google-site-verification: googleac360fc8074aac27.html google-site-verification: google6040e131018c9d7f.html Kindle Crack Book Reviews Blog -
Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Q&A with S.C. Stephens


1. Tell us about your writing process. Do you start with an idea or a character? 
I usually start with an idea, and the characters spring to life from there. Do you know what’s going to happen from the beginning or do you figure it out as you write? I typically have a general idea of where I want the story to end up, but things come to me as I’m writing, so the story often changes.

2. What was hardest about writing the story from Kellan’s perspective? 
I think the hardest part was making sure everything lined up with the first book. I went through Thoughtless page by page to make sure it was consistent. What was the most fun? Any scene where all of the guys were together. I love the camaraderie between the band members.

3. Were Kellan and the D-Bags inspired by a specific band? 
Not one in particular. I was listening to a lot of OneRepublic, The Fray, and Linkin’ Park at the time, so they are sort of a mixture of all three bands. How did you come up with the name? It came about while I was writing it. I was doing the scene where Griffin is talking about the T-shirts, and once he said Douchebags, I knew that was it. 

4. What’s your favorite quote or scene from THOUGHTFUL? 
Whether it’s from his point of view or hers, the rain scene is still my favorite.

5. If you had to pick one of the four D-Bags to date, who would you choose and why? 
Oh, man. Honestly, I don’t think I could date a rock star! But if I absolutely had to, it would have to be Kellan. Definitely.

$1,000 in Prizes - Sinister Desires Blog Hop Review & GIVEAWAY



SINISTER DESIRES is LIVE!!! 

Tired of hearts and flowers? Does the sight of teddy bears make you want to throw up in your mouth? Like your erotica as dark as your soul and just as twisted? Indulge your SINISTER DESIRES with these ten delectable tales of forbidden fancy from previously banned authors.  

BUY IT HERE: http://bit.ly/1yE7Iia enter code UB95K for 20% off!!!

Sounds amazing doesn’t it? And the authors are giving away over $1000 in prizes! We have no idea which prizes are going to each page so you must enter on every page in the hop to increase your chances. HOWEVER, you can win more than once and we heard one of the prizes is a $150 gift card.

Here’s how you enter:

1. Post a comment about any of the books in this anthology or tag a friend you think might enjoy them.
2. Share this post.
3. ONE LUCKY WINNER WILL RECEIVE ONE ecopy of SINISTER DESIRES!

Then hop on over to The Real Houswives of Romance page:  https://www.facebook.com/TheRealHousewivesofRomance/photos/p.410259922467186/410259922467186/?type=1&theater and enter the next giveaway!

**Facebook is not responsible in any way for this giveaway. The responsibility lies with the participating pages and CJ Roberts!**

READ FOUR REVIEWS FROM BOOKS INCLUDED IN THIS ANTHOLOGY:
Beneath The Burn by Pam Godwin - Read my review!

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.  Expected publication:  August 1, 2013

Charlee and Jay are two lost souls burned by life.  Their worlds collide and life as they know it will never be the same ever again.
Charlee’s father is a huge loser on so many levels.  He used his daughter as collateral to cover his gambling bets.  He lost his daughter and his own life to Roy.  At sixteen, Charlee is held hostage by a sadistic fuck named Roy…who happens to be an international business owner with a bank account to rival that of Bill Gates. She is forced to live her days chained up and sexually assaulted by Roy in his demented prison penthouse of horrors. Charlee does whatever she has to do to survive.  She creates her own invisible armor to block out her life with Roy.  Charlee gets a bitter sweet taste of freedom but is enslaved by her own demons and never free from him.

Jay is the tormented lead singer of the rock band – The Burn.  Everyday life is a struggle for the beautiful rock god. He is mentally held hostage by horrific childhood memories. Jay’s demons cause him to be repulsed by a strangers touch and ignite deep seeded panic and depression.  His horrific flashbacks antagonize his mind, body and soul.  He numbs his pain through playing his music, drug abuse and mindless sex with groupie sluts. Jay is damaged to the core - never allowing anyone or anything to touch him…to see the real him. One night after a show he walks into a tattoo parlor and allows a beautiful tattoo artist (who happens to be Charlee) to create a veil to cover up his physical scars.  Charlee’s art and her words pierce his heart and he longs to be freed as an emotional hostage to his twisted past.

