google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html KCBR Blog - Emma Scott
Showing posts with label Emma Scott. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Emma Scott. Show all posts
Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Cover Reveal: Between Hello and Goodbye by Emma Scott

 From USA Today and Wall St. Journal bestselling author Emma Scott comes a brand-new contemporary romance—an angsty, emotional love story between a grumpy firefighter who thinks he has his life figured out and a beautiful ad exec whose life is anything but.  Check out the cover + synopsis for Between Hello and Goodbye.  6/26 release.

Between Hello and Goodbye by Emma Scott book cover

Synopsis:


She's a city girl in Seattle. He's a firefighter in a rainforest. This is never going to work...
 
Faith Benson isn't your emergency contact, she's the party-girl friend you call for a good time. The gal-pal who loves mimosas at brunch and martinis at Happy Hour. But her carefree lifestyle threatens her job at a top Seattle ad agency. There's no one better at landing big accounts (when she shows up) but her boss demands she take a leave of absence to get her head on straight.
 
Faith heads to the remote Hawaiian island of Kauai, far away from the vices that get her in trouble. A twisted ankle on Day One requires rescuing by a man who is vice personified—a gorgeous firefighter who awakens feelings in her heart she never knew existed.
 
Asher Mackey doesn't get involved with beautiful tourists beyond taking them to bed and then watching them leave his tiny island. He's devoted his life to the safety and care of everyone around him...except himself. Until he meets Faith Benson, the city girl whose vibrant, inner beauty shines a light on the dark corners of his life, showing him how safe—but empty—it truly is.
 
Despite their best efforts to keep their distance, Faith and Asher fall hard and fast, but there's an ocean between them. Both are building their lives on opposite sides of the Pacific while their feelings for each other grow more profound and undeniable by the day.
 
Something has to give.
 
When Asher receives devastating news, he and Faith have to decide once and for all to entrust their hearts fully to the other or return to their safe—but separate—worlds. Because neither can endure much longer, living somewhere between hello and goodbye.

Between Hello and Goodbye is a contemporary romance about love, loss, and experiencing life in all its facets. It deals with sensitive topics that may be triggering for some readers.



Pre-order today on Amazon!

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3MGvfwp

Amazon Worldwide: https://amzn.to/39WlsUb


Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3Fobd6P

Monday, August 16, 2021

The Sinner by Emma Scott is LIVE! New PNR Review

The Sinner by Emma Scott is now live!  From USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, Emma Scott, comes an emotional paranormal love story of passion, sacrifice, and the soul-deep love of a lifetime...more than one.  Check out my spoiler-free review below.  You can read The Sinner for FREE using Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited. 


The Sinner by Emma Scott Book Cover
Synopsis: 

Shy, introverted Lucy Dennings lives a quiet little life in New York City, working for a nonprofit and keeping to herself. Every afternoon, she goes home to her empty apartment and Edgar, her houseplant, and every night, she loses herself in the pages of her beloved romance novels. Her lonely heart seeks solace in tales of passionate, enduring, all-consuming love, but more and more, Lucy feels she's not just reading for pleasure but searching for a lost piece of herself in the pages. As if she once touched something beautiful but it's been ripped away. 


Until one day Lucy discovers a dead body in the alley behind her apartment. Even if it's too late, her first instinct is to help. 


Her second is to run. 


Because the dead body isn't so very dead, and suddenly, her little world isn't so little but one in which dreams feel like memories, "inner demons" actually lurk in dark alleys, and a beautiful creature of darkness with amber eyes and wings like night might hold the key to what her heart has been aching for...if she doesn't fall down the path of eternal damnation first. 


Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited  

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3iNQlwb

Amazon Worldwide:  https://amzn.to/3AGBHNa

Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3gsEfHZ

 Spoiler-free Review

The SinnerThe Sinner by Emma Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5

The Sinner by Emma Scott Video Teaser Kindle Crack

I don’t read many paranormal romances, but when I heard that Emma Scott was writing a book featuring angels and demons, it was a no-brainer to read this one. I love her books and jumped at the chance to read her first PNR story. 

The Sinner was a unique love story about soul mates that transcends time. Emma delivered an emotion-packed story that brilliantly wove flashbacks from the past to bring this story full circle. There are second chance love stories, and then there is The Sinner! What a dark and delicious slice of heaven and hell, sacrifice and redemption. One-click worthy. 



Sunday, March 7, 2021

Review: The Last Piece of His Heart by Emma Scott is LIVE!

