google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog - Monica James
Showing posts with label Monica James. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Monica James. Show all posts
Wednesday, August 14, 2019

This series is total Kindle Crack!

This all-consuming, utterly addictive dark romance series is a drug, and I need my next hit! I can't wait to read Forever My Saint by Monica James in September.  Check out the cover and synopsis. 

You must read this series in order
Forever My Saint  https://amzn.to/31DSgbe (Sept 19th)


FOREVER MY SAINT
Volume Three 
Monica James 


All hope was lost until Zoey Hennessy walked back into my world, shaking it up beyond repair when she uttered two simple words.
He’s alive.
She speaks of her brother, my Saint, the man who lost everything to set me free.
I believed he was dead. I saw it with my own two eyes. But when Zoey proves he’s alive and being held captive by a monster, I know what I have to do.
It’s time I saved him.
The plan is dangerous, and there are no guarantees I will survive. But if this nightmare has taught me one thing, it’s that I don’t cower in fear. I am a woman hell-bent on getting back the man she loves, and nothing, no one will stand in my way.
However, what I uncover can only be described as hell on earth. The darkness has finally won, and Saint is lost to me forever.
Or so I thought.
Aleksei Popov is anything but a hero, yet in this story—he’s mine. Everything I believed in is about to be turned upside down, and with freedom within my grasp, I wonder how far I will go, and who I will sacrifice in order to set myself free.


Release date: September 19th
Series: All The Pretty Things Trilogy, Volume Three
Genre: Dark Romance 
Cover Designer: Sommer Stein— Perfect Pear Creative Covers
Pre-Order Now:

UK
Australia 
Canada

Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

Stalk Me!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authormonicajames 
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS
Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi 


Sunday, July 14, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: Fallen Saint by Monica James is LIVE!


Check out my spoiler-free review of Fallen Saint by Monica James.  This heart-pounding dark romance book series is NOT TO BE MISSED.  If you like dark and sexy suspense this book is for you!  Read my review of Bad Saint(Book #1) here.

Please read the All The Pretty Things in order:
Bad Saint (Book #1) https://amzn.to/2JyoQoH
Fallen Saint (Book #2) https://amzn.to/2jRJ6Yh
Forever My Saint (Book #3) will release on 9/26 https://amzn.to/2lkdKKo


New dark romance Amazon Books

FALLEN SAINT (Book #2) by Monica James 
Release date: July 14, 2019 
Series: All The Pretty Things Trilogy, Volume Two 
Genre: Dark Romance 
Cover Designer: Sommer Stein— Perfect Pear Creative Covers


Just as this nightmare began, I once again find myself bound, destination unknown. However, this time, my kidnapper is the man who shattered my world beyond repair.
Aleksei Popov—Russia’s number one mobster, and the man I was sold to.
His intentions for me are clear—submit, obey him, and call him master—but I won’t surrender. I’m not like the other girls. Whether that’s a blessing or curse, I’ve yet to decide. The problem is, my disobedience intrigues my captor all the more. 
When we arrive in Russia, the rules change.
Saint, the man who was once a sinner, is my only salvation. What was forbidden now gives me hope that there is light in the darkness. He will risk everything to set me free.
But behind these opulent walls, things aren’t what they seem, and when the fine line between pleasure and pain begins to blur, only one thing matters—saving my soul. 
I will lie.
Cheat.
Steal.
I was once an angel, but now…I’m a fallen saint, ready to inflict my own pain and burn this hellhole to the ground.


FALLEN SAINT IS NOW LIVE!
Grab your copy NOW!


BAD SAINT Play List: https://tinyurl.com/yxsufle5
UK
Australia 
Canada

REVIEW OF FALLEN SAINT


My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I thought Bad Saint, the first book in The All The Pretty Things series was phenomenal. Then Fallen Saint lands on my Kindle. Monica James, what did you do to me? My heart hasn't raced like this in a long time from a book! This series turned into a full-blown heart attack. I can't take it. I need the third and final book now! This all-consuming, utterly addictive dark romance series is a drug, and I need my next hit! I can't wait to read Forever My Saint in September.