“How had Jay survived his pain?  If he were hanging in the irons, what would he have done to guard his mind from splintering apart?  How resilient he must’ve been to carry the weight of so many wounds.  She wanted to borrow his strength, imagined it plated over her skin.”

A chance meeting in another time and place once again causes their paths collide.

“She has a memory of a man with a back full of scars.  Beneath the superficial damage was a devotion to survival, as instinct to dominate his future.  Most probably didn’t see that when they looked at him, but she hadn’t just recognized it, she’d felt it and wanted it.”
I don’t want to give away anything about this story.  I hate the word “epic”…but it’s the only way to describe this story….it’s fucking epic.  BtB is the ultimate emotional roller coaster ride of survival and second chances.    I recommend checking out the author’s content warning.  This gut wrenching story is not for everyone and not easily digestible.  It took me to this uncomfortable place and dangled me there to take it in. This story is so emotional and so well written that it will leave you captivated from the first page to the last. This isn’t a pretty hearts and flowers erotic tale of love…this ain’t your mamas 50 Shades of Grey kind of book ;) – so I wouldn’t loop in the same genre because of BDSM factor.

I don’t know where Pam Godwin came from…but I’m sure glad I found her and this book. Her character development is off the charts.  The way she crafted this dark and twisted story to unravel is breath taking and will make you cringe.  BtB is so incredibly raw… fucked up and is one hell of a hard core page turner. FIVE++ BURNING STARS.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/KindleCrack, Goodreads, Amazon and Twitter.

I'm speechless. WOW effing wow. Epic Kindle Crack. Review to follow.
ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.


Captive In The Dark By CJ Roberts - FIVE STARS FOR THE ENTIRE SERIES
Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet, #1)Captive in the Dark by C.J. Roberts
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Haunting... absolutely haunting.  I read Captive in the Dark based on other reviews and knew what I was getting into (I was hesitant about reading this book but wanted to mix it up a bit). I don't know where to start...raw, deep, dark and moving.  A total mind fuck.  I felt like I was trapped in both Caleb and Livvie's heads the whole time.  CJ Roberts writing style is amazing.


Facade by Ker Dukey & D.H. Sidebottom - FIVE STARS
Facade (Deception, #1)Facade by D.H. Sidebottom
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Title:  Facade
Author: Ker Dukey & D.H. Sidebottom
Series: Book #1
Release Date: September 29, 2014
Rating: 5.00 stars
Cliffhanger: Yes
Spoiler-free review

This is a hard book to review without giving away the plot. So I won't say much. You need to go into this book not knowing more than the synopsis gives away.

Star wakes up in a strange place not even knowing her name.  The only thing she does know is that she is being held captive by some evil group of men.  Dante, the ring leader of the group, forces himself on Star.  She hates that her body is betraying her, and she shouldn’t enjoy him touching her. Star starts to piece her life together as the fog lifts...but will it be too late? Is she a prisoner or a willing participant?   Well…you are going to have to read Façade and find out.

Façade is one hell of a dark and twisted roller coaster ride.  I knew going into this book that there was a cliffhanger. Don't let it scare you away.  Facade is one epic mind fuck of a story.  The plot was so original and unraveled like a bad acid trip at warp speed. If you are in the mood for a dark, well-written book this is the one to one click

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net , www.facebook.com/kindlecrack , Goodreads, Amazon, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Mind fuck on acid. Loved it! Review to follow.

Empathy - Ker Dukey & D.H. Sidebottom- FIVE STARS
Empathy (Empathy, #1)Empathy by Ker Dukey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Five twisted stars








Pre-Release Review, Signed Book Giveaway & Excerpt - Thoughtful by S.C. Stephens 5+ Stars



Thoughtful might be my all-time favorite book by S.C. Stephens!  Read my review and enter to win a signed copy of the entire series.  