The Last Piece of His Heart by Emma Scott is now live! 

From USA Today and Wall St. Journal bestselling author, Emma Scott, comes the third and final novel in the Lost Boys series--a gritty, angsty love story about two lost souls searching for their place in the world, and what it means to be truly found.  Check out my spoiler-free review below.  Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited.   

The Last Piece of His Heart book cover
Try Kindle Unlimited FREE for a month: https://amzn.to/37X9C8v

Buy Links:

Amazon US:  https://amzn.to/3canuhc

Amazon Worldwide: https://amzn.to/3canuhc

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3oBtMKS


Synopsis:

At Santa Cruz Central High School, they called them the misfits, the outcasts, the weirdos. But most of us knew them as the Lost Boys...

Ronan Wentz has been to hell and back, and he carries the scars to prove it. Worse, the blood of a monster runs through his veins. After ten years in foster care, eighteen-year-old Ronan is finally reunited with family. His uncle gives him a roof over his head and puts him to work, managing a shabby apartment complex in Santa Cruz, California.

But a second chance is still a second chance. Ronan becomes a solitary hunter, a vigilante, walking the streets at night to keep the nightmares at bay. If he can use the anger burning in his tainted blood to protect instead of hurt, maybe then he'll find the absolution he seeks.

Then he meets Shiloh.

Shiloh Barrera looks like she has it all together. Smart, ambitious and full of artistic creativity she channels into making beautiful one-of-kind jewelry. But Shiloh's cool, capable demeanor is all a front. Her demons drive her to succeed as much as her ambition. To prove her worth to the mother who can't stand to look at her, and who's harboring secrets of her own.

When Shiloh and Ronan meet, the physical attraction is instant and scorching. Neither believe it will last. Falling in love is an impossible pipe dream saved for those less shattered and damaged than they are.

But as hard as they try to resist, the growing feelings between them seem inevitable... until one terrible night destroys Shiloh's dreams and Ronan's future.  When the smoke clears, and the rubble settles, they'll have to choose - do their pasts determine their future, or can they build a new one from the broken pieces of their hearts?

Lost Boys is a new series of interconnected, coming-of-age standalones from USA Today bestselling author Emma Scott.


Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited  Try Kindle Unlimited FREE for a month: https://amzn.to/37X9C8v


Amazon US:  https://amzn.to/3canuhc

Amazon Worldwide: https://amzn.to/3canuhc

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/3oBtMKS




The Last Piece of His Heart (Lost Boys, #3)The Last Piece of His Heart by Emma Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Beyond epic! Emma Scott this book and series are incredible. My full review to follow. All of the feels!!!
UPDATE:
Emma Scott stole a piece of my heart! The Last Piece of His Heart by Emma Scott is full of the feels. Ronan, the last of the Lost Boy trio, finally gets his hard-earned HEA with Shiloh. I loved Ronan and Shiloh's story so much. Ronan and Shiloh's heavy emotional baggage from their early childhoods shaped them into the people that they are today. It's so funny that I called them people. Their story felt so real that these fictional characters became very real to me. Emma captured their passion, anguish, and love in a very a realistic way. I can't begin to tell you how much I loved this entire series. Every book in The Lost Boys series is equally addictive. From tragedy to triumph, each boy's hard-earned journey was rich with emotion and depth. All the stars to this book and this series. The Last Piece of His Heart is on my Best of 2021 list.

The Last Piece of His Heart teaser Emma Scott

Meet Emma

Emma Scott is a USA Today and Wall St. Journal bestselling author whose books have been translated in five languages and featured in Buzzfeed, Huffington Post, New York Daily News and USA Today's Happy Ever After. She writes emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy emotionally-charged stories that rip your heart out and put it back together again, with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy her novels. Visit www.emmascottwrites.com

 

RECENT RELEASES

 

Someday, Someday (M/M standalone)

 

A Five-Minute Life (standalone)

 

Bring Down the Stars (Beautiful Hearts #1)

 

Long Live the Beautiful Hearts (Beautiful Hearts #2)


Connect with Emma

Super-cute NON SPAMMY newsletter: http://bit.ly/2nTGLf6

Author page: https://www.facebook.com/EmmaScottwrites/

Reader group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/906742879369651/

Website: https://www.emmascottwrites.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10405165.Emma_Scott

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2yUnFKJ

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emmascottwrites/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EmmaS_writes

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/emma-scott

Book+Main: https://bit.ly/2ZWw91B

Sunday, September 27, 2020

REVIEW: When You Come Back to Me by Emma Scott

From USA Today bestselling author comes the second book in the Lost Boys series of interconnected standalones. When You Come Back To Me by Emma Scott is now LIVE! Check out my spoiler-free review below. You can download the ebook for FREE on Kindle Unlimited.