***
MARK YOUR CALENDERS!
FOREVER MY SAINT, Volume Three is coming September 26, 2019! 



Pre-Order Now:

UK
Australia 
Canada

Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson. When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life.  She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K. Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

Stalk Me!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authormonicajames 
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS
Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi 


Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Cover & Excerpt: Fallen Saint by Monica James


Check out the cover and read an excerpt from Fallen Saint (Book #2) by Monica James in the All The Pretty Things Trilogy.  I loved Bad Saint (Book #1) and can't wait to binge read the next installment in this dark romance.  
Dark Romance Amazon


FALLEN SAINT


Volume Two 
Release date: July 16, 2019 


Series: All The Pretty Things Trilogy, Volume Two 
Genre: Dark Romance 
Cover Designer: Sommer Stein— Perfect Pear Creative Covers

Synopsis:
Just as this nightmare began, I once again find myself bound, destination unknown. However, this time, my kidnapper is the man who shattered my world beyond repair.
Aleksei Popov—Russia’s number one mobster, and the man I was sold to.
His intentions for me are clear—submit, obey him, and call him master—but I won’t surrender. I’m not like the other girls. Whether that’s a blessing or curse, I’ve yet to decide. The problem is, my disobedience intrigues my captor all the more. 
When we arrive in Russia, the rules change.
Saint, the man who was once a sinner, is my only salvation. What was forbidden now gives me hope that there is light in the darkness. He will risk everything to set me free.
But behind these opulent walls, things aren’t what they seem, and when the fine line between pleasure and pain begins to blur, only one thing matters—saving my soul. 
I will lie.
Cheat.
Steal.
I was once an angel, but now…I’m a fallen saint, ready to inflict my own pain and burn this hellhole to the ground.

Pre-Order Links: 


