google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog -
Thursday, May 11, 2017

EXCERPT REVEAL: Plus One by Aleatha Romig




PLUS ONE 
By Aleatha Romig
Release Day: May 16th
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog



A fun, sexy new stand-alone from New York Times bestselling author Aleatha Romig. 

He's sexy and confident, the kind of man every woman notices. You know, the one with the to-die-for body and panty-melting smirk. And then there's the way his designer suits drape over his broad shoulders and big...well, we've all heard the rumors, the ones that say he's up for any challenge.

But I can't see him that way. He's my boss—technically one of the owners of the company where I work—and definitely not in my league. Men like him don't notice women like me, and they don't date them. 

And I don't date men like him. 

Until that one time that I catch him in a compromising position when I'm also in need of a last-minute date for a wedding...and then it's not real. It's blackmail.

For one weekend, he's my plus-one.

Beautiful and unobtainable.

From the moment she walked into my office with those stunning blue eyes and crazy sensual curves, she's been on my mind. Three years and never once has she acted interested in me. Usually I flash a million-dollar smile and women fall to their knees, some literally. 

Not her.

Then on the occasion that I agree to let another woman do that—fall to her knees—guess who happens to catch us?

It may not be the most conventional way to get on her radar, but I didn't get this far in business without knowing when to seize an opportunity. If this sexy little firecracker with perfectly kissable lips thinks she can blackmail me into attending her cousin's wedding, I'm going to jump at the chance to be her plus-one. 

You love her darker side. Now it's time to meet Leatha, the lighter side of Aleatha, as she trades her renowned twists and turns for laughs and love with this sexy new stand-alone romance, PLUS ONE.

PREORDER 
Kobo and Google Play coming closer to release

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she's not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!
Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011. CONSEQUENCES became a bestselling series with five novels and two companions released from 2011 through 2015. The compelling and epic story of Anthony and Claire Rawlings has graced more than half a million e-readers. Aleatha released the first of her series TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS, in the fall of 2014. These stand alone thrillers continue Aleatha's twisted style with an increase in heat.
In the fall of 2015, Aleatha moved head first into the world of dark romantic suspense with the release of BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series that has taken the reading world by storm. She also began her traditional publishing career with Thomas and Mercer. Her books INTO THE LIGHT and AWAY FROM THE DARK were published through this mystery/thriller publisher in 2016.
Aleatha is a "Published Author's Network" member of the Romance Writers of America and a member of PEN America.  She is represented by Kevan Lyon of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.
NEWSLETTER | WEBSITE | FACEBOOK| AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE | GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM TWITTER PINTEREST

EXCERPT
Chapter 1
I push the thought of my mother's call away and concentrate on my friend, Shana. As I do, the slippery napkin escapes my hold. Quickly, I slide from my seat to retrieve it.
"Excuse me," a deep voice says as black leather loafers stop precariously close to where I'm now kneeling to rescue my napkin. 
Seeing the shoes, I look up and suck in a deep breath. 
Towering above me are long legs covered in tailored trousers. As I follow them up, they lead to a trim waist, a black belt, and a white shirt that buttons over a broad chest. I barely swallow the lump in my throat as I recognize the wide shoulders covered with the matching suit jacket. Seizing the napkin, I stand, suddenly face to face with one of the owners of the company where I work. 
My face burns with embarrassment as his shimmering green eyes narrow and head tilts. Inches away from me is one of the handsomest men I've ever met. He should be on the cover of GQ, not gracing the halls of Buchanan and Willis.
His firm lips form a tight smirk and cheeks rise in amusement. "Miss Jones."
Staring into the sea of emerald, I try to pretend I wasn't just on my knees in a chic restaurant in front of Duncan Willis. 
"Mr. Willis," I respond, my voice cracking. Nervously I take a step backward. As if the moment weren't awkward enough, I wobble, teetering precariously on my high heels. 

Swiftly, he reaches out, grabs my elbow, and steadies my footing. Though he just saved me from making an even bigger fool out of myself by falling face-first into what I can only imagine is a hard, defined chest, my mind is suddenly consumed with the electricity of his touch. The energy heats my skin as his grasp lingers. 
Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Love Me in the Dark by Mia Asher is LIVE!

Love Me in the Dark by Mia Asher is finally LIVE! Check out my spoiler-free review.  This sexy contemporary romance needs to be your next book purchase. 