When You Come Back to Me by Emma Scott

Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited.

Kindle: https://amzn.to/3kQoJVs

Paperback: https://amzn.to/3j7tJV0

Amazon Worldwide: mybook.to/WYCBTM

Goodreads: https://bit.ly/WYCBTMg

Try Kindle Unlimited:  https://amzn.to/3idx3hh


From USA Today bestselling author comes the second book in the Lost Boys series of interconnected standalones. Holden and River's emotional and heart-wrenching journey to love, redemption, and their happy ever after. 


Synopsis:

At Santa Cruz Central High School, they called them the misfits, the outcasts, the weirdos. But most of us knew them as the Lost Boys...

 

Holden Parish survived his parents' horrific attempts to make him "the perfect son." After a year's stint in a Swiss sanitarium to recover, he has vowed to never let anything--or anyone--trap him again. Brilliant but broken, he seeks refuge behind alcohol, meaningless sex, and uses his wicked sense of humor to keep people away. He only has to ride out one year in the coastal town of Santa Cruz with his aunt and uncle before he inherits his billions and can make his escape. Disappear.

 

Falling in love is not in the plans.

 

River Whitmore. Star quarterback of the Central High football team, Prom King, Mr. Popular, ladies' man. He leads the perfect life...except it's all a lie. His father has River's future in the NFL all planned out, while River's dream is to run the family business in the town that he loves. But his mother's illness is tearing the family apart and River is becoming the glue that holds them together. How can he break his father's heart when it's already shattering?

 

River's carefully-crafted fa├žade explodes when he meets Holden Parish. A guy who dresses in coats and scarves year-round, drinks expensive vodka, and spends his free time breaking into houses for the fun of it. They're complete opposites. River seeks a quiet life, away from the spotlight. Holden would rather have dental surgery than settle down.

 

Holden's demons and River's responsibilities threaten to keep them apart, while their undeniable attraction crashes them together again and again, growing into something deep and real no matter how they resist.

 

Until one terrible night changes everything.

 

Lost Boys is a new series of interconnected, coming-of-age standalones from USA Today bestselling author Emma Scott, coming in 2020



Spoiler-free Review:


When You Come Back to Me (Lost Boys, #2)When You Come Back to Me by Emma Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

description

When You Come Back to Me (The Lost Boys # 2) by Emma Scott is total Kindle Crack. This coming of age m/m romance was perfection. I read this book a few days ago, and I can't seem to shake these characters. This slow-burning emotion-packed romance melted my heart.

Holden is on a downward spiral, drowning in alcohol, and bad memories. He hides behind his whip-smart sarcastic personality and warm designer clothes as trying to thaw his cold and damaged heart. River is the town's golden boy and football hero. He's struggling with the future his dad has picked for him, along with his sexual preferences. In reality, he wants to fix muscle cars and be with Holden, the boy who scored a touch down with his heart.

While this book is a standalone, it does contain a few spoilers for The Girl in the Love Song (Lost Boys #1).


Meet Emma 

Emma Scott Author image


Emma Scott is a USA Today and Wall St. Journal bestselling author whose books have been translated in five languages and featured in Buzzfeed, Huffington Post, New York Daily News and USA Today's Happy Ever After. She writes emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy emotionally-charged stories that rip your heart out and put it back together again, with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy her novels. Visit www.emmascottwrites.com


RECENT RELEASES

 

Someday, Someday (M/M standalone)

 

A Five-Minute Life (standalone)

 

Bring Down the Stars (Beautiful Hearts #1)

 

Long Live the Beautiful Hearts (Beautiful Hearts #2)

 

 

COMING SOON:

A new YA/NA series of interconnected standalones, coming in 2020

 

"At Santa Cruz Central High, we called them the misfits, the outcasts, the weirdos. But most of us knew them as the Lost Boys."

 

The Girl in the Love Song (Lost Boys #1):  https://amzn.to/2S3y9Ap

When You Come Back To Me (Lost Boys #2): https://amzn.to/2EIkiww

The Last Piece of his Heart (Lost Boys #3): http://bit.ly/2QeVlfa

 

 

You can follow me at all the places...

