and somehow got the beast of a dog off him. He hopped down off the table. “I’ll be right back,” he said, guiding Winston out of the room and down the hall. The sound of the collar disappeared into the distance.

Left alone for a moment, I exhaled and wandered over to a shelf that displayed various things, including a large, white seashell that seemed completely out of place, given the room’s otherwise masculine vibe. It was beautiful. Remembering what my mother had told me when I was little, I lifted the shell and placed it against my ear in an attempt to hear “the ocean.” Met with the ambient noise that resonated from within, I closed my eyes and smiled.

“Please don’t touch that,” Dax called from behind me.

Shaken by his abrupt tone, I jerked, and the shell slipped from my fingers and crashed to the ground. 

He let out a jarring shriek.

My hands shook. “I’m so sorry... I...” I bent to clean up the pieces, but he bolted to stop me.

“Don’t touch anything!” His tone was grating.

“Why? It’s my fault,” I insisted.

“Please just get up,” he commanded in an even harsher tone.

Burning with embarrassment, I stared down at the mess. That’s when I realized something had fallen out of the shell.

 

 

AUTHOR BIO

 

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance.

 

She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism.

 

With over two million books sold, she is a 21-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over thirty books. Her novels have been translated into over a dozen languages and can be found in bookstores around the world.

 

 

AUTHOR LINKS

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/penelopewardauthor

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/PenelopesPeeps

Instagram: http://instagram.com/PenelopeWardAuthor

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@penelopewardofficial

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PenelopeAuthor

 

 

OTHER BOOKS BY PENELOPE WARD

 

The Assignment

 

US: https://amzn.to/3QRlX20

UK: https://amzn.to/3z8kP3Z

CA: https://amzn.to/3aP8EzI

AU: https://amzn.to/3cnJwkk

B&N: https://bit.ly/3s8fBle

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3p4M3mO

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3ntne3e

Google Play: https://bit.ly/3IdIAd5

Audio: https://amzn.to/3uLX2Ft

 

The Aristocrat

 

US: https://amzn.to/3Apt6Bp

UK: https://amzn.to/3js1bYR

CA: https://amzn.to/3kIPGMq

AU: https://amzn.to/3mPEkZt

B&N: https://bit.ly/3D3qKHK

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3AQ5hjs

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3iigYYL

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2XB7QaN

Audio: https://adbl.co/3g9L7Jh

 

The Anti-Boyfriend

 

US: https://amzn.to/3AtXB96

UK: https://amzn.to/3lBeoho

CA: https://amzn.to/3lyC2ek

AU: https://amzn.to/31HFHyl

B&N: https://bit.ly/3jbsTX7

Kobo: https://bit.ly/32hslrV

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3j9rGQC

Google Books: https://bit.ly/2EpJYgX

Audio: https://adbl.co/3l3jjr6

 

See more books here: http://penelopewardauthor.com/books

 

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Review: Hidden Waters by Catherine Cowles

Hidden Waters by Catherine Cowles is LIVE! Check out my spoiler-free book review of the third installment in the Torn and Tattered series. 

Hidden Waters by Catherine Cowles ebook
"Addie and Beckett's story is heart-achingly beautiful—Hidden Waters is another must-read from Catherine Cowles!— Samantha Young, New York Times Bestselling author.

Synopsis: 

Hidden Waters, an all-new moving and passionate roommates to lovers, small-town romance from bestselling author Catherine Cowles, is available now!


My family tried to break me. But, somehow, I made it out alive, even though the wounds from that survival are forever carved into my bones. Now, my only wish is for…normal. To know what it's like to have friends, a job, a home.


The last thing I want is for my new roommate to see the scars I'm so desperate to keep hidden, especially not the ruggedly handsome man who steals my breath and sends my heart into overdrive.


But something tells me that Beckett has demons, too. I see it in the shadows haunting his gorgeous eyes and the way he looks at me with gentle understanding.


As our unlikely friendship becomes so much more, forces from my life slink out of the shadows. And we could both lose everything we've fought so hard for—down to our very last breaths…


Grab your copy today! 

