google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog - January 2019 Book Releases
Showing posts with label January 2019 Book Releases. Show all posts
Showing posts with label January 2019 Book Releases. Show all posts
Wednesday, January 16, 2019

SNEAK PEEK: We Shouldn't by Vi Keeland

Book cover of We Shouldn't on Kindle Crack Book Reviews


SNEAK PEEK

Read a short sneak peek from chapter two below or grab the full, first two chapters here:
https://dl.bookfunnel.com/qi0wfckd79

Figures.
It was the gorgeous guy I’d seen in the elevator. And here I thought we’d had a little spark. 
Bennett Fox grinned like he’d already been named my boss and extended his hand. “Welcome to Foster Burnett.”
Ugh. He wasn’t just good looking; he knew it, too. 
“That would be Foster, Burnett and Wren, as of a few weeks ago, right?” I iced my subtle reminder that this was now our place of employment with a smile, suddenly thankful my parents had made me wear braces until I was nearly sixteen. 
“Of course.” My new nemesis smiled just as brightly. Apparently his parents had sprung for orthodontic care, too. 
Bennett Fox was also tall. I once read an article that said the average height of a man in the US was five-foot-nine-and-a-half inches; less than fifteen percent of men stood taller than six feet. Yet the average height of more than sixty-eight percent of Fortune 500 CEOs was over six feet. Subconsciously, we related size to power in more ways than just brawn. 
Andrew was six foot two. I’d guess this guy was about the same.
Bennett pulled out the guest chair next to him. “Please, have a seat.”
Tall and with gentlemanly manners. I disliked him already.
During the ensuing twenty-minute pep talk given by Jonas Stern—in which he attempted to convince us we weren’t vying for the same position, but instead forging the way as leaders of the now-largest ad agency in the United States—I stole glances at Bennett Fox. 
Shoes: definitely expensive. Conservative, oxford in style, but with a modern edge of topstitching. Ferragamo would be my guess. Big feet, too.
Suit: dark navy, tailored to fit his tall, broad frame. The kind of understated luxury that said he had money, but didn’t need to flaunt it to impress you. 
He had one long leg casually crossed over the other knee, as if we were discussing the weather rather than being told everything we’d worked twelve hours a day, six days a week for was suddenly at risk of being in vain.
At one point, Jonas had said something we both agreed with, and we looked at each other, nodding. Given the opportunity for a closer inspection, my eyes roamed his handsome face. Strong jaw, daringly straight, perfect nose—the type of bone structure passed down from generation to generation that was better and more useful than any monetary inheritance. But his eyes were the showstopper: a deep, penetrating green that popped from his smooth, tanned skin. Those were currently staring right at me.
I looked away, returning my attention to Jonas. “So what happens at the end of the ninety-day integration period? Will there be two Creative Directors of West Coast Marketing?”
Jonas looked back and forth between us and sighed. “No. But no one is going to lose his or her job. I was just about to tell Bennett the news. Rob Gatts announced he’ll be retiring in a few months. So there will be a position opening up for a creative director to replace him.”
I had no idea what that meant. But apparently Bennett did. 
“So one of us gets shipped off to Dallas to replace Rob in the southwest region?” he asked.
Jonas’s face told me Bennett wouldn’t be happy about the prospect of heading to Texas. “Yes.”
All three of us let that sink in for a moment. The possibility of having to relocate to Texas shifted my mind back into gear, though. 
“Who will make the decision?” I asked. “Because obviously you’ve been working with Bennett…”
Jonas shook his head and waved off what I was beginning to question. “Decisions like this—where two senior management positions are being merged into one office—the board will oversee and make the final determination of who gets first pick.”
Bennett was just as confused as me. “The board members don’t work with us on a daily basis.”
“No, they don’t. So they’ve come up with a method of making their decision.”
“Which is?” 
“It’ll be based on three major client pitches. You’ll both come up with campaigns on your own and present them. The clients will pick which they like best.”
Bennett looked rattled for the first time. His perfect composure and self-assuredness took a hit as he leaned forward and raked long fingers through his hair. 
“You’ve got to be kidding me. More than ten years, and my job here comes down to a few pitches? I’ve landed half-a-billion dollars of ad accounts for this company.”
“I’m sorry, Bennett. I really am. But one of the conditions of the Wren merger was that due consideration be given to the Wren employees in positions that might be eliminated because of duplicity. The deal almost didn’t go through because Mrs. Wren was so insistent that she not sell her husband’s company, only to have the new organization strip away all of Wren’s hard-working employees.”
That made me smile. Mr. Wren was taking care of his employees even after he was gone. 
“I’m up for the challenge.” I looked at Bennett, who was clearly pissed off. “May the best woman win.”
He scowled. “You mean man.”
★★★★★
We hope you enjoyed this sneak peek of We Shouldn’t!

