google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog - Monica James
Showing posts with label Monica James. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Monica James. Show all posts
Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Bad Saint by Monica James Cover Reveal & Excerpt

Check out the cover, synopsis, and an excerpt from Bad Saint by Monica James.  This is the first book in Monica's new All The Pretty Things dark romance trilogy.  I have a feeling this author is going to have us on the edge of our seats.  Bring it on! 

New dark romance book

BAD SAINT
Volume One 
Monica James
Release date: May 6th 2019 
Series: All The Pretty Things Trilogy, Volume One  
Genre: Dark Romance 
Cover Designer: Sommer Stein— Perfect Pear Creative Covers

Synopsis:
I was kidnapped on my honeymoon by three masked men.
Blindfolded.
Bound.
Destination unknown.
I was told to stay silent and abide by their rules. But they didn’t realize I wasn’t a victim…not anymore.
The open sea was my backdrop for nine torturous days. During that time, glimmers of my fate were revealed by a man with the mysterious chartreuse-colored eyes. He should have scared me, but he didn’t.
He intrigued me. And I intrigued him.
He punished me when I didn’t listen, which was every single day. But beneath his cruelty, I sensed he was guarding a grave secret.
I was sold. 
And in a game of poker, no less. 
My buyer? A Russian mobster who likes to collect pretty things. Now that I know the truth, I only have one choice.
Sink or swim.
And when one fateful night presents me the opportunity, I take it. I just never anticipated my actions would leave me shipwrecked with my kidnapper.
He needs me alive. I want him dead.
But as days turn into weeks, one thing becomes clear—I should hate him…but I don’t.
My name is Willow.
His name is Saint.
Ironic, isn’t it? He bears a name that denotes nothing but holiness yet delivers nothing but hell. However, if this is hell on earth…God, save my soul.  

Pre-Order Links /US


Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S.A., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends. 

Stalk Me!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authormonicajames 
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2E3eCIw
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2EWZSyS
Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2nUaRyi

Excerpt:
The pillowcase and gag are certain to kill me soon, and if not, my racing heart will give out in next to no time. Arms link through mine from behind and help me stand. I know it’s the American. His fragrance gives him away. I stand wearily, but I will stagger to my death before anyone carries me. 
“Ten steps,” the American whispers from behind me. I flinch at his muffled voice through the pillowcase. He stands at my back, ensuring I don’t fall. I could mistake his actions for him giving half a shit, but it’s clear that wherever I’m going, they need me alive. If not, they would have killed me already. 
This isn’t a robbery. It’s a kidnapping. 
Once I shakily descend the ten steps, my feet hit the sand, and in any other circumstance, I could appreciate the softness between my toes. But when I’m pushed and shoved as the American no longer seems to be near, all I can appreciate is that I’m not dead—well, not yet anyway. 
Through the pillowcase, I can hear the gentle lapping of the ocean against the shore, but it’s none the wiser that three criminals are about to use it to aid in changing my world forever. When my feet tread water, I jolt with the sudden fear that they’re going to drown me. But that doesn’t make any sense.