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3bjfsWs

Audible: https://amzn.to/3b40Qdd

Nook: https://bit.ly/3y8GQPV Coming Soon

Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/HiddenWaters 

Apple Books: https://apple.co/3bhzNLK

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3n1xfUG

Google Play: https://geni.us/HddnWtrsGooglePlay 


Spoiler-free Review of Hidden Waters

Hidden Waters (Tattered & Torn #3)Hidden Waters by Catherine Cowles
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5 Hidden Waters by Catherine Cowles is the third book in The Tattered & Torn Series. This book focuses on Addie and Beckett. Addie escaped her father's violent extremist group and is working hard to assimilate and live a normal life in Wolf Gap. Addie meets Beckett, who becomes her new housemate. Beckett moved back to Wolf Gap to face his demons and renew family ties. The two help each other move on from their dark pasts to find a bright future.
This slow-burning, small-town romantic suspense was heartfelt and hard to put down. I'm looking forward to reading Shattered Sea (The Tattered & Torn Series #4) when it releases on September 13th. This emotion-packed series of interconnected standalones is not to be missed.

About Catherine Cowles

Catherine Cowles author photo image
Writer of words. Drinker of Diet Cokes. Lover of all things cute and furry, especially her dog. Catherine has had her nose in a book since the time she could read and finally decided to write down some of her own stories. When she's not writing she can be found exploring her home state of Oregon, listening to true crime podcasts, or searching for her next book boyfriend.


Connect with Catherine 

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2IEQXSw 

Facebook: http://bit.ly/2Lc4mU0 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/catherinecowles 

Pinterest: http://bit.ly/2RFY7Jv 

Instagram: http://bit.ly/31TE3rJ

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2xdUZLn

BookBub: http://bit.ly/2J3dWWF

Website: https://www.catherinecowles.com/

Stay up to date with Catherine by joining her mail list: http://bit.ly/2JZE0DH


Monday, June 20, 2022

Book Review: Someone Else’s Shadow by Monica James

Someone Else’s Shadow by Monica James is LIVE!.  Check out my spoiler-free book review of this standalone romantic suspense thriller. 

Someone Else’s Shadow by Monica James Kindle Book
Synopsis:

My name is Peyton Lane, and I have no idea who I am.

Six months ago, I woke from a coma with no recollection of anybody, anything.

My family tells me that I’m a good woman, that I’m loved. It seems I’ve lived a full, rewarding life, but I would give all of it up in a heartbeat to remember who I was.

My mind is a blank slate. Every moment in time wiped clean.

But there is one thing I can remember, something I haven’t dared to tell anyone about—a mysterious oak tree, a red ribbon, and a vision of drowning.

I know the answers I seek lie buried at the bottom of a lake. And that’s why I’m here in South Carolina. The memory I have is something I witnessed…

So I wonder what it would feel like to remember…remember who I was, but more importantly, remember what I did.

  

BUY LINKS:

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3wpP582

Nook: https://bit.ly/3wnQ1JW

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3Pr6CoU

Apple: https://apple.co/3lcMDMP

Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/mr2hfdjp

BookBub: https://tinyurl.com/54kvapdd

Australia 

Kindle: https://tinyurl.com/6u8dw2ye

 

Someone Else’s Shadow Playlist: https://tinyurl.com/5n9y6ywt


Review of Someone Else's Shadow 


Someone Else's ShadowSomeone Else's Shadow by Monica James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Omg, what did I just read?
Someone Else's Shadow by Monica James is perfection. This multilayered romantic suspense was filled with some well-placed twists and turns, making this book unputdownable. I literally couldn't read this book fast enough. I won't forget this unique memory loss romance any time soon, and neither will you. Don't forget to one-click it on June 20th. Someone Else's Shadow is on my Best of 2022 book list.

Bio

Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.

When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 

She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.

Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

 

Stalk Me

Website: authormonicajames.com

Facebook: facebook.com/authormonicajames

Twitter: twitter.com/monicajames81

Goodreads: goodreads.com/MonicaJames

Instagram: instagram.com/authormonicajames

Pinterest: pinterest.com/monicajames81

BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS

Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi

Skimlinks Test