Excerpt:
“Kneel.”
Without question, I slowly rise from the bed and follow Saint to the middle of the room. When he positions himself so Aleksei can see, I know what I have to do. 
I drop to my knees and bow my head. 
“Oh my.” A stunned gasp leaves Aleksei. “That is incredible. Just like a trained dog.”
A strong metallic taste fills my mouth, alerting me that I’ve drawn blood by biting down on my tongue so hard. 
“What is your name?” Saint asks numbly. 
“Aнгел.”
“And who am I?” 
“мастеp,” I reply softly, using my hair as a veil. 
“What? I can’t hear you.”
Before I have a chance to reply, Saint reaches down and grips my chin, forcing me to look up at him. I arch my neck, locking eyes with him. The amber swirls mingle among the flecks of green and set me alight. He is barely holding on. 
“мастеp,” I say, louder this time. 
“Good girl.” He releases me while I sag forward in humiliation. “You know what happens when you disobey me?”
“Yes, мастеp.” The truth is, I don’t know what punishment he intends to deliver. He reveals what a moment later. 
“Lift your dress.”
And just like that, I’m transported back to the night when Saint first struck me with his belt. 
I know for this to be believable, Saint has to make the punishments credible. But the thought of being hit again has me whimpering. 
“I said lift your fucking dress.” Saint’s tone is venomous. With no other choice, I do as he demands. 
When I hear his belt being unbuckled and threaded through the loops of his pants, I brace myself for what comes next. 
My back faces Aleksei, so he has a clear view of my ass. My lace underwear leaves nothing to the imagination, but it appears he wants more. “Take them off.”
I lock eyes with Saint, begging he doesn’t force me to bow to this pervert’s demands, but he maintains his apathetic façade. Yet underneath this disguise, I know he’ll always protect me. 
“With all due respect, Aleksei, you asked me to show you, so please allow me to do my job.” Being called a job causes me to flinch as though he kicked me in the guts. I know it’s part of the plan, but it’s hard not to get lost in the past. 
“You’re right. Sorry. I got carried away. Continue.” His politeness is beyond insulting, as he’s apologizing for suggesting Saint strip me when he whips me into submission. 
This is so fucked up. 
Saint walks around me and kicks my legs apart. I suppress the need to scream. He doesn’t give me any warning. I hear the vicious hiss slicing through the air just before the pain hits me. With a loud grunt, I propel forward but remain kneeling. 
My ass throbs from where Saint brought down his belt, but I know he could have struck me a lot harder. When he hits me over the back of my thighs, I whimper but remain upright. This strike was softer than the first. 
“Do you have anything you want to say to me?”
Whack.
Tears sting my eyes, but I refuse to cry. “I’m s-sorry, мастеp. I won’t disobey you a-again.”
Whack. 
“Are you sure?” Even though Saint barely breaks a sweat from hitting me, his breathlessness reveals it’s taking every ounce of his willpower not to kill Aleksei. 
When I hear the belt being swung into position, I cry out, “Yes! Yes. I’m sorry. I won’t d-do it again.”
I brace myself for another strike, but it doesn’t come. “Put down your dress.”
With shaky hands, I do as he says. 
Since I’m facing away from Saint, I can’t see what’s going on, but I’m guessing from the silence it’s not good. 
“That’s it?” Aleksei is far from impressed. It seems he will only be satisfied when I’m crying out in pain and begging for mercy. 
“Yes. She submitted, did she not?”
Silence. 
The air is thick with challenge. Saint’s methods aren’t satisfactory because Aleksei knows he could have been a lot crueler. 
“She fought me like a wild cat. I think she likes you.”
My cheeks heat, but I squash down my embarrassment because this exercise was supposed to convince Aleksei otherwise. I quickly rack my brain, hoping to prove Aleksei wrong, but Saint is two steps ahead. 
“She fears me,” he argues. “She doesn’t know you yet, but I’ve broken her. Just allow me to spend more time with her, and I promise, she will fear you too. I’m the only one who can break her.”  
“Very well. But if your methods don’t prove satisfactory, and I don’t see a change very soon, I will take over. Are we clear?”
My blood turns cold. 
“We’re clear,” Saint replies with bite. 
“I won’t have her behaving like a rabid dog because you know what happens to them?” Aleksei pauses while the room drops ten thousand degrees. “I shoot them.”
Make no mistake, he’s warning us both. 
Saint grips the back of my neck, hinting I’m to stand. When I do, he leads me back over to the bed. He won’t look at me, and the detachment has me getting onto the bed, desperate for them to leave so I can process this on my own. Without him asking, I place my arms over my head after I lie down. 
A tear leaks from my eye when he cuffs me, but I turn my cheek so he can’t see. 
“Let’s go into my office. We have some things to discuss.” Just as Saint moves to rise, Aleksei says something which has me questioning how good of an actress I really am. “Gag her. You said she was shouting earlier.”
You’re going to be a good little girl, aren’t you, Willow?
I suddenly find it impossible to breathe. 
I’m moments away from blowing our ruse when a tender caress floats across my flank. Though it’s a subtle touch, it’s enough. “That’s not necessary. She won’t scream.” Saint recognizes my panic; he knows what memories claw to the surface when I’m gagged. 
“I said gag her,” Aleksei perseveres, needing to hold on to some semblance of control. 
I know I told Saint to do whatever it takes, but that’s my hard limit, so I don’t know if I can stomach that. But I should know by now that Saint will always be the alpha. “Aleksei, you just said you’re willing to allow me to do this my way. Are you going back on your word?”
I don’t know why his word is so important. He’s a fucking criminal, for god’s sake. But I remember Saint saying that Aleksei does hold some honor among his men. I can only hope he’s right. 
“So be it. But if I hear a peep out of her, it’ll be the last for quite some time.”
I gulp as his threat is filled with promise. 
“She’ll be quiet,” Saint assures, speaking for me as he knows I’m close to breaking. “Let’s go.”
When he rises from the bed, I turn my cheek to look at him. But when I lock eyes with Aleksei instead, I realize I have to be more careful. Although we have convinced him today, tomorrow may not be as easy. 
Saint doesn’t look back and is quick to leave. I soon find out why that is. 
“Aren’t you forgetting something?” Aleksei blocks the doorway while I watch on in horror. He’s going to kill Saint and make me watch. We haven’t fooled him at all. 
When Saint reaches into his pocket and produces the key to my cuffs, I sense he has a plan after all. Aleksei seems disappointed he surrendered it so easily. 
Saint opens the door, hinting for Aleksei to move. He eventually does but not before he grins my way. The gesture sends a shiver down my spine. 
This is only the beginning of things to come. 