If I’m going to survive this, I have to keep my head clear. 
“Boat. In,” says someone, maybe Russian two or one. They all sound the same. 
I’m yanked up—someone pulling on my floppy arms while the other lifts my legs—and I feel like a chew toy being ripped into two. Once I’m dragged onto the boat, I’m directed on where to go as someone shoves me in the back, screaming at me in a language I don’t understand. 
I’m then forced down some stairs where I lose my footing and fall flat onto my stomach. Grunting on impact, I instantly search around, hoping to distinguish where I am—I’m in the bottom of the boat. The galley. 
“Stay,” someone commands, ensuring I be the good dog they clearly see me as being. 
Fuck them.
I rise slowly, using my hands as eyes as I feel my way around blindly. I need to find a weapon. One small enough to hide. Blood is seeping into my eyes from the wound on my temple, so I close them because I can’t see through this thick pillowcase anyway. 
My fingers come into contact with what feels like a small torch. Not the weapon I had in mind, but it’ll have to do. 
I’m interrupted when I hear someone tsk me before I’m being dragged by my long hair and hurled against what feels like a cushioned bench seat. The pain in my head just amplifies. “Arms behind. Hands together.” 
I shakily comply, sobbing around the gag. 
He reaches around me, and when the unmistakable feel of metal snaps around my wrists, I know my freedom is dwindling by the second. He yanks at the handcuffs to ensure they are tight. They are. 
My breathless panting reveals my fear, but when I feel the predatory touch at the back of my calves, I freeze. Two hands glide up and down my flesh, humming in satisfaction. He’s on his knees before me. 
Oh, god.
“You pretty.” His English is broken, but I’m not lost in translation. I know what he wants. 
 “We going to have fun, and it’ll be our secret.” Next, I feel a wet tongue lap its way up the side of my calf. The smell of cigarettes and sweat has my stomach roiling. 
Adrenaline takes over, and I attempt to kick him, but he’s too fast, chuckling as he pushes down on my ankles. He then begins to bound them with coarse rope. 
Once he tugs at my restraints, it sounds like he stands. I try to kick my feet out, but they’re tied to something hard beneath me. I’m bound. Hands and feet. And gagged. I’m not going anywhere. 
“She tied up?” I almost sigh in relief when I hear the American. He was the only one who showed me an iota of mercy. The other two scare me. The American doesn’t. 
“Yes, like a present. You want to unwrap her?” 
I suddenly feel so objectified and dirty and attempt to recoil, but I can’t move. My heart is racing, and my breathing is uneven. The tears have long dried as I’m awaiting their next move. 
“Shut the fuck up and let’s go.” 
That was not the response I was expecting. The Russian laughs. 
“Calm down, неудачник.”
“Fuck you. Up on deck now.” The American talks big and seems to be calling the shots. I wonder who he is?
My only clue to what’s going on is what I hear, and before the hatch closes, I’m presented with clue number one. “Be in Turkey soon. I hope you don’t get seasick, Saint.” Then the hatch closes, leaving me with the sound of the muted voices above me. 
Turkey? Why are we going there? But more importantly, I just uncovered the name of my American captor…Saint. 
Ironic, isn’t it, that someone who bears a name denoting nothing but holiness can deliver nothing but hell. 
Bon voyage. 