Smoking Man on book cover
RELEASE BLITZ
Title: Love Me in the Dark
Author: Mia Asher
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 10, 2017

BLURB

Two strangers in Paris ...
One passionate, earth-shattering kiss.

He was the artist upstairs
with the tantalizing smile and laughing eyes.

He was the devil inviting me to sin,
seducing me to dance in the bright moonlight.

He was desire and need.

When he touched me, my body sang--
my soul came alive.

But I belonged to another man,
and he didn't want to let me go.





Free in Kindle Unlimited


REVIEW OF LOVE ME IN THE DARK
Love Me in the DarkLove Me in the Dark by Mia Asher
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
"He kisses me like he’s dying and my lips are his last breath. It’s a kiss that rearranges the stars in my own little galaxy, setting my life in a new course, changing my destiny. And if I crash and burn like a falling star, what does it matter when for this brief instant I’m in his arms? For the first time in a very long time, there isn’t ice inside of me. Instead, there’s a bright, hot, blazing fire."

Omg I'm blown away! Mia Asher is back and this book is incredible. Review to follow. #bestof2017

UPDATED SPOILER-FREE REVIEW:

I’m seriously blown away by Love Me in the Dark, by Mia Asher. I'm tired of comparing love stories to roller coasters with all of their ups and downs. But there is not another way to describe this emotionally packed and complicated love story. Just like Valentina and Sebastien, I felt like I was falling, dancing and screaming while reading this book.

“We get lost in a moment that takes us to a place where the past and future are irrelevant—they don’t exist. And it feels a little like falling. A lot like flying. Crashing on the ground. Dancing in the clouds. A cage and an open sky. The light of a thousand lamps illuminating the dark night.”

Valentina and Sebastien are flawed and not really living until they find each. They truly can't be together until they do some soul searching and deal with the reality of Valentina’s marriage.

“It’s a kiss that rearranges the stars in my own little galaxy, setting my life in a new course, changing my destiny. And if I crash and burn like a falling star, what does it matter when for this brief instant I’m in his arms? For the first time in a very long time, there isn’t ice inside of me. Instead, there’s a bright, hot, blazing fire.”

Love Me in the Dark is a second chance romance. A second chance at love, life, and happiness. Mia’s writing was absolutely gorgeous and somewhat poetic. I found myself highlighting line after line. This was one of those books that I just wanted to savor because the writing was so good. At the same time, I wanted to jump ahead to the next line, and couldn’t read fast enough.

My heart is still racing from the whirlwind of emotion that I experienced while reading this book. Love Me in the Dark was utterly addicting and unputdownable. I think I’m still experiencing a book high from reading it. Love Me in the Dark is total Kindle Crack. If you can’t deal with stories that include a cheating aspect, this book might not be for you. I assure you, you will understand why it all went down and made sense in the end. If not, you’ll miss one of the best books to hit the shelves this year. Love Me in the Dark is one of my top recommendations of the year! One-click this one.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

description



AUTHOR BIO

I'm a writer, a hopeless romantic, a wanderer, a dreamer, a cynic, and a believer. And, I might be a
bit crazy - but who isn't?

I believe in happy endings however I know that not everyone is lucky enough to get one, but such is life. I think fine lines exist to be pushed and possibly crossed.

Love,
M.

AUTHOR LINKS



Monday, May 8, 2017

ARC GIVEAWAY & REVIEW: Love me in the Dark by Mia Asher


I was super lucky to read Love Me in the Dark by Mia Asher.  I LOVED this book.  Check out my spoiler-free review and enter for a chance to win an ARC copy before it releases on May 10th!  Love me in the Dark is one of my top recommendations of the year!
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


BLURB

Two strangers in Paris ...
One passionate, earth-shattering kiss.

He was the artist upstairs
with the tantalizing smile and laughing eyes.

He was the devil inviting me to sin,
seducing me to dance in the bright moonlight.

He was desire and need.

When he touched me, my body sang--
my soul came alive.

But I belonged to another man,
and he didn't want to let me go. 


GOODREADS LINK: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34601589-love-me-in-the-dark 


SPOILER-FREE REVIEW OF LOVE ME IN THE DARK
Love Me in the DarkLove Me in the Dark by Mia Asher
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
"He kisses me like he’s dying and my lips are his last breath. It’s a kiss that rearranges the stars in my own little galaxy, setting my life in a new course, changing my destiny. And if I crash and burn like a falling star, what does it matter when for this brief instant I’m in his arms? For the first time in a very long time, there isn’t ice inside of me. Instead, there’s a bright, hot, blazing fire."