 

Connect with Emma

Super-cute NON SPAMMY newsletter: http://bit.ly/2nTGLf6

Author page: https://www.facebook.com/EmmaScottwrites/

Reader group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/906742879369651/

Website: https://www.emmascottwrites.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10405165.Emma_Scott

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2yUnFKJ

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emmascottwrites/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EmmaS_writes

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/emma-scott

Book+Main: https://bit.ly/2ZWw91B

Monday, June 8, 2020

Book Review: The Girl in the Love Song by Emma Scott

The Girl in the Love Song by Emma Scott is LIVE and on my Best Romance Book List for 2020.  Check out my spoiler-free below.  You can download and read the ebook for FREE using Amazon's Kindle Unlimited.  This coming-of-age romance book is perfection. 

Try Kindle Unlimited for FREE for one month: https://amzn.to/3bJ1xEu

Emma Scott Books


At Santa Cruz Central High School, they called them the misfits, the outcasts, the weirdos. But most of us knew them as the Lost Boys…

The Girl in the Love Song, book one in the Lost Boys, an interconnected coming-of-age series of standalones, from USA Today bestselling author Emma Scott, is live!


Miller Stratton is a survivor. After a harrowing childhood of poverty, he will do anything it takes to find security for himself and his mom. He’s putting all his hopes and dreams in the fragile frame of his guitar and the beauty he creates with its strings and his soulful voice. 

Until Violet. 

No one expects to meet the love of their life at age thirteen. But the spunky rich girl steals Miller’s heart and refuses to give it back. 

Violet McNamara’s life hasn’t been as simple as it looks. Her picture-perfect family is not so perfect after all. Her best friend Miller is her one constant and she is determined not to ruin their friendship with romantic complications. 

But the heart wants what it wants. As Miller’s star begins to rise to stratospheric heights, what will it take for Violet to realize that she’s the girl in all of his love songs?

The Girl in the Love Song features two original songs written by Emma herself.

Review of The Girl in the Love Song
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
description

The Girl in the Love Song by Emma Scott rocked my heart and soul. All the stars for this coming-of-age -romance. Every character in the first book in the Lost Boys series was fantastic, and I can’t wait to read River, Holden, and Ronan’s and stories. Can I pre-order the next two standalones in this series? Here, take my money!

Download today or read for free in Kindle Unlimited!

Try Kindle Unlimited for FREE for one month: https://amzn.to/3bJ1xEu
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2MLnYhU

About Emma:
Author Emma Scott

Emma Scott is an internationally bestselling author whose books have been featured in Buzzfeed, Huffington Post, New York Daily News and USA Today's Happy Ever After. She writes emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy emotionally-charged stories that rip your heart out and put it back together again, with diverse characters and heroes with a heart of gold, you will enjoy her novels.


Connect with Emma:
Amazon author link: https://amzn.to/2yUnFKJ
Facebook: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottFB
Reader group: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottEntourage
Bookbub: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottBB
Instagram: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottIG
Twitter: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottTW
Stay up to date with Emma by joining her mailing list: 
 http://bit.ly/2nTGLf6 
Monday, May 4, 2020

COVER REVEAL + $50 Amazon Gift Card- New from Emma Scott

I can’t wait to start this new series by Emma Scott.  Check out The Girl in the Love Song  (Lost Boys #1) and enter for a chance to snag a $50 Amazon gift card.


At Santa Cruz Central High School, they called them the misfits, the outcasts, the weirdos. But most of us knew them as the Lost Boys…


The Girl in the Love Song, book one in the Lost Boys, an interconnected coming-of-age series of standalones, from USA Today Bestselling author Emma Scott releases on June 7, 2020!

Cover Designer: Lori Jackson 

Miller Stratton is a survivor. After a harrowing childhood of poverty, he will do anything it takes to find security for himself and his mom. He’s putting all his hopes and dreams in the fragile frame of his guitar and the beauty he creates with its strings and his soulful voice. 

Until Violet. 

No one expects to meet the love of their life at age thirteen. But the spunky rich girl steals Miller’s heart and refuses to give it back. 

Violet McNamara’s life hasn’t been as simple as it looks. Her picture-perfect family is not so perfect after all. Her best friend Miller is her one constant and she is determined not to ruin their friendship with romantic complications. 