Title: Thoughtful (Thoughtless #1.5)
Author: S.C. Stephens
Release Date: February 24, 2015


About THOUGHTFUL
In Thoughtless, Kiera told her story. Now it's time to hear from the sexy rock star who captivated us all . . .
The only place Kellan Kyle has ever felt at home is onstage. Gripping his guitar in a darkened bar, he can forget his painful past. These days his life revolves around three things: music, his bandmates, and hot hookups. Until one woman changes everything . . . Kiera is the kind of girl Kellan has no business wanting-smart, sweet, and dating his best friend. Certain he could never be worthy of her love, he hides his growing attraction . . . until Kiera's own tormented heart hints that his feelings might not be one-sided. Now, no matter the consequences, Kellan is sure of one thing-he won't let Kiera go without a fight.

Review of Thoughtful
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Title:  Thoughtful (Thoughtless #1.5)
Author: S.C. Stephens
Series: Yes
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Rating: 5.00+ stars
Spoiler-free review

I need a shot of tequila, a Xanax, 32 oz. coffee, a cold shower, and the willpower to pick up another book after reading Thoughtful 1.5 by S.C Stephens. I’m ruined after reading this book. Thoughtful rocked my world and has shaken me to my core. Welcome to Kellan 2.0!!!

I knew Kiera and Kellan’s story from reading Thoughtless--but Kellan’s POV was just brilliant. I am a ball of emotional wreckage and never expected THIS. Getting inside Kellan’s head was beyond epic and just sweet torture. He was so passionate, engaging and oh so effing HOT. Maybe off the charts Chernobyl nuclear reactor hot would cover it. I knew what Kiera went through, but to hear Kellan’s story through his words was incredible.

Please don't think for a millisecond that S.C. Stephens simply regurgitated the other books in this series in order to create a POV book, and it’s the same story. It's not...it’s BETTER! I feel like I read Thoughtless for the first time (remember that feeling S.C Stephens fans?). You thought you loved Kellan before...you just wait and see how THOUGHTFUL he really is.
Hands down this is the BEST POV book I have ever read. 5-6+ rock stars. This book is absolute Kindle Crack, and a must read.

This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, TSU, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.



About S.C. Stephens
S. C. Stephens is a #1 bestselling author who spends her every free moment creating stories that are packed with emotion and heavy on romance.  In addition to writing, she enjoys spending lazy afternoons in the sun reading, listening to music, watching movies, and spending time with her friends and family.  She and her two children reside in the Pacific Northwest. 

S.C. Stephen’s SM:
@SC_Stephens_

Buy Links:
Barnes & Noble - http://bit.ly/1oaWimC 
Books-A-Million - http://bit.ly/169tWjX 
IndieBound - http://bit.ly/1AfYQDb 
GooglePlay - http://bit.ly/1uQgY0W 

Giveaway:
;

Excerpt
Determined to stop thinking, to just go with whatever happened, I dipped my finger into my drink and wet the backs of our hands. Kiera watched every move I made as I shook some salt over our hands. When she made no move to drink her shot, I broke the ice and took mine so she’d feel more comfortable about doing this with me. My throat was numb from doing Jäger shots all night, so it didn’t even burn. It burned for Kiera though.
Her tongue came out to lick the salt off her hand, her mouth opened to receive her drink, and her lips curled around the lime, squeezing its juices. It was an erotic thing to watch. Then her face twisted into a grimace. I chuckled at her reaction, then poured us another round.
The second shot went down easier for her. The third was even easier. We didn’t talk, just drank. And the more alcohol she consumed, the hungrier her eyes became. She was staring at me as tenaciously as the women in the bar did. I did my best to ignore it, but it was difficult to do…I wanted her to look at me like that. I wanted to look at her like that. But I wasn’t about to make any assumptions on what was going to happen tonight. We were just two friends sharing a drink. Two single friends who had almost shared a lot more recently…
By the fourth shot, the alcohol was getting to me. I spilled the tequila trying to pour it in those tiny little glasses. I laughed as I almost dropped the lime from my mouth. I was way beyond buzzing now.
On the fifth shot, everything changed. Just as I was bending down to lick the salt from my skin, Kiera took my hand and ran her tongue over the back of it. She was soft, wet, warm, and felt amazing on my sensitive body. I wanted her to keep doing it, but she pulled back to drink her tequila shot. When she placed her wedge of lime between my lips, my heart sped up. Was she…?
She was. Her mouth reached up to connect with mine. Our lips pressed together as she sucked on the lime. All I could taste was lime and her. It was an intoxicating combination. But it wasn’t nearly satisfying enough. I needed more.
My breath felt strained when Kiera pulled away. Ragged. She teasingly removed the lime from her mouth and set it on the counter. When she seductively licked her fingers, my resolve evaporated. I suddenly didn’t give a shit what we’d been before, or who we’d been with. I didn’t care if she’d dated Denny—that seemed like a long-past memory at the moment. I didn’t care about Evan’s warnings, my regrettable experience with bedding roommates, my promise to Denny to stay away, or my own decision to not cross that uncrossable line. Kiera kissed me. She wanted me. And fuck, I wanted her too.
I took my shot of tequila straight, slammed the glass on the counter, then pulled her back to my mouth, where she belonged.