Omg I'm blown away! Mia Asher is back and this book is incredible. Review to follow. #bestof2017

UPDATED SPOILER-FREE REVIEW:

I’m seriously blown away by Love Me in the Dark, by Mia Asher. I'm tired of comparing love stories to roller coasters with all of their ups and downs. But there is not other way to describe this emotionally packed and complicated love story. Just like Valentina and Sebastien, I felt like I was falling, dancing and screaming while reading this book.

“We get lost in a moment that takes us to a place where the past and future are irrelevant—they don’t exist. And it feels a little like falling. A lot like flying. Crashing on the ground. Dancing in the clouds. A cage and an open sky. The light of a thousand lamps illuminating the dark night.”

Valentina and Sebastien are flawed and not really living until they find each. They truly can't be together until they do some soul searching and deal with the reality of Valentina’s marriage.

“It’s a kiss that rearranges the stars in my own little galaxy, setting my life in a new course, changing my destiny. And if I crash and burn like a falling star, what does it matter when for this brief instant I’m in his arms? For the first time in a very long time, there isn’t ice inside of me. Instead, there’s a bright, hot, blazing fire.”

Love Me in the Dark is a second chance romance. A second chance at love, life, and happiness. Mia’s writing was absolutely gorgeous and somewhat poetic. I found myself highlighting line after line. This was one of those books that I just wanted to savor because the writing was so good. At the same time, I wanted to jump ahead to the next line, and couldn’t read fast enough.

My heart is still racing from the whirlwind of emotion that I experienced while reading this book. Love Me in the Dark was utterly addicting and unputdownable. I think I’m still experiencing a book high from reading it. Love Me in the Dark is total Kindle Crack. If you can’t deal with stories that include a cheating aspect, this book might not be for you. I assure you, you will understand why it all went down and made sense in the end. If not, you’ll miss one of the best books to hit the shelves this year. Love Me in the Dark is one of my top recommendations of the year! One-click this one.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

description




AUTHOR BIO
I'm a writer, a hopeless romantic, a wanderer, a dreamer, a cynic, and a believer. And, I might be a
bit crazy - but who isn't?

I believe in happy endings however I know that not everyone is lucky enough to get one, but such is life. I think fine lines exist to be pushed and possibly crossed.

Love,

M.

AUTHOR LINKS
Amazon Live Alert: http://bit.ly/2nZMFJI
BookBubhttps://www.bookbub.com/authors/mia-asher
Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2qSrqtx



GIVEAWAY
Kindle Crack Book Reviews


To enter for a chance to win please do the following:

LIKE Kindle Crack Book Reviews on FB or Instagram (or both) I check :)

FOLLOW Mia Asher on Bookbub 
COMMENT and tell me if you have read any of Mia’s other books.
SHARE or tag a friend if you want (sharing is caring :)


YOU CAN ENTER ON FB & Instagram www.instagram.com/kindlecrack or BOTH!
Tuesday, May 2, 2017

REVIEW & GIFT CARD & SIGNED PAPERBACK GIVEAWAY: Bombshell by CD Reiss

Check out my review of Bombshell by CD Reiss. Don't forget to enter for a chance to win a $25.00 Amazon gift card & signed paperback.
  
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


Bombshell, an all-new sexy and swoony standalone from CD Reiss is available now! 


Bombshell by CD Reiss

Publication Date: May 1st, 2017
Publisher: Montlake
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog
Synopsis: 

Hollywood bad boy Brad Sinclair always gets his way, whether it’s the role he wants or the bikini-clad model he has to have. But when a bombshell gets dropped in his lap in the form of a dimpled five-year-old from a forgotten relationship, he knows his life is about to change forever.

Cara DuMont isn’t exactly thrilled when she gets assigned to be the nanny for the latest box-office king. She has one rule: no celebrity fathers, especially single ones with devilish good looks and rock-hard abs.

But as soon as Cara meets Brad and his adorable little girl, she knows she’s in for a world of trouble. Because there’s something about the way Brad looks at her that makes her believe that some rules are meant to be broken…


Review of Bombshell
Bombshell (Hollywood A-List, #1)Bombshell by C.D. Reiss
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
4.50 - 5.00
A party-boy, Hollywood heartthrob, landed a career-changing role: new daddy. Brad Sinclair wasn't ready to be a dad to Nicole. No more wild nights filled with partying and women.