But the heart wants what it wants. As Miller’s star begins to rise to stratospheric heights, what will it take for Violet to realize that she’s the girl in all of his love songs?



Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2MLnYhU

Enter to win a $50 Amazon gift card: https://bit.ly/TGITLSCoverGive


Author photo

About Emma:

Emma Scott is an internationally bestselling author whose books have been featured in Buzzfeed, Huffington Post, New York Daily News and USA Today's Happy Ever After. She writes emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy emotionally-charged stories that rip your heart out and put it back together again, with diverse characters and heroes with a heart of gold, you will enjoy her novels.

Connect with Emma:
Amazon author link: https://amzn.to/2yUnFKJ
Facebook: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottFB
Reader group: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottEntourage
Bookbub: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottBB
Instagram: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottIG
Twitter: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottTW
Stay up to date with Emma by joining her mailing list: http://bit.ly/2nTGLf6 
Monday, November 25, 2019

REVIEW: Someday, Someday by Emma Scott is Live!!

Someday, Someday by Emma Scott is LIVE!  This new heartfelt,  gay romance is not to be missed. You can read it for FREE on Amazon's Kindle Unlimited. 


mm romance book

How long would you wait for true love?

Someday, Someday, an all-new standalone romance by International bestselling author Emma Scott, is live!


Max Kaufman was kicked out of his home as a teen and his life has been an uphill battle ever since. From addiction and living on the streets, to recovery and putting himself through nursing school, he’s spent the last ten years rebuilding his shattered sense of self. Now he’s taken a job as a private caretaker to Edward Marsh III, the president and CEO of one of the largest pharmaceutical companies in the world. Max soon learns Marsh’s multi-billion-dollar empire is a gold and diamond-encrusted web of secrets and lies. 

The longer Max works and lives with the Marsh family, the tighter the secrets tangle around him. And his heart—that he’s worked so hard to protect—falls straight into the hands of the distant, cold, and beautiful son of a dynasty… 

Silas Marsh is set to inherit the family fortune, but his father is determined his heir be the “perfect” son. Before Silas can take over the company and end its shady business practices, he must prove himself worthy…and deny his true nature. 

Silas must choose: stand up to his father by being true to himself and his undeniable feelings for Max. Or pretend to be someone he is not in order to inherit everything. Even if it means sacrificing a chance at happiness and real love. 

Download your copy today or read for free in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon Worldwide: https://fave.co/35C5qrj
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2nUBqGt

Review of Someday, Someday

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
4.5 This m/m romance was beautifully written. If you're curious and thinking about "dipping your toe" in the m/m gay romance genre, this is absolutely the book to read. If you are a seasoned m/m romance reader, you will be equally enraptured by this emotionally driven story. I think Emma did a terrific job tackling the intense family dynamics the two men shared. This love story is not to be missed! one-click worthy. 

About Emma:

Emma Scott is an internationally bestselling author whose books have been featured in Buzzfeed, Huffington Post, New York Daily News and USA Today's Happy Ever After. She writes emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy emotionally-charged stories that rip your heart out and put it back together again, with diverse characters and heroes with a heart of gold, you will enjoy her novels.


Connect with Emma:
SS buy links: https://amzn.to/2QoxQRa
Amazon author link: https://amzn.to/2yUnFKJ
Stay up to date with Emma by joining her mailing list: 
 http://bit.ly/2nTGLf6 
Facebook: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottFB
Reader group: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottEntourage
Bookbub: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottBB
Instagram: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottIG
Twitter: http://bit.ly/EmmaScottTW


Monday, May 20, 2019

New Release Review: A Five-Minute Life by Emma Scott


A Five-Minute Life, an all-new standalone new adult romance by International bestselling author Emma Scott is Live! Check out my spoiler-free book review and read an excerpt. Download your copy today or Read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!
Amazon Book Review:

Synopsis:
Thea Hughes has five minutes to live.  

A car accident stole her parents and left her with the second-worst documented case of amnesia in the world. She now has only minutes of experiences, of consciousness, of life…before her memory is wiped clean. The once effervescent artist with a promising future is reduced to scribbling with pens and paper, living an empty, quiet life, three hundred seconds at a time. 

Jim Whelan is on autopilot. 

A foster kid shuffled around the system since birth, he’s lived his entire life without knowing love…and it’s taken its toll—until he learned to fight back, carry his armor, and keep his head down. 