Thursday, April 12, 2018

COVER REVEAL + EXCERPT: Absinthe of The Heart by Monica James



Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog


I just added Absinthe Of The Heart by Monica James to my reading list.  This May 14th release is the first book in the Sins of the Heart series.    Read an excerpt below.


SUMMARY
Two households, unlike in dignity, in the City of Angels is where we lay our scene… 
London Sinclair was the boy my mother warned me about for as long as I can remember. His name alone has brought my family nothing but shame and suffering, so it’s no surprise we’ve been sworn enemies since the first moment we met. 
With his bedroom eyes and cocky smile, he has all the girls under his spell. I have one more year of school left, and then I’m home free because I’m guarding a secret, one I’m ashamed to keep. 
The boy who is completely off-limits is the one who drives me, Holland Brooks, wild. I want London, and I think…he wants me, too. 
Some may compare it to a Shakespearian tragedy, as our surnames have fated our future, but when a single night changes my life forever, I can’t leave the City of Angels fast enough. 
Ten years later, I have atoned for my sins and return to Los Angeles a changed woman. I’ve come home to get married. But the moment London walks back into my life, one thing is clear. Ten years can’t undo that night—that single, sinful night when I gave into temptation—because I want to do it again. 

LINKS



EXCERPT
Before I get a chance to scold him, he presses his chest to mine and slowly reaches behind me. We’re caught in a deadlock. I’m barely breathing while he licks his bowed upper lip, unaffected. I shuffle backward, uncaring that I’ll probably fall off the edge because that alternative is far better than burying my nose into the length of his neck. He smells so good. I just want to take a bite.
But up goes my guard as I refuse to succumb to this insanity a second longer. “This is a new low, even for you. Manhandling a defenseless, injured woman.”
He has the gall to laugh. “You? Defenseless? That is one word I would never associate with you, Princess.” When that momentous nickname slips past his lips, we both freeze, him gingerly meeting my eyes.
A thousand emotions are reflected deep within those shadowy depths, transporting us both back to being seventeen. And just like that, my walls crumble. He clears his throat while I avert my eyes, focusing on a lone beer bottle cap on the floor. 
There are bottles clinking and some sort of rustling happening behind me, but I don’t dare turn around to see what the commotion is. When he finally pulls away, I take a breath, but it’s in vain because he drops to his knees before me.
I have no idea what he’s doing until he lifts my injured ankle and presses a dishcloth filled with ice to the swollen flesh. The relief is instant, so I don’t fight it. I watch as he tends to me, on his knees, as it’s a sight I never thought I’d see. I envisioned London on his knees, begging for forgiveness more times than I care to admit, but this is different.
Something is selfless, almost repentant about his actions, and I can’t take pleasure in seeing him this way. 
“Here.” He breaks the silence when he offers me his cell from his back pocket. My brain short-circuits. Not only is he tending to my wounds, but he’s now giving me a lifeline to get the hell out of here. But now that it’s within reach, I don’t want it as desperately as I thought I did.
Regardless, I accept the offering. The screen lights up with a picture of an adorable black Labrador. I don’t know why, but it throws me.
This is a part of London’s life, and I begin to wonder what else he holds close to his heart.
Over the past ten years, I exorcised London from every crevice of my mind and body, never allowing myself to slip back into the past. But being here now, I can’t help but be curious, especially because he looks different…he looks happy.


About the Author: 
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life.
She is a bestselling author in the U.S., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.


Facebook:
Web: 


Monday, June 26, 2017

NEW RELEASE REVIEW: Forgetting You, Forgetting Me by Monica James

Get ready to hop on a 5-star emotional roller coaster ride!  Check out my spoiler-free review of Forgetting You, Forgetting Me 
by Monica James 
#ForgettingYouForgettingMe

Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog

FORGETTING YOU, FORGETTING ME
Monica James

Series: Memories From Yesterday Book 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: June 26th 2017
German Rights sold to: Heyne, Random House

Order Now:
AmazonKindle: http://amzn.to/2taShWs
Amazon Paperback: http://amzn.to/2tcGyqO
iBooks: bit.ly/FYFMiBooks
Nook: bit.ly/FYFMNook
Kobo: bit.ly/FYFMKobo

Synopsis:
My name is Lucy Tucker, and my life…it was perfect.
I worked the dream job. I had the most incredible family and friends. My home, Whispering Willows, a ranch in Montana, was everything I could ever wish for. My adoring fiancé, Samuel Stone, loved me unconditionally.
I had everything a girl could ever want.
But one fateful event shattered my perfect life. It’s unimaginable how simple, ordinary words can change a person’s life forever. For me those words were, “There’s been an accident.”
I thought Sam was my forever, but that forever came to a close the day Saxon Stone, Sam’s identical twin brother, came back. Saxon returned to Montana to help save Sam, however, the moment he entered my life, he turned my world upside down. But through chaos I somehow found clarity—clarity of who I was meant to be.
As time progressed, as seasons changed, and as a fire began to burn, I soon realized that Saxon was there for another reason…he was there to help save me.

Review of Forgetting You, Forgetting Me
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I LOVED THIS BOOK! Review to follow!

“There’s been an accident.” These are some of the last words you want to hear, especially on your wedding day. Lucy was set to marry the love of her life, until she wasn’t. Samuel is on death’s doorstep, and there is only one person that can save him, his identical twin brother Saxon. Saxon is the black sheep of the family and has had zero contact with his brother for years. She is left to deal with the physical and emotional wreckage of Samuel’s accident. She is also left to deal with Saxon. Lucy is heartbroken and left questioning everything about her relationship. That's all I'm going to say. You need to go into this book blind!

Lucy, Samuel, and Saxon’s story is going to rock your world. I thought I knew where this story was headed and then BOOM! MASSIVE PLOT TWIST. Forgetting You, Forgetting Me was full of emotional plot twists and turns. My head was spinning, and my heart hurt until the very end. There is no chance I will forget this book anytime soon. This might be my favorite book by Monica James. WOW.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.