Cara Dumont didn't want to work for some Hollywood actor with a bad reputation. She had seen it all as a nanny to Hollywood's rich and famous. However, little Nicole needed her. Cara had no plans to become like her friend whose affair with a married A-list manwhore ruined her career. Falling for Brad and his daughter was easy, but learning the truth about Brad's past mistakes might turn their relationship into a bombshell.

At first, I wondered if this was going to be a predictable forbidden relationship with a nanny/A-list actor/daddy relationship book. It was so much more. This heartwarming and sexy story should be on your tbr A-list to one-click! What a great Hollywood ending



Excerpt: 
The front door opened. I expected a housekeeper or butler, but it was the actor himself.

I hadn’t forgotten how beautiful he was; I’d just chosen not to think about it.

“Ma’am,” he said. Southern boy. Parents together. Christian elementary. Public secondary. Two years at USC Drama. Dates his costars for a month after the wrap party, then moves on. Poring through the trades and making calls, I’d discovered he’d spend at least eight of the next twelve months overseas doing action movies, but most had postproduction in town.

“Mr. Sinclair,” I said, holding my hand out. “Nice to see you outside a bathroom.”

He shook my hand.

I’d shaken plenty of famous hands attached to gorgeous men, but my imagination was sparked by the way his fingers slid against mine to grasp them and the way our palms pressed together. My mind clouded over with ripped sheets, hard muscles, and soft skin.

“Pleasure’s mine,” he said and my brain skipped like a trip on a cracked sidewalk over the word pleasure.

He didn’t give me the oversincere hand-over-clasp to show me how damn happy he was to see me, but there was something intimate about that half a second.

Just a consultation.

I followed him into the house. Dora Donovan had designed it. Looked like her with her faux-midcentury white couch and shag rug. That wasn’t going to work with playdates unless he wanted to keep an upholsterer on staff.
We went through the living room to a smaller room with a pool table smack in the middle. It had a stained glass Budweiser lamp over it and was racked for nine-ball. Dora Donovan had nothing to do with this room, for sure.

“Wanna sit?” He held a chair out for me. The glass-topped table was just inside the open patio doors and was set with iced tea.
I sat.

“I’m not a date,” I said kindly, indicating the iced tea setup. “Just so you know. You don’t have to do things like hold the chair for me.”

“Habit, I guess.”

He sat opposite me.

“Chivalry is nice. But with the nanny, whomever you hire, it can be misconstrued.”

He smirked a little, as if misconstruing his own thoughts. I cleared my throat and pulled my jacket closed.

Buy Links & (Free in Kindle Unlimited)
Add to Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/zhgfx32


About the Author
Kindle Crack Book Reviews

CD Reiss is a New York Times bestseller. She still has to chop wood and carry water, which was buried in the fine print. Her lawyer is working it out with God but in the meantime, if you call and she doesn't pick up she's at the well hauling buckets.
Born in New York City, she moved to Hollywood, California to get her master's degree in screenwriting from USC. In case you want to know, that went nowhere but it did give her a big enough ego to write novels.
She's frequently referred to as the Shakespeare of Smut which is flattering but hasn't ever gotten her out of chopping that cord of wood.
If you meet her in person, you should call her Christine. 

Connect with CD Reiss:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2iwpkPQ
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CDReiss.writer/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/cdreisswriter
Instagram: https://instagram.com/cdreiss/
Website: www.cdreiss.com
Newsletter: https://cdreiss.com/cd-reiss-mailing-list-signup/

BOMBSHELL GIVEAWAY ON FACEBOOK $25.00 AMAZON GIFT CARD & SIGNED PAPERBACK!
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


Monday, May 1, 2017

NEW RELEASE REVIEW: Bombshell by CD Reiss.


Check out my review of Bombshell by CD Reiss!  This is a standalone/no cliffhanger. 

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog
Bombshell, an all-new sexy and swoony standalone from CD Reiss is now LIVE! 

Bombshell by CD Reiss
Publication Date: May 1st, 2017
Publisher: Montlake
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Synopsis: 

Hollywood bad boy Brad Sinclair always gets his way, whether it’s the role he wants or the bikini-clad model he has to have. But when a bombshell gets dropped in his lap in the form of a dimpled five-year-old from a forgotten relationship, he knows his life is about to change forever.