WANT MORE?
You can grab the full first two chapters here:
https://dl.bookfunnel.com/qi0wfckd79

RELEASING JANUARY 21st! 
Sign up for Vi’s mailing list and/or Text alerts and be the first one notified when it goes live! https://www.subscribepage.com/i6h3o5 

Prefer texts? 
Text the word BOOKS to 77948
 to receive an alert when We Shouldn’t goes live. 
(You will only release new release alerts!)

Pre-orders available now:
Audio pre-order https://amzn.to/2LhhPrG
iBooks Pre-order  https://apple.co/2DCw4Gw
Amazon paperback https://amzn.to/2BMUwBt
Google Play http://smarturl.it/f6prjg
Add to Goodreads http://smarturl.it/f0wur9

Please note: There will not be an Amazon ebook pre-order, but it will be available on Amazon on release day.
Monday, January 14, 2019

NEW Book REVIEW + SIGNED PAPERBACK GIVEAWAY: Passing Grade by R.L. Kenderson

Check out my spoiler-free review of Passing Grade by R.L. Kenderson and enter for a chance to win one of two signed copies. 



Forbidden Romance Cover for Passing Grade by R.L. Kenderson
Passing Grade Synopsis:
I’ve always been a good girl.

Sure, I speed, I drank before I was 21, I’ve played hooky, and there was the one time I skipped class in high school.

But I’ve never gotten detention, been pulled over, fired, or arrested.

I’m a good girl.

Until I wasn’t.

I’m a bad, bad girl.

I’ve wanted to be a teacher as long as I can remember, and I would never do anything to give that up.

Until I meet Mace Wagner.

The first time I saw him, I thought he was the assistant football coach. He was tall, broad-shouldered, and the most beautiful man I’d ever seen.

I didn’t know he was my student.

I didn’t know he would screw my brains out.

I didn’t know I would fall in love with him.

I didn’t know I would risk everything to be with him.

Passing Grade deals with a student/teacher relationship. All individuals are over eighteen and consenting adults.


Buy Links:
iBooks: http://smarturl.it/RLPassingGradeiBooks
Nook: http://smarturl.it/RLPassingGradeBN
Google Play: http://smarturl.it/RLPassingGradeGP
Kobo: http://smarturl.it/RLPassingGradeKobo


Review of Passing Grade
Passing GradePassing Grade by R.L. Kenderson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Whoa... this was one heck of a dirty, sexy, and forbidden student-teacher romance. Eden is a twenty-five-year-old high school science teacher. She meets Mace at a football game and assumes that he’s an assistant football coach. Then Eden discovers that Mace isn’t her colleague, but her student. She fights her feelings, but the heart wants what the heart wants, and things get complicated.

I’m so used to reading the opposite type of story (older male teacher with a female/male younger student), so this was a little different for me. This fast and sexy read was good. Then it hit me. I have a son who is almost 18 and I would throat punch his teacher if she entered into this type of relationship with him (even if he initiated the whole thing). Come to think of it, I would be horrified by his poor judgment as well! Lucky this was only a book and not real life. I’m over it and enjoyed how this story played out.


Giveaway:

About the Authors:
Authors R.L. Kenderson on Kindle Crack Book Reviews


R.L. Kenderson is two best friends writing under one name.
Renae has always loved reading, and in third grade, she wrote her first poem where she learned she might have a knack for this writing thing. Lara remembers sneaking her grandmother’s Harlequin novels when she was probably too young to be reading them, and since then, she knew she wanted to write her own.
When they met in college, they bonded over their love of reading and the TV show Charmed. What really spiced up their friendship was when Lara introduced Renae to romance novels. When they discovered their first vampire romance, they knew there would always be a special place in their hearts for paranormal romance. After being unable to find certain storylines and characteristics they wanted to read about in the hundreds of books they consumed, they decided to write their own.
One lives in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area and the other in the Kansas City area where they’re a sonographer/stay-at-home mom/wife and pharmacist/mother by day, and together they’re a sexy author by night. They communicate through phone, email, and whole lot of messaging.
You can find them at http://www.rlkenderson.com, Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, Twitter, and Goodreads. Join their Facebook Reader Group. Or you can email them atrlkenderson@rlkenderson.com, or sign up for their newsletter here. They always love hearing from their readers.