Author Links
Instagram: @authormonicajames

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

COVER REVEAL & BOOK GIVEAWAY: Forgetting You, Forgetting Me by Monica James

I just added Forgetting You, Forgetting Me by Monica James to my TBR.  Enter for a chance to win a copy on release day! 
Kindle Crack Book Reviews


Series: Memories From Yesterday Book 1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: June 26th 2017
German Rights sold to: Heyne, Random House

Pre-order Now:


Synopsis:
My name is Lucy Tucker, and my life…it was perfect.
I worked the dream job. I had the most incredible family and friends. My home, Whispering Willows, a ranch in Montana, was everything I could ever wish for. My adoring fiancé, Samuel Stone, loved me unconditionally.
I had everything a girl could ever want.
But one fateful event shattered my perfect life. It’s unimaginable how simple, ordinary words can change a person’s life forever. For me those words were, “There’s been an accident.”
I thought Sam was my forever, but that forever came to a close the day Saxon Stone, Sam’s identical twin brother, came back. Saxon returned to Montana to help save Sam, however, the moment he entered my life, he turned my world upside down. But through chaos I somehow found clarity—clarity of who I was meant to be.
As time progressed, as seasons changed, and as a fire began to burn, I soon realized that Saxon was there for another reason…he was there to help save me.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.
When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life. 
She is a bestselling author in the U.S., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.
Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.


Author Links
Instagram: @MonicaJames

GIVEAWAY:
3 E-Books of FORGETTING YOU, FORGETTING ME on release day 

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

COVER REVEAL: Wicked Dix by Monica James

I am HUGE Monica James fan!  Check out Wicked Dix (Book 2: A Hard Love Romance) series. 

 ***COVER REVEAL*** 
WICKED DIX by Monica James
Book 2 in A HARD LOVE ROMANCE
Genre: Erotica
Publisher: Bookouture
Release date: March 24th 2016
Pre-order linksUS: http://amzn.to/1RltzDK

I’ve always been a bad boy, with a very wicked reputation.

But then I met Madison – sweet, vulnerable, innocent Madison. She makes me feel as if there is hope for me. As if I could be a good man. I need her more than I need air to breathe.

There’s just one problem: Juliet. She’s a temptress who won’t take no for an answer. If I resist her, she’ll use our dirty secret to ruin everything with Madison.

I don’t want to lose Madison, but can I really change?

This is my chance to prove that I can.  But it’s going to be one hell of a ride.

Are you ready?

Seriously sexy and totally addictive, Wicked Dix is the second in the Hard Love Romance series. Find out how it all began…Dirty Dix OUT NOW.


Book 1: DIRTY DIX

Read what everyone is saying about Dirty Dix:
'This book. This book knocked me on my butt, it twisted me up in knots and consumed me until the end. Just be warned, it is not your typical romance. It's a wild ride with a naughty, naughty man.' Kendall Ryan

'THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD! I fell hard for Dixon…I would give it more than 5 stars if I had them.’ Wicked Good Reads

'Wickedly sexy, provocative and daring with the right dose of the quintessential bad boy...' Heidi McLaughlin

'Monica James is a master of story telling that holds you captive with memorable story lines, intriguing characters, steamy scenes and unexpected twists and turns. You will devour every word she offers.I am officially addicted to Dixon Mathews.' Rachel Brookes

'A captivating, witty, and sexy read. Monica James has written an intoxicating novel that will leave you on the edge of your seat and thirsting for more when it's all over.' Justine Elvira

'Monica James has created another character that I couldn’t get enough of. Dr Dixon Mathews’ kept me addicted until the very last page.' Lisa Edward

'I am addicted to three things: carbs, books, and Monica James. I devoured this!' CJ Roberts
Saturday, September 12, 2015

Cover Reveal: Addicted To Sin by Monica James

I just added this one to my reading list!  Check out Addicted To Sin by Monica James.

Title: Addicted To Sin
Series: Book #1 in the Sinful Pleasures Series
Author: Monica James
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Bookoture
Release Date: October 8th, 2015

Blurb

Tell me your deepest, darkest secrets. I dare you.

Addiction comes down to one simple, primitive concept. Desire.