Cara DuMont isn’t exactly thrilled when she gets assigned to be the nanny for the latest box-office king. She has one rule: no celebrity fathers, especially single ones with devilish good looks and rock-hard abs.

But as soon as Cara meets Brad and his adorable little girl, she knows she’s in for a world of trouble. Because there’s something about the way Brad looks at her that makes her believe that some rules are meant to be broken…

Read Today! 
(Free in Kindle Unlimited)

Add to Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/zhgfx32 

REVIEW OF BOMBSHELL
Bombshell (Hollywood A-List, #1)Bombshell by C.D. Reiss
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.50 - 5.00
A party-boy, Hollywood heartthrob, landed a career-changing role: new daddy. Brad Sinclair wasn't ready to be a dad to Nicole. No more wild nights filled with partying and women.

Cara Dumont didn't want to work for some Hollywood actor with a bad reputation. She had seen it all as a nanny to Hollywood's rich and famous. However, little Nicole needed her. Cara had no plans to become like her friend whose affair with a married A-list manwhore ruined her career. Falling for Brad and his daughter was easy, but learning the truth about Brad's past mistakes might turn their relationship into a bombshell.

At first, I wondered if this was going to be a predictable forbidden relationship with a nanny/A-list actor/daddy relationship book. It was so much more. This heartwarming and sexy story should be on your tbr A-list to one-click! What a great Hollywood ending




About the Author:
Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

CD Reiss is a New York Times bestseller. She still has to chop wood and carry water, which was buried in the fine print. Her lawyer is working it out with God but in the meantime, if you call and she doesn't pick up she's at the well hauling buckets.
Born in New York City, she moved to Hollywood, California to get her master's degree in screenwriting from USC. In case you want to know, that went nowhere but it did give her a big enough ego to write novels.
She's frequently referred to as the Shakespeare of Smut which is flattering but hasn't ever gotten her out of chopping that cord of wood.
If you meet her in person, you should call her Christine. 

Connect with CD Reiss:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2iwpkPQ
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CDReiss.writer/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/cdreisswriter
Instagram: https://instagram.com/cdreiss/
Website: www.cdreiss.com
Newsletter: https://cdreiss.com/cd-reiss-mailing-list-signup/


$425 in GIVEAWAYS ~ EXCERPT ~ REVIEW: Joy Ride by Lauren Blakely is LIVE!!!

Check out my review of Joy Ride by Lauren Blakely. This sexy romantic comedy is LIVE!  Enter Lauren's giveaway for a chance to win incredible prizes!


Kate Spade Patton Leather Tote and Kate Spade Desktop Planner ($325 value)
$50 Gift Card to Bath and Body Works
$50 Gift Card to Amazon


Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

From the #1 New York Times Bestselling author of FULL PACKAGE and BIG ROCK, comes a hot & hilarious new standalone romantic comedy…

Let’s be honest, ladies. A good man is a lot like the perfect car. You want a hot body, an engine that purrs, and superior performance under the hood...for the best joy ride of your life.

I’m at your service. Ready to go all night long.

But then a wildly sexy brunette appears in my life and throws a wrench in all my plans. She’s fiery, she’s talented, she’s gorgeous, and I’d really like to know what makes her engine hum.

Henley also happens to be my biggest rival, and now we’re forced to work together every day on the most important custom car build of my career. The trouble is I can’t quite figure out if she wants to kick me in the lug nuts or beg me to give her a good, hard fuel injection. Until one night that question is answered on the hood of a sports car when she calls out my name three times. And we can’t seem to put on the brakes.

If sleeping with the enemy is a bad idea, how much more dangerous would it be to fall in love with her?

Amazon Kindle ➜ http://amzn.to/2ptmEoJ
Amazon Paperback  http://amzn.to/2ptpcDA
Amazon UK  http://amzn.to/2oMijtD
Amazon CA  http://amzn.to/2owtbjj
Amazon AU  http://amzn.to/2q6dNYi
iBooks  http://apple.co/2mEhXIp
B&N  http://bit.ly/2m8MH2w
Kobo  http://bit.ly/2lqPV2A
Google Play http://bit.ly/2mRsjRW
 The audiobook will be narrated by Sebastian York! Link coming soon! 