Our lips moving together felt better than I had imagined. There was so much eager, pent-up passion, I felt like we were both going to burst into flames. I couldn’t get enough of her. My hand on the back of her neck tightened, drawing her in even closer. My other hand found the small of her back. Perfection.


Wednesday, February 11, 2015

17,000 of you like me!



Look for a giveaway next week when I get back from vacation!


Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Cover Reveal - THIRD DEBT (Indebted, #4) by Pepper Winters - Signed Book Giveaway


Title: THIRD DEBT (Indebted, #4)
Author: Pepper Winters
Genre: Dark Erotic Romance
Release Date:  March 2015


BLURB

“She healed me. She broke me. I set her free. But we are in this together. We will end this together. The rules of this ancient game can’t be broken.”

Nila Weaver no longer recognises herself. She’s left her lover, her courage, and her promise. Two debts down. Too many to go.

Jethro Hawk no longer recognises himself. He’s embraced what he always ran from, and now faces punishment far greater than he feared.

It’s almost time. It’s demanding to be paid.

The Third Debt will be the ultimate test...


INDEBTED SERIES

Debt Inheritance (Indebted #1) Available Now:
Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00MSYVHE4
iBooks: http://bit.ly/12E3i1P

“I own you. I have the piece of paper to prove it. It’s undeniable and unbreakable. You belong to me until you’ve paid off your debts.”

Nila Weaver’s family is indebted. Being the first born daughter, her life is forfeit to the first born son of the Hawks to pay for sins of ancestors past. The dark ages might have come and gone, but debts never leave. She has no choice in the matter.

She is no longer free.

Jethro Hawk receives Nila as an inheritance present on his twenty-ninth birthday. Her life is his until she’s paid off a debt that’s centuries old. He can do what he likes with her—nothing is out of bounds—she has to obey.

There are no rules. Only payments.

First Debt (Indebted #2) Available Now:
Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00PK6KGRG
iBooks: http://bit.ly/1ukX4iG

“You say I’ll never own you. If I win—you willingly give me that right. You sign not only the debt agreement, but another—one that makes me your master until your last breath is taken. You do that, and I’ll give you this.”

Nila Weaver’s family is indebted. Stolen, taken, and bound not by monsters but by an agreement written over six hundred years ago, she has no way out.

She belongs to Jethro as much as she denies it.

Jethro Hawk’s patience is running out. His inheritance gift tests, challenges, and surprises him—and not in good ways. He hasn’t leashed her but he thinks he might’ve found a way to bind her forever.

Debts are mounting. Payment waiting.

Second Debt (Indebted, #3) Available Now:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1yXNdNv
iBooks: http://bit.ly/1zXK8y4

"I tried to play a game. I tried to wield deceit as perfectly as the Hawks. But when I thought I was winning, I wasn't. Jethro isn't what he seems--he's the master of duplicity. However, I refuse to let him annihilate me further."

Nila Weaver has grown from naïve seamstress to full-blown fighter. Every humdrum object is her arsenal, and sex...sex is her greatest weapon of all.

She's paid the First Debt. She'll probably pay more.

But she has no intention of letting the Hawks win.