Saturday, December 1, 2018

CHAPTER REVEAL: A Place Without You by Jewel E. Ann

A Place Without You, an all-new emotional, new adult romance from Jewel E. Ann is coming January 2nd, and we have a sneak peek for you!
Kindle Crack Book Reviews

The Law of Henna and Bodhi:
When love breaks, fall inward, fall together, and fall hard. Then let time pick up the pieces.

Everything feels temporary when you’ve experienced tragedy—until Henna Lane meets Bodhi at a music festival.

Young and spontaneous, they have a lust for seizing the moment, falling hard and fast.
When Bodhi is forced to leave without a goodbye, Henna thinks she’ll never get over him. But then she meets Mr. Malone, her sexy, new guidance counselor.

They are reckless.
They are forbidden.

When their secret is discovered, Henna has to choose between finishing school—banned from seeing Mr. Malone—or dropping out to follow her nomad dreams.

Henna chooses her dreams.
Over time, she learns that life is not a destination or a journey, some things are more than temporary, and the forbidden can never be ignored. But if she returns for him, will he still be hers?

A Place Without You is an emotional story of young love, shattered dreams, and impossible decisions.

Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2AHhTNT


Excerpt from Chapter One

His lips move. I stare at them for a few breaths before I realize he’s talking. My hand tugs out my earbud again. 
“Sorry. Did you say something?” 
“What are you listening to?” he asks in a voice as smooth as his Mediterranean eyes. 
“That’s kind of a personal question. Like asking my underwear color.”
He grins. It’s all kinds of wicked. “Personal?” He shrugs. “I don’t know about that. Depends on the song … and the color.” 
“Amy Shark, ‘Adore.’And red and silver polka dots.” 
“Mmm …” He nods slowly. “Good choice.” 
“The song?” I bite the corner of my lower lip to control my grin. 
“The underwear.” 
My heart wakes up as if to say, “Whoa, is something going on here I should know about?” 
“Wanna see mine?” 
My eyebrows lift a fraction. “Your underwear?” 
He digs his phone out of his front pocket. “Do I look like a perv? My song.” 
Damn. He’s good. My tummy joins in on the little dance happening inside of me. 
Twisting his wrist, he shows me his phone screen.
“Apocalyptica, ‘Nothing Else Matters.’ Hmm … that’s unexpected.” I let my gaze fall into his, a dangerous place to be. “You going to Coachella?” 
He nods several times, glancing over the seats to the road before us. “I’m working there.” 
“Oh, cool. Doing what?” 
He inspects my hair. I’d planned on changing clothes and doing something a bit more original with my crazy, dark auburn hair than a messy braid over one shoulder, but sushi dad took away my hotel room. Sexy stranger grins like either my question or my messy hair pleases him. “I’m an in-house tech—audio, lighting, video.” 
Dear God, he’s the full package, especially when that grin of his grows as I continue to violate him with my eyes. Maybe it’s just the lollipop I had on my way to the hotel. Everything seems aesthetically pleasing when I’m a little high. 
“So, I’ll know who to blame if the sound is a bit off while one of my favorite bands performs.” 
“You’ll know who to thank when it isn’t.” He leans toward the middle of the backseat. I follow his lead because I’m curious if he smells as good as he looks. “But I get this feeling that in your state, everything will sound good.” 
Ignoring his whispered accusation that I’m high, I sniff. “You smell like lemon.” 
He sticks his tongue out, revealing a half-melted lemon drop. 
I grin as we sit straight again. “Last year my mom brought back lemon drops from the Limoncello factory in Sorrento. They were amazing.” 
Sucking more intensely on his sour goodness, he nods slowly. “I’m sure they were. Sadly, I don’t think my lemon drop was made in Italy.” 
“That is incredibly sad.” 
He chuckles. Is he laughing at me?
“Nice tats.” He nods to my arms. 
Holding them out, I admire my art. “They’re henna, like me.” 
“Like you?” 
“Yes. My name is Henna. And these will be much more intense tomorrow.” 
“Like you?” His teeth scrape along his bottom lip. It’s ridiculously sexy. 
“Are you flirting with me?” 
He chuckles. “We met less than five minutes ago. I have a little more tact than that.” 
“Tact? Like asking the color of my underwear?”
He runs his hands over the legs of his jeans. Is he sweating? Am I making him sweat? That possibility gives me a whole other kind of high. 
“I didn’t ask. You freely offered that information. Besides, I have rules about flirting.” 
“Well, I despise rules, but you must share your rules anyway.” 
“Never flirt with someone who is not sober.” He stares out his window like his rule is the end of our friendly conversation. 
“Sober? Dude, this is as sober as I get.” Leaning forward, I shove down the waist of my shorts in back, exposing a long L-shaped scar.
He glances over, forehead wrinkled. 
“If I sit too long or stand too long or do anything too long, life kinda sucks. But a little high can go a long way with making said life a lot less sucky.” 
Sitting back, I exhale. Sexy stranger seems at a loss for words. 
“Tell me, tech guy, do you have a name?” 
The driver stops at the crowded entrance. 
“Thank you,” we say while getting out of the car. 