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW: Joy Ride by Lauren Blakely
Joy RideJoy Ride by Lauren Blakely
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Are you ready for a ride? You might hit a few bumps in the road with a grease monkey, a real monkey, a sharpie pen and find yourself craving cinnamon rolls. Let’s not forget this ride contains some hot sex on the hood of a classic car. Buckle up and get ready to take a sexy and fun Joy Ride by Lauren Blakely.

Who knew car parts could sound so hot? Not me. I’m still laughing thinking about Max and Henley’s banter and all of the car-related double entendres. Lauren Blakely’s signature flirty and fun writing style shines in Joy Ride.

She manages to create these characters that you can't help but fall for in every single book. Henley was sassy, classy and a little “bad-assy.” Max was also great. He was hot and a bit clueless about relationships (but not lady or car parts). He was the Full PackageWell Hung and ready to give Henley a Mister O or a Big Rock on a once in lifetime romance ride. Sorry, I couldn’t help but have fun with LB’s titles. I love this interconnected series of standalones. They will make your heart race, steam up your e-reader screen and laugh at the incredibly fun dialogue. One-click worthy. Kindle Crack Book Reviews approved! Get ready to see if Patrick’s wood is any good in Hard Wood on November 1st.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.netwww.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.





EXCERPT:
Henley Rose and a hot car go together like peaches and cream, like fine Scotch and a long, dirty night. Which means working with her was like walking into the Garden of Eden every single day. It was a test of willpower because the woman could craft a car as if it were an erotic dance.

Not a striptease.

Not an in-your-face pelvis thrust.

But a beautiful fucking ballet of a woman seducing machine. Those hands, the way she wielded tools, the intensity in her focus—it was sensual, and it was sinful, and it was this man’s fantasy made flesh.

Imagine what it was like working with her for one, hard-on year.

I mean, hard year.

I survived the challenge because she had talent to spare. And I never treated her differently because she was a woman, or because I thought about her naked an obscene amount of the time. I treated her like anyone else—specifically, all the people I work with who I never ever imagine in anything less than full-on Siberian winter garb, complete with the thermals and Michelin Man coat.

“Black heart still intact.” I tap my sternum. “Same model as before.”

“I’d have thought you’d get an upgrade by now. Faulty parts and all.”

“No recall needed on the ticker. It works just fine in this cruel bastard.” I say, reminding her of the words she’d uttered the day she stormed out.

She arches a brow. “Shame. You should have let me replace it. I’m good at making all sorts of clunkers run better.”

Jesus Christ. She still takes no prisoners. “I’ve no doubt you have all the tools to fix anything, and if you couldn’t find the right one, you’d use a blowtorch.”

She adopts an expression of indignation. “There’s nothing wrong with using a blowtorch,” she says, taking extra time on the first syllable.

How the hell did I ever last with this woman? Before I can even fashion a comeback, she taps her toe against the tire on Wagner’s car. “I see you still like to make your cars with big, manly wheels.”

I roll my eyes then make a give it to me now motion with my hands. “All right, Henley. Deliver the punchline.”

She bats her lashes. “What punchline?”

Big? Manly? You’re going to say it’s some sort of compensation thing going on. That’s what you always said about the guys who wanted the biggest cars with the biggest wheels.”

She smirks. “Was I wrong in my assessment?”

I laugh. “I don’t know. I didn’t check to see how that added up for them.”

“Nor did I. My focus was always on the work.”

“As well it should have been.”

“That’s what you taught me.”

“I’m glad you learned that lesson.”

“I learned so many lessons from you.”

Add it to Goodreads here!


And don’t miss Lauren Blakely’s other standalone Romantic Comedies!



Celebrate the release of JOY RIDE with this amazing giveaway!

The JOY RIDE giveaway is filled with:
Kate Spade Patton Leather Tote and Kate Spade Desktop Planner ($325 value)
$50 Gift Card to Bath and Body Works
$50 Gift Card to Amazon



About Lauren Blakely:

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog
A #1 New York Times Bestselling author, Lauren Blakely is known for her contemporary romance style that's hot, sweet and sexy. She lives in California with her family and has plotted entire novels while walking her dogs. With fourteen New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than seventy-five times, and she's sold more than 1.5 million books. In May she'll release JOY RIDE, a standalone romantic comedy. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter! laurenblakely.com/newsletter