Jethro Hawk has found more than a worthy adversary in Nila--he's found the woman who could destroy him. There's a fine line between hatred and love, and an even finer path between fear and respect.

The fate of his house rests on his shoulders, but no matter how much ice lives inside his heart, Nila flames too bright to be extinguished.



PRE ORDER ON iBOOKS

Third Debt (Indebted #4): http://bit.ly/1vTF3I0
Fourth Debt (Indebted #5): http://bit.ly/1ySNH9p
Final Debt (Indebted #6): http://bit.ly/1yl7HPd



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Pepper Winters wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex... her books have sex.
She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends.

Her Dark Erotica books include:
Tears of Tess (Monsters in the Dark #1) - http://amzn.to/1lROLYN
Quintessentially Q (Monsters in the Dark #2) - http://amzn.to/1qB27Zh
Twisted Together (Monsters in the Dark #3) - http://amzn.to/1olkxsD
Debt Inheritance (Indebted Series) - http://amzn.to/1As8P4X

Her Grey Romance books include:
Destroyed - http://amzn.to/1w9f6Vr


YOU CAN STALK PEPPER HERE:
Pinterest - http://www.pinterest.com/pepperwinters/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pepper-Winters/539976006062848
Twitter @pepperwinters - https://twitter.com/PepperWinters
Blog  - http://pepperwinters.com
Amazon Author Page - http://amzn.to/1lRMwol

If you would like to be the first to know of upcoming releases please fill in her newsletter (Pepper promises to never spam or chat aimlessly: http://bit.ly/YrpOsO

She loves mail of any kind: pepperwinters@gmail.com

GIVEAWAY
1 x signed paperback of any Indebted book of choice

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Another Auto Download - The Next Sin by Georgia Cates - Review & $50.00 Giveaway

The Next Sin by Georgia Cates is LIVE.  I love this writer...and the second installment in this Sin series. Check out my review of The Next Sin and enter Georgia's $50.00 Amazon gift card giveaway!

An epic tale of revenge and love in a new romantic trilogy from the New York Times best-selling author of The Beauty Series.

Bleu MacAllister is in hiding less than three months when Sinclair Breckenridge discovers her whereabouts. Her former lover, the future leader of a criminal organization known as The Fellowship, resists the tug of his heart heartstrings in her direction. Instead, he opts to watch over his beloved from afar. And she has no idea. But Sin's sacrifice is short-lived. His bonny lass is a hunted traitor. He fears Abram's assassins are closing in, leaving him with one solution for saving Bleu--make her his wife. Marriage seems an easy fix for their dilemma but wedded bliss is brief when the couple finds trouble lying in wait beyond the realm of the brotherhood. Will the original revenge seeker find herself the object of collateral damage?


AMAZON: http://amzn.com/B00RG7HH8I
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-next-sin/id949343301?mt=11

One Last Sin – Release Date – March 23, 2015
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20623840-one-last-sin


A Necessary Sin- Book 1 of The Sin Trilogy – Release Date: Dec 29
Bleu MacAllister is consumed. A horrific childhood incident has caused every decision in her life to revolve around bringing a monster to justice. With years spent studying The Fellowship, an organized crime brotherhood of liars, thieves, and killers, Bleu will rely on her skills as a special agent to cut Thane Breckenridge off at the knees. But walking hand in hand with retribution means risking collateral damage, in the form of Breckenridge’s son Sinclair—until Sin becomes so much more than Bleu bargained for. She’s always known this undertaking would place her life in danger—she never imagined her heart would be as well.

Buy Links:
https://itunes.apple.com/book/a-necessary-sin/id945370939?mt=11
http://amzn.com/B00RIA6VI0


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Georgia resides in rural Mississippi with her wonderful husband, Jeff, and their two beautiful daughters. She spent fourteen years as a labor and delivery nurse before she decided to pursue her dream of becoming an author and hasn’t looked back yet.

When she’s not writing, she’s thinking about writing. When she’s being domestic, she’s listening to her iPod and visualizing scenes for her current work in progress. Every story coming from her always has a song to inspire it.

Representation: All questions regarding subsidiary rights for any of my books, inquiries regarding foreign translation and film rights should be directed to Jane Dystel of Dystel & Goderich.