Dark Romance Books
BAD SAINT
Volume One 

Synopsis:
I was kidnapped on my honeymoon by three masked men.
Blindfolded.
Bound.
Destination unknown.
I was told to stay silent and abide by their rules. But they didn’t realize I wasn’t a victim…not anymore.
The open sea was my backdrop for nine torturous days. During that time, glimmers of my fate were revealed by a man with the mysterious chartreuse-colored eyes. He should have scared me, but he didn’t.
He intrigued me. And I intrigued him.
He punished me when I didn’t listen, which was every single day. But beneath his cruelty, I sensed he was guarding a grave secret.
I was sold. 
And in a game of poker, no less. 
My buyer? A Russian mobster who likes to collect pretty things. Now that I know the truth, I only have one choice.
Sink or swim.
And when one fateful night presents me the opportunity, I take it. I just never anticipated my actions would leave me shipwrecked with my kidnapper.
He needs me alive. I want him dead.
But as days turn into weeks, one thing becomes clear—I should hate him…but I don’t.
My name is Willow.
His name is Saint.
Ironic, isn’t it? He bears a name that denotes nothing but holiness yet delivers nothing but hell. However, if this is hell on earth…God, save my soul.  


Buy It Now Links: 

BAD SAINT Play List: https://tinyurl.com/yxsufle5


Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

Stalk Me!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authormonicajames 
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS
Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi

Monday, May 6, 2019

Bad Saint by Monica James is LIVE!

Check out my spoiler-free review of Bad Saint by Monica James.  This is the first book in Monica's new All The Pretty Things dark romance trilogy.  I have a feeling this author is going to have us on the edge of our seats.  Bring it on! 

New dark romance book

BAD SAINT
Volume One 
Monica James
Release date: May 6th 2019 
Series: All The Pretty Things Trilogy, Volume One  
Genre: Dark Romance 

Synopsis:
I was kidnapped on my honeymoon by three masked men.
Blindfolded.
Bound.
Destination unknown.
I was told to stay silent and abide by their rules. But they didn’t realize I wasn’t a victim…not anymore.
The open sea was my backdrop for nine torturous days. During that time, glimmers of my fate were revealed by a man with the mysterious chartreuse-colored eyes. He should have scared me, but he didn’t.
He intrigued me. And I intrigued him.
He punished me when I didn’t listen, which was every single day. But beneath his cruelty, I sensed he was guarding a grave secret.
I was sold. 
And in a game of poker, no less. 
My buyer? A Russian mobster who likes to collect pretty things. Now that I know the truth, I only have one choice.
Sink or swim.
And when one fateful night presents me the opportunity, I take it. I just never anticipated my actions would leave me shipwrecked with my kidnapper.
He needs me alive. I want him dead.
But as days turn into weeks, one thing becomes clear—I should hate him…but I don’t.
My name is Willow.
His name is Saint.
Ironic, isn’t it? He bears a name that denotes nothing but holiness yet delivers nothing but hell. However, if this is hell on earth…God, save my soul.  

Buy Links: 

Review of Bad Saint
Bad Saint: Volume One (All The Pretty Things Trilogy, #1)Bad Saint: Volume One by Monica  James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

description

Saint and Willows' worlds collide when Saint is sent to Greece to kidnap Willow, to become his boss’ slave. Willow is visiting Greece with her new husband for a romantic honeymoon. Saint is a dangerous Russian mob enforcer with an agenda of his own. He will hand over Willow no matter what it takes. Saint can’t wait to pay his dues and leave Russia forever. He won't allow himself to fall for the beautiful model that is promised to his boss. Willow brings a slice of heaven into his life. Willow might be Saint’s angel or may lead his heart on a path straight to hell.

Bad Saint was one hell of an addictive read and an adrenaline rush. Monica James spins a dark and sexy web of kidnapping, murder, and mayhem. Bad Saint was equally intense, gritty and was also one hell of a wild ride! I’ve been a fan of Monica James’ writing for years. I love that she took a plunge to the dark side to write this high-seas kidnapping adventure. I hit the last page knowing that this was a trilogy, expecting a cliffhanger, and I still wanted to scream! God, I love a solid cliffhanger. This book is total Kindle Crack!