Working as an orderly in the Blue Ridge Sanitarium, deep in Virginia countryside, Jim looked up…and found Thea.

When Thea has the chance to break free of her five-minute prison with a risky, experimental surgery, it could lead them both to an epic love they never thought possible… or one that could require the ultimate sacrifice.

A stand-alone, new adult romance.

Download your copy today or Read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!
Amazon Worldwide: mybook.to/AFiveMinuteLife
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2DlYSRY

Review of A Five-Minute Life
A Five-Minute LifeA Five-Minute Life by Emma   Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My daughter couldn’t sleep and crawled into bed next to me just as I finished A Five Minute Life, by Emma Scott. I was stuffed up and teary-eyed, and she asked me if my allergies were acting up. I told her, “No, I’m fine, it’s the book.” I explained how beautiful and heartfelt this book was. “So, you like to read books that make you cry?” she said. “Only exceptional ones make me feel like this,” I explained. She stole my pillow and probably eye-rolled at me lol. I know one day she’ll understand what it’s like to read a book that's so touching and full of the feels. A Five Minute Life is going to get imprinted on your heart and soul. One-click one of my top reads of the year when it releases on 5/16. 



Excerpt:
“Marc Antony,” I said and nodded at her drawing. “Part of your Egyptian studies?”
Thea leaned her cheek on her folded hands like she was warming herself before a fire. “Marc Antony is part of the romance. A love story with Cleopatra. He went to war for her. Died for her. When they told her he was dead, she put her hand in a basket with an asp. Can you imagine? Loving someone so much that the thought of life without them is too unbearable?”
“No,” I said. “I can’t.”
Her gaze dropped to my hand on the table and her fingers reached to trace the scars on my knuckles. 
These tell a story, don’t they?” She traced one of the fine lines. “You put your hand in with the snakes, too.”
I nodded slowly, savoring the feel of her warm skin on mine. “So the bullies would leave me alone.”
“And did they?”
“Eventually.”
“I’m glad.” She put her hand in mine completely, her fingers wrapping around and holding tight. “I’m being too… something. Personal. Delia would throw a fit, but I feel like…”
“Like what, Thea?”
“Like I have to hold on to this moment, you know? Or you… I don’t even know you and yet I don’t want to stop talking to you.” Her hand squeezed mine. “I don’t care if you have a stutter, but please keep talking to me, Jimmy. Okay?”
My mouth went dry at the nameless desperation in her eyes.
Jesus, does she know she’s trapped? She can’t. Impossible…
 “I won’t,” I said. “I’ll talk to you every day. I promise.”
Thea breathed a small sigh of relief and released my hand. “Thank you, Jimmy. That makes me feel better.”
With a final smile—a parting smile, I realized—she took up her pen and then froze.
She’s resetting.
Confusion passed over her features. She looked up at me, flinching a little to see a big man in close proximity. I instantly leaned back to give her space.

“How long has it been?” she asked.
“Two years,” I said, my voice hardly more than a whisper. “But the doctors are working on your case.”
“Yes, they are.” She smiled hesitantly and found my nametag. “I’m Thea Hughes.”
Seven. Seven times now.
“Jim Whelan,” I said.
She offered her hand. Again. I took it robotically, enduring her one-pump shake. Again. Her fingers didn’t linger in mine but released immediately, the way you do with a stranger. Again. 
“Nice to meet you, Jim Whelan.”
Fuck. I can’t do this.
I rose to my feet. “I have to get to work.”
Her face fell. “Oh. Bummer. Will I see you again?”
I could promise her I would, but she wouldn’t remember. There was no promise. I could tell her the sky was falling or my name was Abraham Lincoln and she wouldn’t know the damn difference. It’d vanish, like every other word we’d ever spoken to each other. I vanished every time her reset hit and was recreated over again in Thea’s eyes. I could be whatever I wanted; whomever I wanted. And yet she was the one woman I might’ve had a chance to be myself with. 
The terrible irony of it was like copper in my mouth. 
“Sure, Miss Hughes,” I said. “I’ll see you tomorrow.”

About Emma:
Emma Scott is a bestselling author of emotional, character-driven romances in which art and love intertwine to heal, and in which love always wins. If you enjoy emotionally-charged stories that rip your heart out and put it back together again, with diverse characters and kind-hearted heroes, you will enjoy her novels. 

Connect with Emma:
Stay up to date with Emma by joining her mailing list: http://bit.ly/2nTGLf6 



Skimlinks Test