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Georgia-Cates/213130102082500?ref=br_tf
NEWSLETTER: http://goo.gl/ILvz8L
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/GeorgiaCates
WEBSITE: http://www.georgiacates.com/
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5228869.Georgia_Cates
AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE: http://www.amazon.com/Georgia-Cates/e/B005RQM69U/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1412959384&sr=8-2-ent



Excerpt: Bleu’s POV
I touch the screen. I stroke my finger down his face but it feels nothing like the real thing. I close my eyes so I can imagine the way his scruff felt against my skin.
He rarely grew what I would call a beard. He always kept his facial hair short and scruffy. And I loved it, especially when he would drag his face down the center of my body just to hear me squeal. But the best was when he’d push the crotch of my panties aside and rub his chin up and down between my legs.
“Holy shit, Bleu. That’s him, isn’t it?” I jerk when I hear Ellison’s voice over my shoulder. “That’s the man you were with in Scotland.”
I’m so stupid. I can’t believe I’ve allowed her to sneak up and catch me looking at this photograph. I was preoccupied. That’s my only excuse.
Ellison has interrogated me nonstop about my relationship with Sin. I’ve been vague. She’s on a need-to-know-only basis. That means I haven’t told her shit. But I want to. I need someone to tell me this excruciating pain in my heart is going to ease.
“Yes.” That’s my Breck. My admission feels like a ton of bricks lifted from my shoulders.
“Damn. That is one hottie Scottie.”
“I know.” I sigh as I prop my chin in my hand. I look at the handsome face of the only man in this world besides my father who has been willing to take me the way I am.
Two men. Both know the darkness I carry inside. But they love me anyway.
I’ve lost one. I’m losing the other. And it’s killing me.
“My God, Bleu. Look at the way he’s holding you … like you’re his everything. I don’t know how you walked away from him.”
You’d be surprised by the things you can do when you’re staring death in the face.
“My job was over.”
“You haven’t told me anything about it. Or him. Was it good?”
I recall the words he used to describe what being together was like for him. “The best ever.”
“You don’t think you’ll see him again?”
“No.” I won’t if I want to continue to live.


GIVEAWAY
a Rafflecopter giveaway



5 + STAR REVIEW & $50.00 GIFT CARD & BOOK GIVEAWAY Where The Road Takes Me by Jay McLean



I love this book so much I am giving away THREE ebook copies myself.  I think that says it all.  Read my review and don't forget to enter Jay's giveaway.  Kindle Crack Book Reviews giveaway can be found below or via pinned post on Facebook.




Blurb
Chloe has one plan for the future, and one plan only: the road. She’s made a promise to herself: don’t let anyone in, and don’t let anyone love her. She’s learned the hard way what happens if she breaks her rules. So she’s focused on being invisible and waiting until she can set out on the road—her dream of freedom, at least for a little while.
Blake Hunter is a basketball star who has it all—everything about him looks perfect to those on the other side of his protective walls. He can’t let anyone see the shattered pieces behind the flawless facade or else all his hopes and dreams will disappear.
One dark night throws Chloe and Blake together, changing everything for Blake. For Chloe, nothing changes: she has the road, and she’s focused on it. But when the so-called perfect boy starts to notice the invisible girl, they discover that sometimes with love, no one knows where the road may lead.


Excerpt - Read Chapter One

There was that familiar ache that I loved so much—a burn in my chest that spread to the rest of my body. There was just one other feeling I loved more. Well—two, if you included the high of sex.
Numbness.
A constant state of numbness was my euphoria.
You couldn’t tell. No one could.
My feet thudded against the pavement. Sweat dripped from my hairline, down my neck, and onto my bare back. I shut my eyes, urging the numbness to kick in. I wanted to feel it everywhere. Not just in my body but everywhere. Maybe I should quit basketball and take up smoking weed as a hobby. I laughed to myself—Dad would love that. Another reason to kick my ass.
I rounded the corner with my eyes still shut. I knew that path in the park better than I knew my own home. Which is why I was running at two in the morning on a Saturday night. Sunday morning?
Whatever.