I can’t wait to read Fallen Saint (Book 2) in July.




Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

Stalk Me!
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authormonicajames 
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS


Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi 

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Bad Saint by Monica James Cover Reveal & Excerpt

Check out the cover, synopsis, and an excerpt from Bad Saint by Monica James.  This is the first book in Monica's new All The Pretty Things dark romance trilogy.  I have a feeling this author is going to have us on the edge of our seats.  Bring it on! 

New dark romance book

BAD SAINT
Volume One 
Monica James
Release date: May 6th 2019 
Series: All The Pretty Things Trilogy, Volume One  
Genre: Dark Romance 
Cover Designer: Sommer Stein— Perfect Pear Creative Covers

Synopsis:
I was kidnapped on my honeymoon by three masked men.
Blindfolded.
Bound.
Destination unknown.
I was told to stay silent and abide by their rules. But they didn’t realize I wasn’t a victim…not anymore.
The open sea was my backdrop for nine torturous days. During that time, glimmers of my fate were revealed by a man with the mysterious chartreuse-colored eyes. He should have scared me, but he didn’t.
He intrigued me. And I intrigued him.
He punished me when I didn’t listen, which was every single day. But beneath his cruelty, I sensed he was guarding a grave secret.
I was sold. 
And in a game of poker, no less. 
My buyer? A Russian mobster who likes to collect pretty things. Now that I know the truth, I only have one choice.
Sink or swim.
And when one fateful night presents me the opportunity, I take it. I just never anticipated my actions would leave me shipwrecked with my kidnapper.
He needs me alive. I want him dead.
But as days turn into weeks, one thing becomes clear—I should hate him…but I don’t.
My name is Willow.
His name is Saint.
Ironic, isn’t it? He bears a name that denotes nothing but holiness yet delivers nothing but hell. However, if this is hell on earth…God, save my soul.  

Pre-Order Links /US


Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

Stalk Me!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authormonicajames 
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS
Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi

Excerpt:
The pillowcase and gag are certain to kill me soon, and if not, my racing heart will give out in next to no time. Arms link through mine from behind and help me stand. I know it’s the American. His fragrance gives him away. I stand wearily, but I will stagger to my death before anyone carries me. 
“Ten steps,” the American whispers from behind me. I flinch at his muffled voice through the pillowcase. He stands at my back, ensuring I don’t fall. I could mistake his actions for him giving half a shit, but it’s clear that wherever I’m going, they need me alive. If not, they would have killed me already. 
This isn’t a robbery. It’s a kidnapping. 
Once I shakily descend the ten steps, my feet hit the sand, and in any other circumstance, I could appreciate the softness between my toes. But when I’m pushed and shoved as the American no longer seems to be near, all I can appreciate is that I’m not dead—well, not yet anyway. 
Through the pillowcase, I can hear the gentle lapping of the ocean against the shore, but it’s none the wiser that three criminals are about to use it to aid in changing my world forever. When my feet tread water, I jolt with the sudden fear that they’re going to drown me. But that doesn’t make any sense.
If I’m going to survive this, I have to keep my head clear. 
“Boat. In,” says someone, maybe Russian two or one. They all sound the same. 
I’m yanked up—someone pulling on my floppy arms while the other lifts my legs—and I feel like a chew toy being ripped into two. Once I’m dragged onto the boat, I’m directed on where to go as someone shoves me in the back, screaming at me in a language I don’t understand. 
I’m then forced down some stairs where I lose my footing and fall flat onto my stomach. Grunting on impact, I instantly search around, hoping to distinguish where I am—I’m in the bottom of the boat. The galley. 
“Stay,” someone commands, ensuring I be the good dog they clearly see me as being. 
Fuck them.
I rise slowly, using my hands as eyes as I feel my way around blindly. I need to find a weapon. One small enough to hide. Blood is seeping into my eyes from the wound on my temple, so I close them because I can’t see through this thick pillowcase anyway. 
My fingers come into contact with what feels like a small torch. Not the weapon I had in mind, but it’ll have to do. 
I’m interrupted when I hear someone tsk me before I’m being dragged by my long hair and hurled against what feels like a cushioned bench seat. The pain in my head just amplifies. “Arms behind. Hands together.” 
I shakily comply, sobbing around the gag. 
He reaches around me, and when the unmistakable feel of metal snaps around my wrists, I know my freedom is dwindling by the second. He yanks at the handcuffs to ensure they are tight. They are. 
My breathless panting reveals my fear, but when I feel the predatory touch at the back of my calves, I freeze. Two hands glide up and down my flesh, humming in satisfaction. He’s on his knees before me. 
Oh, god.
“You pretty.” His English is broken, but I’m not lost in translation. I know what he wants. 
 “We going to have fun, and it’ll be our secret.” Next, I feel a wet tongue lap its way up the side of my calf. The smell of cigarettes and sweat has my stomach roiling. 
Adrenaline takes over, and I attempt to kick him, but he’s too fast, chuckling as he pushes down on my ankles. He then begins to bound them with coarse rope. 
Once he tugs at my restraints, it sounds like he stands. I try to kick my feet out, but they’re tied to something hard beneath me. I’m bound. Hands and feet. And gagged. I’m not going anywhere. 
“She tied up?” I almost sigh in relief when I hear the American. He was the only one who showed me an iota of mercy. The other two scare me. The American doesn’t. 
“Yes, like a present. You want to unwrap her?” 
I suddenly feel so objectified and dirty and attempt to recoil, but I can’t move. My heart is racing, and my breathing is uneven. The tears have long dried as I’m awaiting their next move. 
“Shut the fuck up and let’s go.” 
That was not the response I was expecting. The Russian laughs. 
“Calm down, неудачник.”
“Fuck you. Up on deck now.” The American talks big and seems to be calling the shots. I wonder who he is?
My only clue to what’s going on is what I hear, and before the hatch closes, I’m presented with clue number one. “Be in Turkey soon. I hope you don’t get seasick, Saint.” Then the hatch closes, leaving me with the sound of the muted voices above me. 
Turkey? Why are we going there? But more importantly, I just uncovered the name of my American captor…Saint. 
Ironic, isn’t it, that someone who bears a name denoting nothing but holiness can deliver nothing but hell. 
Bon voyage. 


Thursday, April 12, 2018

COVER REVEAL + EXCERPT: Absinthe of The Heart by Monica James



Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


I just added Absinthe Of The Heart by Monica James to my reading list.  This May 14th release is the first book in the Sins of the Heart series.    Read an excerpt below.


SUMMARY
Two households, unlike in dignity, in the City of Angels is where we lay our scene… 
London Sinclair was the boy my mother warned me about for as long as I can remember. His name alone has brought my family nothing but shame and suffering, so it’s no surprise we’ve been sworn enemies since the first moment we met. 
With his bedroom eyes and cocky smile, he has all the girls under his spell. I have one more year of school left, and then I’m home free because I’m guarding a secret, one I’m ashamed to keep. 
The boy who is completely off-limits is the one who drives me, Holland Brooks, wild. I want London, and I think…he wants me, too. 
Some may compare it to a Shakespearian tragedy, as our surnames have fated our future, but when a single night changes my life forever, I can’t leave the City of Angels fast enough. 
Ten years later, I have atoned for my sins and return to Los Angeles a changed woman. I’ve come home to get married. But the moment London walks back into my life, one thing is clear. Ten years can’t undo that night—that single, sinful night when I gave into temptation—because I want to do it again. 