My name is Dr. Dixon Matthews, and I’m New York’s finest shrink. For $500 an hour, people tell me their darkest, most sinful secrets.

My own addiction?  Sex. A good f**k really is the best medicine. 

I might be certified in solving other people’s problems, but not mine –
I know I’m a lost cause. I don’t do relationships.  I don’t even do the same woman twice.

But that’s all about to change, thanks to two entirely different women who awaken my deepest desires.

Who will I choose?

I know who I should choose, but I never said I was the hero of this story, or even the good guy. And besides, who wants to be good, when it feels so good being bad?

My tale isn’t for the fainthearted. If you’re game, strap yourself in and expect the unexpected.  But don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Author Bio
Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare and Emily Dickinson. When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers, and her inspiration comes from every day life. She is an Amazon best selling author in the US, UK, Canada and Australia. Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.

Author Links
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormonicajames
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monicajames81
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/MonicaJames
Website: http://monicajamesbooks.blogspot.com.au/
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/monicajames81/

Friday, August 9, 2013

Just Reviewed - I Surrender by Monica James

I Surrender (I Surrender, #1)I Surrender by Monica James

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Ava picks up and leaves everything – college, family and friends to follow her boyfriend to live in Singapore. Then he breaks up with her in a karaoke bar (such a huge dbag!) Ava is completely devastated from the breakup and returns home to LA and moves in with her best friend V. V. drags her track wreck of a best friend out on the town to meet her boyfriend who happens to be in a popular local band. She meets V’s boyfriends' bandmate--Jasper. They have the whole insta-chemistry thing going on. Ava and Jasper decide they can only be friends since she is still nursing a broken heart from her break up with the overseas dbag. Then there is the issue of Jasper’s girlfriend! She learns that he is in an on/off again relationship with some blonde bimbo. Finally, timing is right for the two friends to make a go at a real relationship. Ava emotionally sabotages herself and ends up pushing Jasper away. Their relationship is peppered with a lot of miscommunication related drama and trust issues. She is terrified to about having to have her heart broken again. Jasper has his own set of emotional baggage he is dealing with. Will she finally allow herself to love and trust again? Will Jasper figure out how to be in a “real” relationship? Will he stop kissing his ex? That’s just the start.

I loved the way this story developed. I felt like I was in Ava's head and heart as the story unfolded. Yes, there were times I want to drop kick her when she was in self-destruct mode. Arghhhh…She reminded me a lot of Kiera from SC. Stephens Thoughtless series. What is there not to like about Jasper…he’s hot, plays in a band, has cerulean blue eyes and works in an animal shelter! I loved that he was a straight shooter most of the time...except for some of his douchey behavior with his ex-girlfriend. I am hooked on this series. There is a cliff hanger. I Surrender....Monica James!!! I'm begging for book two.

Review copy received by the publisher in exchange for a fair an honest review.

Buy this book on Amazon:
https://amzn.to/2UdlOfS


Monday, June 10, 2013

Friday's Five - From June 7, 2013

Welcome to Fridays Five. Every Friday I will be showcasing five new books that caught my eye, five books I recently read and loved and five books I can’t wait to be released. You might find your next new favorite book on here. Authors please let me know what you are working on. I’m always looking for new Kindle Crack. 

Five new books that caught my eye this week:
In To Deep by Brandy Rivers
I Surrender Monica James 
Finally (Windy City) Scarlett Jade - Author 
Private Message Author Danielle Torella 
Life Altering Beautiful by T.A. Hardenbrook 

Five books I can't wait to read: 
Pulse (Collide book 2) Author- Gail McHugh 
Real Ripped and Raw (Real 2) Katy Evans 
This Man Confessed (This Man #3) by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Torn (Connections #2) by Author Kim Karr 
Losing Hope (Hopeless #2) by Colleen Hoover 

Five books I recently read and loved – Total Kindle Crack: 
Beauty from Surrender (Beauty from Pain book 2) by Georgia Cates (Young Adult Author) 
Cautious (Disastrous book 2) by E.L. Montes 
Dangerous to Know & Love Jane Harvey Berrick 
If I Were You (The Inside Out Trilogy) by Lisa Renee Jones
Falling Into You by Lauren Abrams