To read the rest of Chapter One, visit: 


About Jewel: 
Jewel is a free-spirited romance junkie with a quirky sense of humor.

With 10 years of flossing lectures under her belt, she took early retirement from her dental hygiene career to stay home with her three awesome boys and manage the family business. 

After her best friend of nearly 30 years suggested a few books from the Contemporary Romance genre, Jewel was hooked. Devouring two and three books a week but still craving more, she decided to practice sustainable reading, AKA writing. 

When she’s not donning her cape and saving the planet one tree at a time, she enjoys yoga with friends, good food with family, rock climbing with her kids, watching How I Met Your Mother reruns, and of course…heart-wrenching, tear-jerking, panty-scorching novels.

Connect with Jewel: 
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/authorjeweleann/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JewelE_Ann
Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/authorjeweleann/
BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/jewel-e-ann
Stay up to date with Jewel by joining her mailing list: 
http://www.jeweleann.com/free-booksubscribe/
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

COVER REVEAL: We Shouldn't by Vi Keeland




Kindle Crack Book Reviews
We Shouldn’t
Release date January 21, 2019
A Standalone Contemporary Romance 
#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Vi Keeland 

COVER CREDITS:
Model:  Lucas Bloms
Cover designer:  Sommer Stein, Perfect Pear Creative

SYNOPSIS
Bennett Fox walked into my life on one hell of a crappy Monday morning.

I was late for the first day at my new job—a job I’d now have to compete for even though I’d already worked eight years to earn it, because of an unexpected merger. 

While I lugged my belongings up to my new office, a meter maid wrote me a parking summons.

She’d ticketed a long line of cars—except for the Audi parked in front of me, which happened to be the same make and model as mine.

Annoyed, I decided to regift my ticket to the car that had evaded a fine.  Chances were, the owner would pay it and be none the wiser.

Except, I accidentally broke the windshield wiper while slipping the ticket onto the car’s window.

Seriously, my day couldn’t get any worse.
  
Things started to perk up when I ran into a gorgeous man in the elevator.  We had one of those brief moments that only happened in movies.
  
You know the deal…your body lights up, fireworks go off, and the air around you crackles with electricity.  

His heated stare left me flush when I stepped off the elevator.  

Maybe things here wouldn’t be so bad after all.  

Or so I thought.

Until I walked into my new boss’s office and met my competition.

The gorgeous man from the elevator was now my nemesis. His heated stare wasn’t because of any mutual attraction.  It was because he’d saw me vandalize his car. And now he couldn’t wait to annihilate his rival. 

There’s a fine line between love and hate—and we shouldn’t cross it.  

We shouldn’t—but straddling that line could be so much fun.

PURCHASE LINKS:
iBooks exclusive pre-order ➜ https://apple.co/2DCw4Gw
Amazon paperback ➜  https://amzn.to/2DEEuxb
Add to Goodreads ➜ http://smarturl.it/f0wur9

Sign up for Vi’s mailing list now and be the first one notified when it goes live!  
➜ https://www.subscribepage.com/i6h3o5


STAY TUNED ON JANUARY 16th FOR AN EXCERPT REVEAL OF WE SHOULDN’T!

About the Author:



Kindle Crack Book Reviews
Vi Keeland

Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author.   With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over a hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty-five languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.

Facebook Fan Group:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ViKeelandFanGroup/ 

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/vi.keeland 
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Vi-Keeland/435952616513958

Website
http://www.vikeeland.com

Twitter
@vikeeland 
https://twitter.com/ViKeeland

Instagram
@Vi_Keeland
http://instagram.com/Vi_Keeland/

Goodreads

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6887119.Vi_Keeland