LINKS



EXCERPT
Before I get a chance to scold him, he presses his chest to mine and slowly reaches behind me. We’re caught in a deadlock. I’m barely breathing while he licks his bowed upper lip, unaffected. I shuffle backward, uncaring that I’ll probably fall off the edge because that alternative is far better than burying my nose into the length of his neck. He smells so good. I just want to take a bite.
But up goes my guard as I refuse to succumb to this insanity a second longer. “This is a new low, even for you. Manhandling a defenseless, injured woman.”
He has the gall to laugh. “You? Defenseless? That is one word I would never associate with you, Princess.” When that momentous nickname slips past his lips, we both freeze, him gingerly meeting my eyes.
A thousand emotions are reflected deep within those shadowy depths, transporting us both back to being seventeen. And just like that, my walls crumble. He clears his throat while I avert my eyes, focusing on a lone beer bottle cap on the floor. 
There are bottles clinking and some sort of rustling happening behind me, but I don’t dare turn around to see what the commotion is. When he finally pulls away, I take a breath, but it’s in vain because he drops to his knees before me.
I have no idea what he’s doing until he lifts my injured ankle and presses a dishcloth filled with ice to the swollen flesh. The relief is instant, so I don’t fight it. I watch as he tends to me, on his knees, as it’s a sight I never thought I’d see. I envisioned London on his knees, begging for forgiveness more times than I care to admit, but this is different.
Something is selfless, almost repentant about his actions, and I can’t take pleasure in seeing him this way. 
“Here.” He breaks the silence when he offers me his cell from his back pocket. My brain short-circuits. Not only is he tending to my wounds, but he’s now giving me a lifeline to get the hell out of here. But now that it’s within reach, I don’t want it as desperately as I thought I did.
Regardless, I accept the offering. The screen lights up with a picture of an adorable black Labrador. I don’t know why, but it throws me.
This is a part of London’s life, and I begin to wonder what else he holds close to his heart.
Over the past ten years, I exorcised London from every crevice of my mind and body, never allowing myself to slip back into the past. But being here now, I can’t help but be curious, especially because he looks different…he looks happy.


About the Author: 
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life.
She is a bestselling author in the U.S., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.


Facebook:
Web: 


Monday, June 26, 2017

NEW RELEASE REVIEW: Forgetting You, Forgetting Me by Monica James

Get ready to hop on a 5-star emotional roller coaster ride!  Check out my spoiler-free review of Forgetting You, Forgetting Me 
by Monica James 
#ForgettingYouForgettingMe

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

FORGETTING YOU, FORGETTING ME
Monica James

Series: Memories From Yesterday Book 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: June 26th 2017
German Rights sold to: Heyne, Random House

Order Now:
AmazonKindle: http://amzn.to/2taShWs
Amazon Paperback: http://amzn.to/2tcGyqO
iBooks: bit.ly/FYFMiBooks
Nook: bit.ly/FYFMNook
Kobo: bit.ly/FYFMKobo

Synopsis:
My name is Lucy Tucker, and my life…it was perfect.
I worked the dream job. I had the most incredible family and friends. My home, Whispering Willows, a ranch in Montana, was everything I could ever wish for. My adoring fiancé, Samuel Stone, loved me unconditionally.
I had everything a girl could ever want.
But one fateful event shattered my perfect life. It’s unimaginable how simple, ordinary words can change a person’s life forever. For me those words were, “There’s been an accident.”
I thought Sam was my forever, but that forever came to a close the day Saxon Stone, Sam’s identical twin brother, came back. Saxon returned to Montana to help save Sam, however, the moment he entered my life, he turned my world upside down. But through chaos I somehow found clarity—clarity of who I was meant to be.
As time progressed, as seasons changed, and as a fire began to burn, I soon realized that Saxon was there for another reason…he was there to help save me.

Review of Forgetting You, Forgetting Me
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I LOVED THIS BOOK! Review to follow!

“There’s been an accident.” These are some of the last words you want to hear, especially on your wedding day. Lucy was set to marry the love of her life, until she wasn’t. Samuel is on death’s doorstep, and there is only one person that can save him, his identical twin brother Saxon. Saxon is the black sheep of the family and has had zero contact with his brother for years. She is left to deal with the physical and emotional wreckage of Samuel’s accident. She is also left to deal with Saxon. Lucy is heartbroken and left questioning everything about her relationship. That's all I'm going to say. You need to go into this book blind!

Lucy, Samuel, and Saxon’s story is going to rock your world. I thought I knew where this story was headed and then BOOM! MASSIVE PLOT TWIST. Forgetting You, Forgetting Me was full of emotional plot twists and turns. My head was spinning, and my heart hurt until the very end. There is no chance I will forget this book anytime soon. This might be my favorite book by Monica James. WOW.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.


Author Links
Instagram: @authormonicajames

Skimlinks Test